Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Miami Hotels

The Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne, Miami

Pros

  • On the beach
  • Quiet
  • Luxurious family retreat

Cons

  • Far from South Beach and downtown
  • Beach sometimes seaweed strewn
  • Rental car almost a necessity

Updated 05/09/2014

Fodor's Review

In this ultra-laid-back Key Biscayne setting, it's natural to appreciate the Ritz brand of pampering with luxurious rooms, attentive service, four on-property dining options, and ample recreational activities for the whole family. Need something to do? The "tequilier" at the re-invented seaside Cantina Beach can educate you on the finer points of his native region's drink (he has 110 different tequilas on hand). Hitting the spa? It was beautifully renovated in 2013, and

in one of 21 treatment rooms, you can try signature Coco-Luscious body treatments, a nod to the island's history as the country's largest coconut plantation. Hungry? The property's four eateries take you through the gastronomy and beverages of Cuba (RUMBAR), Mexico (Cantina Beach), Italy (Cioppino), and back to Miami (Dune Oceanfront Burger Lounge). An 11-court tennis "garden" with daily clinics, a private beach, and beachside water sports are other options. Guest rooms have custom-made touches like mother-of pearl wall coverings. Updated technology includes plasma televisions and jack packs. In-room luxuries like robes, slippers, fine linens, and high-end toiletries are par for the course. The Club Level offers five food presentations throughout the day, and the Ritz Kids club has expanded its full- and half-day and Saturday-night programs to include island history, fishing, beach treasure hunts, and a kid-friendly blue and gold macaw. Borrow bikes here to explore Bill Baggs Park and its lighthouse.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

455 Grand Bay Dr., Key Biscayne, Florida, 33149, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-365–4500; 800-241–3333

Hotel Details:

  • 365 rooms, 37 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/09/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2006

A staff that understands service

Amazing hotel and all you would expect from the Ritz! Yes some of the rooms need a little TLC, but a great hotel and staff that understood at every level how to offer great service!!!

By Beth

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2005

Perfection, Perfection

My husband and I are extremely discriminating travelers and we came here for a vacation with our two children. Although extremely pricy (we say this hotel is like a machine you are constantly feeding cash into), the staff was tripping over themselves to make us happy and were so friendly. Everyone greeted us as they passed us in the halls, at the pools, etc. The rooms were extremely comfortable with beautiful linens and furnishings. There were

several restaurant choices and all had menus for children which did not consist of complete junk food like most kids menus. We had a fabulous family vacation and we would love to come back if it weren't so expensive. A week there cost about 10K with food, tips, transportation, flights.

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2004

A very nice hotel

Overall my family and I had a very pleasant stay. The suite was very nice with a balcony looking over the ocean. The pool was great and everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Two complaint are that Ariel , the only restaurant on the property offered only fine dining which meant if you wanted something more casual you had to head into Miami. Secondly they should install automatic doors where you exit to the pool. My wife and I found it a challange

to get our two year old and his stroller through the door. Overall however this is a great hotel in a very nice location.

Read More

By Sara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2003

A big step below the Four Seasons!

The hotel and area were not what we expected, although the condition of rooms and hotel itself are very nice. The pool was nice and quiet although the service wasn't great. It took an hour to get one hotdog brought out to us, and there was hardly anyone by the pool. And the rooms are small. The biggest complaint, was the lack of good food in the hotel and on the Island. There was only one restaurant in the hotel, the Aria, which was only fine dining.

The grill by the beach closed at 6:00p.m. so the only other options were 1) pay $70.00 roundtrip and thirty min. to go into Miami for a nice dinner or 2)go to very, very casual restaurants,(about three total, on the island) One Italian restaurant recommended by the Ritz staff,served us wine in plastic cups. Not exactly the sort of place I was expecting to eat at on a nice vacation. The service is superficial, everyone has a smile when you first walk in the lobby, but after that, the service dissipates quickly. Service in general was slow and staff did not go the extra step to make the vacation special. The most outrageous point being we had to pay $23.00 to have the valet park the car!!! Would not go back, ever!

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2003

Only a few negative comments

Stayed at the Ritz - Key Biscayne last week. In general it was a very good experience and we enjoyed it. Positives include the attentive service, the hotel grounds, and general luxurious atmosphere. The beach is nice, but the sand is not as white as some other beaches, and there is a fair amount of "seagrass" in the water which does not allow the water to achieve that beautiful aqua blue we all dream of. Negatives include the location of our room,

which overlooked the roof of the kitchen and the exaust vent stacks which hummed noisily day and night. Sitting outside on our balcony or even leaving the doors open was impossible. I would have asked to be moved except my wife preferred to keep the room once we were settled. Parking was only by valet ($23/day). I would have gladly parked my own car for this cost and walked the extra 150 ft. Finally, make sure to use your own calling card for telephone calls. We were charged around $66 for approximately 20 minutes of telephone time which seemed excessive.

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2002

The best of the best

I was there at the opening and what can I tell you it wasn't "The best" I returned with my family this January to celebrate my daughter's birthday and for my surprise they did improve. I arrived at the hotel in the morning and the front desk received my daughter with a present, balloons, songs and everything. We went to have dinner in Aria and the servers sang to her and the Chef's Jordie and Sergio were very accommodating with my wife's "special

request's" the server Salvatore was very good and professional, overall the service and atmosphere in the hotel was smooth and very Ritz-Carlton. I fully recommend you this hotel when I left everybody knew who I was and that make me feel recognized.

Read More

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 28, 2001

Too many terrible experiences for this space

Among the huge disappointments: maids came into room twice during 3 days with Do Not Disturb sign on door; charged $90 for bag of M&M's in mini-bar - 5 months ago (they still have not corrected problem); never made up room during day; charged for someone else's drinks at pool and they did not believe me - would not correct problem, and it just got worse from here. Don't waste your money. They gave me 2 free nights to come again, but still won't

refund my $90 for those M&Ms - I don't want their 2 free nights. Saying all the right things ("my pleasure" "good morning madame", etc) does not make up for very poor service.

Read More

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2001

Loved It!!

The level of service was exceptional. The prices are high but that's to be expected when you stay at a Ritz, and here it was justified by the way you are treated by every single employee!! Great beachfront location. Highly recommend to people that can afford it. Since continental breakfast for 2 will run about $30.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2001

Spend your vacation dollars elsewhere.

Just spent the weekend at the hotel and was very disappointed. The public areas are elegant and beautiful. The guest rooms are nice but not that large. They still seem to be working out the kinks at the hotel. It took forever to check in, the elevators were not always working, the food at the restaurant was mediocre at best, the drinks were expensive and watered down, the beach was small, and the general service was nothing special. I really expected

more from the Ritz Carlton chain, and would not stay here again.

Read More

By A

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2001

ONE WORD!!!!!!

EXCEPTIONAL!!!!!!!!! BEST IN THE WORLD

By Sacha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2001

Disappointed in Atlanta

We had planned a trip to the Ritz for opening weekend May 1, 2001 and guess what? ...the hotel is not going to be open due to construction delays and they really can't tell you when it is going to open. I must say I am disappointed. I was looking forward to it. Nevertheless, the Ritz made other arrangements for us, but I don't think it will be the same.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement