Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Miami Hotels

Loews Miami Beach Hotel

  • 1601 Collins Ave. Map It
  • $$$
  • Trusted Brand

Pros

  • Top-notch amenities
  • Immense spa
  • Pets welcome

Cons

  • Insanely large size
  • Constantly crowded
  • Pets desperate to go will need to wait several minutes to make it to the grass

Updated 05/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Loews Miami Beach, a two-tower 800-room megahotel with top-tier amenities, a massive spa, a great pool, and direct beachfront access, is good for families, businesspeople, groups, and pet-lovers. When it was built in 1998, Loews managed not only to snag 99 feet of beach, but also to take over the vacant St. Moritz next door and restore it to its original 1939 art deco beauty. The entire complex combines boutique charm with updated opulence. How big is it? The Loews has

85,000 square feet of meeting space and an enormous ocean-view grand ballroom. A three-story spa has 15 treatment rooms and a state-of-the-art fitness center. In the grand lobby you'll find a dozen black-suited staffers behind the counter, and a half dozen other bellboys and valets. Rooms are great: contemporary and very comfortable, with flat-screen TVs and high-end amenities. But the best part is the pool area, just steps from the beach and equipped with cooling misters.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1601 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, Florida, 33139, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-604–1601; 800-235–6397

Hotel Details:

  • 733 rooms, 57 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/09/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Miami

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2012

Second tier luxury

This is a beautiful hotel, but compared with other hotels in the same luxury category I felt a little let down. There was no turn-down service unless requested,and there was not a bathtub in our room -- only a shower (and I had to ask for a shower cap). The balcony was boring & tiny, and over all I just felt a little stiffed in the amenities department. Pluses were the Kourig coffee maker, the wonder concierege service, and the proximity to the beach.

Great location!!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2012

Loews Miami Beach Hotel Review

Attended a work conference held in this hotel and the hospitality was incredible. I couldn't believe how attentive the staff was. Rooms were nice and hotel beautiful!

By flep

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2008

My take

I thought that this hotel was really nice. It had a great pool, restuarants and beach front. My favorite part about it was that it was a easy walk to all the great south beach locations. It was like being in the middle of all the action. They one thing I didnt like was that the bed was hard, besides that I loved it.

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2006

Stay elsewhere

What a disappointment! Service was terrible all around and the room was rundown. Spa & Fitness center were undergoing renovations which was not disclosed to us when we made the reservation. Stayed only one night then checked into the Ritz down the beach where we got the royal treatment we expected.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2005

Stormy Weather Makes for Martini Time

I was quite pleasantly surprised by the Loews. Although the lobby did not impress me (a little on the dark side), the clerks behind the desks did. We asked for a nicer room than we paid for and we got one, along with a big smile. It had a partial ocean view with a balcony. The pool is very nice but crowded - a felt a little like a sardine. The pool attendents were absolutely marvelous - anxious to please. The beach is beyond belief! Food and

beverages are definitely pricey but quite good. The most extensive martini list I have ever seen. The weather was a disappointment but the martinis helped me get over it! Oh, did I mention location - right where you want to be. I would go back in a heart beat.

Read More

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2005

Not All It's Cracked Up To Be

Way too big and busy. The rooms are pretty and ours had a comfortable chair for reading, which is all too unusual. The service was okay, but not 4-star, and it was just too expensive for what it offered.

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2004

BE CAREFUL with web reservation

This is a nice hotel - no doubt about it. But it better be for the price (unless you can get a deal) It didn't really have a "south beach" feel to it, but it is like any large chain well run hotel. Its clean, good health spa, and right on the beach. I was disappointed that for all that I was paying I had to also pay extra for a beach chair on the beach (ones by the pool are free). The main problem was that the online reservation form was misleading.

I clicked "book it now" for one of the package deals - I picked the type of room I wanted and when the confirmation came back (after I sent in my credit card) did I see that it was NOT the package deal. Only by causing a scene at the front desk (I called reservations earlier and they would not help me) did they give me the deal - but this was after making a BIG scene. The people at the front desk even admitted that the web site was not clear - and one mentioned that this confusion has happened before - but it was only after about 20 minutes of arguing that they would give me the package deal. So if you do book at deal through the web site make sure you really get it (you can see if the "rate code" remains the same once you get the confirmation).

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 31, 2004

A Nice Hotel with a Very Nice Staff

Stayed here to attend a Halloween party on Ocean drive in Oct, 2004. Much bigger rooms than the trendier hotels on the beach. Nice bathroom, plenty of space. Mattress wasn't the best, but you can't have everything. The staff was absolutely great. Super friendly and accommodating-- no snooty attitude like other "fab" hotels on Miami Beach. Room service was a little slow (45 minutes), but the hotel was booked solid, so that's forgiven. One of the few

hotels with their own parking on site, so you don't have to worry about your car being vandalized in an offsite valet lot somewhere. All in all, much better than most other options. WIll stay here again.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2004

Loews is cooool

Stayed here on 4th July week. This is probably the nicest hotel on South Beach. Better value than the Delano and Tides and in the same excellent location. Great facilities, helpful staff. Would happily stay here again.

By Katie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2004

Memorial Day weekend-- Scary!

After years of staying at Loews on South Beach, I have decided not to return to a Loews Hotel again. My last stay was over Memorial day weekend, which I was forwarned that it would be busy, but no that it was "hip-hop"weekend. I have been there during other busy times, but had no idea I was in for loitering and pot smoking in the hallways during all hours of the day and evening; drugs and people being searched for them by police down by the pool;

having to call security four times about some domestic abuse going on in the room across the hall from me; and no sympathy or help from anyone at the front desk. I'm lucky I didn't have my children with me at the time! I think management at Loews has gone down hill. I also stayed at the Don Cesar in April. The room I booked was given away, and the front desk was less than helpful in that situation as well. Too bad, so sad!

Read More

By Nino

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2004

Atrocious!

I had to spend a single night in Miami on my way back to Europe and thought I'd need some luxury. I went for the Loews. Paid the rack rate of $420 a night!! Firt big mistake! The lobby is dark and impersonal, much like an airport terminal or a railway station, with people running around the place. The lifts were beginning to show some decay. The rooms (at the St. Moritz) are tiny and shabby (even a light bulb was missing from one of the lamps!). Nowhere

near luxury hotel standards. For a second I thought of cancelling and going somewhere else -anywhere- but in the end I gave it another chance. Second big mistake! Service was arrogant. When I asked for internet service they said it was not operational but I could use the business center instead. I ran down only to find out that the business center had been closed for nearly two hours. It was pouring with rain, which meant that my cute little balcony (the only positive item in this nightmare) was full of water. When I asked for a courtesy umbrella, I was told all of them were gone and suggested I buy one at their ugly little shop. Plus, I paid $50 in Room service for the worst ham and cheese sandwich I have EVER eaten (or attempted to eat!) complete with chewy chips and ultraslow delivery. And the fitness gym? It's just slightly bigger than a guest room! And dark and third-class! And I could go on... Honestly, I fail to understand how this DEN can be anybody's choice.

Read More

By Tracey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 9, 2004

This hotel is so good even Presidents stay here!

I thought this hotel was truly wonderful. We were treated with so much respect even when the place was busy or had former President George (Daddy) Bush show up with his entire SS the staff still ran to open the door for us. The lounge had 100's of Martinis to choose from and the pool was beatiful. We had a wonderful ocean view suite that was large enough but still had a relaxing "cozy" feel. I would trot back in a second for almost any price!

By Gordon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2003

Fantastic

Third time staying here in less than a year. Great property, wonderful staff, lovely room.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2003

South Beach Must Stay

We stayed one night at the smaller Cardozo hotel, and the next night at the Loews, NO COMPARISON! The Loews is more of a bigger hotel, but with all the luxuries, spotless clean room, comfortable beds and pillows, twice daily maid service--BIG PLUS after a day at the beach--relaxing lounge area, and awesome pool area. The staff are very attentive, very professional and courteous. Excellent experience!

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2002

Absolutely Fabulous

My wife and I just got back from a long weekend at the Loews to celebrate her birthday. It was perfect. First of all, the minute we entered the lobby, the service was outstanding. The girl at the desk went out of her way to be nice anyway, but when she saw in the notes that it was my wife's borthday, she sent up a gift basket from the gift shop and a bottle of wine. The room was not big, not small...but it seemed perfect.

The pool is beautiful

and the service poolside is first class. They come around and spray you with Evian mist, give out Italian ices, and hand out ice cold wash cloths throughout the day; all so you are comfortable and cool. The food by the pool was also very good.

The Loews is an excellent location. It is a few blocks away from the famous Ocean Drive and also a few blocks away from the pedestrian mall on Lincoln Road.

I highly suggest signing up for the Loews membership club before booking. It is free, but gets you an upgrade to the business level, which includes a bottle of wine, nice amenities, 500 miles on American Airlines.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2002

Second trip disappointing

Visited two and a half years ago and were pleased. Got a room on Priceline for $90 (which is why I rated the value a "3" in spite of a number of problems). When we checked in August 7, the toilet in room did not flush properly and it took two attempts to fix. One lamp had to be replaced and a second had to have its bulb changed (both on arrival). Upon arrival in the room, my wife and I both smelled cigarette smoke in a non-smoking room. Bathroom

reeked of smoke the third day...apparently the maids smoked in the room. The beach service is indifferent, at best. I don't think we will be back.

Read More

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2002

Did you stay where I stayed?

I am so surprised by the negative reviews of Loews Miami Beach. We stayed there last summer and LOVED it! We were upgraded to the concierge level (free breakfast and happy hour). Our room was plenty large for two of us. Everything was clean and attractive. We rented chairs and an umbrella for the beach - expensive but what do you expect in South Beach. The $12.50 cosmopolitans shocked us, but again, this area is a tourist trap. We are going

back in a few weeks. I'm trying not to be worried after reading everyone else's reviews. There's no longer a concierge level, but we hope our next stay is as nice as our previous stay!

Read More

By Nicole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2002

Loved it! Would go back again!

We stayed here about 2 years ago and loved it! The pool is amazing and a nice alternative if you don't want to go to the beach each day. One warning: Don't order poolside food since it's very overpriced as are the poolside drinks. The room were very tasteful in its' decor and the bathroom was very nice. The fitness center was also a great ammenity to have. My fiancee and I are definitely going back there next time we're in South Beach!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2002

This place is a joke!

Ok - just got back from 4 days here. We were under the Fun in the Sun package which is $269/night and includes $50.00 per day of hotel food. Unfortunetly, they fail to tell you that Room Service is not considered food and doesn't count towards the $50.00 per day. In fact, we checked with the front desk (during our stay) and were told that Room Service was included in the $50.00 day. After returning home today we noticed that we were not credited

for Room Serice. After a number of calls they basically told us too bad - have a nice day! I wouldn't recommend staying here.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2001

Much Ado About Nothing

The outside of the hotel was well maintained and well manicured. The location is good - very central to Ocean Dr and Lincoln Rd. The pool area was lovely, but relatively small - in terms of the number of guests and chairs available. Not to mention, they planted so many palm trees it's hard to secure a location that receives rays all day. I felt the rooms were very small, and not luxurious - which is what you tend to expect for the amount you are

paying the night. The hotel took the opportunity to gouge your pocketbook every chance they could. The poolside drinks were $6 for a beer, $12 for a mixed drink - you can imagine what a salad or burger by the pool cost! In addition, if you ventured out to the beach you were charged $10 per beach chair and $15 per umbrella. I've been to Greece, Hawaii, Mexico, Virgin Islands, and have never been charged for a lounge chair on the beach - you would think if you're staying at a beach hotel, they would give you something to sit on at no charge! Lastly, I know the hotel was not at 100% occupancy - I requested a late check out of 3pm, and they informed me I could only stay until 1pm, otherwise - you guessed it - they were going to charge me for half a day. I can honestly say I won't be returning to the Loews. I stayed at the Eden Roc Resort and Spa once on business, and although you may have to hop in a cab, it was a much better value and more enjoyable stay!

Read More

By alex

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2001

comfortably unhip

Not the hippest place on the beach but the rooms are big & well maintained. Great for families and 35& up crowd. Pool gets a little crowded. Check for special rates.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2001

Rather be in South Park then South Beach

Can say enough of how disgusting South Beach is!! The bellstand act pompous as if they worked for some great hotel, and it's a piece of crap place and location. Outrageous what public pays to stay here. I paid $110 and it makes me sick that this was a highly discounted rate. Not even if I could stay at the Delano for free would I go back to South Beach!! What are you people at Fodors smoking to be recommending this whole area??

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement