Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Miami Hotels

National Hotel

Pros

  • Stunning pool
  • Perfect location

Cons

  • Street noise on the weekends
  • Rooms don't have the finesse of neighbors

Updated 07/08/2014

Fodor's Review

The National Hotel has maintained its distinct art deco heritage (the chocolate- and ebony-hued pieces in the lobby date back to the 1930s, and the baby grand piano headlines the throwback Blues Bar) while also keeping up with SoBe's glossy newcomers with its renovated cabana wing and art deco tower. The hotel serves as a bastion of calm in the sea of white-on-white mod decor and raucous reveling typical of most other beachfront properties lining this stretch of Collins

Avenue. The most spectacular feature is Miami Beach's longest pool, which stretches from the tower, past a series of comfy black-and-white-striped cabanas and poolside tables, to a duo of tropical tiki bars and the beach. Rooms in the main tower were renovated in 2012 and 2013 (they shockingly had boob tube TVs until 2013). However, the cabana wing is still preferred by most.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1677 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, Florida, 33139, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-532–2311; 800-327–8370

Hotel Details:

  • 143 rooms, 9 suites
  • No meals

Updated 07/08/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Miami

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2006

Parking Nightmare; Poor Customer Service

Beware that this hotel is undergoing major construction on the only driveway and entrance to the hotel (on Collins Ave., a major thoroughfare through South Beach). Because Collins is such a busy street, you cannot even stop in front of the hotel to unload your bags. There are no signs directing incoming guests as to where or how to summon the valet. When we called to inquire about parking, three different employees could not tell us how to valet park

our car. So with no valet option readily available, we had to park two blocks down in a meter and hike all our luggage through their construction and the Miami summer heat. Furthermore, the manager flatly stated that even given the difficulties with valet availability, he could not comp the $25 parking fee for our trouble. While the accommodations have very nice decor, the lack of adequate parking in busy Miami Beach and an indifferent and unhelpful management team make the National a poor choice despite its four-diamond rating. Plus, having to move your car out of a remote parking meter is not a relaxing or fun way to start your vacation in Miami.

Read More

By Barb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2005

One of the Best in South Beach!

This hotel just had a renovation, and we were very happy we chose to stay here. The Cabana Rooms are by far some of the best in the area, they're not cheap ($479.00+ the 13% sales tax per night) but you get the true feeling of Miami and the tropical setting. We looked on the websight, and suring the low season the hotel had rates for around $179, but that was in the summer when it's hurricane season.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2004

Ambiance and service at its best

My niece and her husband spent their honeymoon at the National Hotel. She is well travelled, so if she comes back with all raves, the hotel is doing something right! They had a cabana king room, which was large and tastefully decorated. Upon arrival, a bottle of chilled champagne awaited them upon arrival. She said the service was outstanding and attentive (and this was with the hotel sold out!). They said the public areas were beautiful and

clean. Go stay at the renewed and improved National.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2003

Run away from this Hotel

Stayed for 4 nights at the hotel. The walls are so thin that you can hear people having conversations on the phone. People working at the pool were rude. THey are so afraid you are going to run off with one of thier 2.00 dollar towels. Front desk staff are slow and not very helpful. For $230.00 a night I expect someone in the hotel to at least say good morning. There is a daily $7.00 servic echarge added to your room to pay for the newspaper

and houskeeping items, what a joke that is. Spend the extra money and stay at a national hotel chain so you know what your getting.

Read More

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2003

Nothing like the website.

I wasn't expected much, but this hotel still disappoints. Services were good, pools & lobby beautiful, but that's about it. Rooms in main hotel were *very* old (nothing like website's pic). Toilet & bathroom fan was extremely loud (we've to close door to sleep). Minibar wasn't restocked. Walls so thin I was awaken twice by next room's cell phone ring! I definitely would not recommend this hotel for business travel. There is absolutely NO electrical

outlet in our room. I have to unplug the dryer in the bathroom to charge our cell phones. Ridiculous. The lady standing in check-in line before me had to change room 3 times because phone / lamp / TV won't work, and cockroaches. The staff tried to be friendly, but they miss all the details - Check in/out takes forever (with no line). We've to sign slip to ensure beach towels are returned. Extra mandatory charge for NY Times & use of pools. $20 for daily parking. That's on top of the $200 room rate! The website picture does NOT show regular room. It looks nothing like that. Very dark and gloomy. Also, they send us wake-up call at 6am on the check out date. Very cheap act to want us out. This hotel has the potential, but need really good management and some serious renovation.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2002

Visit the pretty pool, but don't stay at the National.

Poor and arogant service combined with small and unconfortable rooms is not a desirable combination.

By Dina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2001

Feel like a moview star

Just got back from 5 nights at the National, and it was wonderful. We booked a City View room at a discount on the Internet, and got a free upgrade to an Ocean View room b/c the hotel wasn't booked (not even close). The room was small, but decorated nicely and clean. The next day, for just $30 extra a night, we upgraded to a poolside room, which was well worth it - the room was spacious, had a balcony overlooking the beautiful infinity pool and

ocean, and a much larger bathroom. The infinity pool and regular pool are delightful - so pretty to look at, great to swim in, you can have your lunch and pina colada served to you poolside or on the beach. The service was great, the concierge was helpful, and the location of the hotel couldn't be better. I would definitely stay at the National next time I go to South Beach.

Read More

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2001

Higher humidity than a miami night

We reserved a double at this south beach hotel for one night during a weekend getaway. When we arrived the desk manager informed us that they only had one king sized bed. This was not a plausible option for us but we were offered a free breakfast to make up for their mistake. We were then promised a reduced rate for our stay and given a roll-away bed, which was finally delivered after our second request. We informed the engineer and the front

desk that the a/c was not operating properly that evening before leaving for dinner. When we returned it was still not working but it was too late to have it fixed. We were not refunded for our room or offered anything more than a, "sorry but these things happen." I would not recommend this property to anyone visiting the South Beach area. The pool and decor may be beautiful but the service is ugly.

Read More

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2001

Art Deco = Old

Stayed here for 2 nights during a pre-cruise visit to South Beach. The header to this message references our room -- it was located in the main building and was small, dull and musty (some of the furniture was chipped, etc.). Having said that -- this hotel DOES have many positive features: (a) the service -- which is out of this world -everyone we encountered at this hotel was extremely pleasant and accommodating;(b) the pool/beach/main areas of

the hotel -- these are all beautiful (attended a Friday night happy hour in their lobby bar which was excellent); and (c) the location -- near the Lincoln Rd mall area (hotel is right between the Delano and Leows hotels) -- a nice, quiet area that is within walking distance to the SoBe night life. We stayed at this hotel using a discount card which allowed us to buy 1 nite at this hotel and get one free (a veritable steal in SoBe); therefore, the value we received for the price we paid was very, very good. However, our situation was a fluke, and had I paid the $245 per night (manager's special) price that was being featured at the time of our stay, I would have been upset about the room.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement