Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Miami Hotels

Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

  • 1720–1756 Collins Ave. Map It
  • $$
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Free drinks
  • Free bikes
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Good people-watching

Cons

  • Service not a high priority
  • Loud
  • Rooms not well-maintained

Updated 05/09/2014

Fodor's Review

The Catalina is the budget party spot in the heart of South Beach's hottest block and attracts plenty of 20somethings with its free nightly drink hour, airport shuttles, bike rentals, two fun pools, and beach chairs. It's across the street from the beach, but nobody seems to mind the short walk. Each of the Catalina's three buildings has a distinct feel: The original Catalina (with the smallest, most inexpensive rooms) is an exercise in camp, with red-shag carpets, two-story

glass windows, and monumental sheer drapes. The midrange rooms are in the old Maxine Hotel, decorated in rock baroque and featuring a karaoke machine in the lobby. Room 400 here is one of the beach's best values, with a private sundeck overlooking the strip. The most luxurious part of the Catalina is the Dorset Hotel, which now houses the hotel's biggest rooms as well as its Asian restaurant, FKU. Another outdoor restaurant, Maxine's Bisto, overlooks the passersbys on this very sexy strip of Collins Avenue, making the Catalina an entertainment complex in its own right.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1720–1756 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, Florida, 33139, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-674–1160

Hotel Details:

  • 200 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 05/09/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Miami

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By hBrook

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2009

Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Review

Our Girls weekend in miami was so great the Catalina is just FAB!! hip, kool and clean. the staff was so freindly and helpful from opening the door the moment we arrived to the doorman making sure we had a van/cab so we could all get back to the airort together. the sushi restaurant rocked. you cant beat the local right in the hart of SoBe you can walk to everything!! loved the hotel, best value on the beach. looking forward to my next visit!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2009

Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Review

What a great hotel! I just got back from a long weekend in South Beach and had a fantastic time staying at the Catalina. Well-located near the beach, shopping and nightlife, this hotel also offers great service. Whether my friends and I needed shopping recommendations or assistance with our luggage, a member of Catalina's staff was always there with a smile. We stayed in the Dorset section of the Catalina properties which offers trendy yet comfortable

rooms, a convenient place to get everything from coffee to cocktails, and a variety of patio restaurants to take in the South Beach scene. I would highly rate this hotel. It is strong on value, location and above all friendly service. I can't wait to book another trip to the Catalina!

Read More

By moni_t

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2009

Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Review

Just got back from a great weekend with a group of friends! The location is perfect. We stayed on the Dorset side. Check-in was quick and the guys at the desk couldn't have been friendlier. The room was huge and the decor was chic. I felt right at home! Btw, love, love, love the bed- so comfy! We ate at both Kung Fu sushi and Maxine's. I'm still craving Kung Fu's signature roll and Maxine's salads are so generous and tasty. Neither restaurants

disappoint. Attractive & extremely warm staff, great locale and free happy hour drinks- I'm coming back and telling friends!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2009

Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Review

I have been to south beach a number of times and stayed at many hotels. My friends told me about the Catalina so I decided to try it! It far exceeded my expectations! The location is brilliant - right across the street from the beach with a fabulous pool on the ground floor & rooftop. They have two restaurants that are always happening & delicious. The staff was so nice and helpful. The best part were the rooms - so super cool & trendy - and

the beds are so comfy. I am going to tell more of my friends to try this chic hotel! thumbs up!

Read More

By KatrinW

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2009

Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Review

Just got back from a three-day stay at the Catalina, and had a great experience. The hotel is hip, across from the beach and within walking distance of the best nightlife. The hotel staff was incredibly friendly (as were the restaurant staff) and the rooms were beautiful. My room had gorgeous wallpaper, green-tiled bathroom, large brand new flat-screen TV, feather-top bed, and a chandelier. I loved it. I ate at KungFu (their sushi restaurant)

during my first night...the food was great and the restaurant was filled with interesting people and hipsters. In the morning, when we came down for brunch, they had a reggae band playing in the lobby. The food at Maxine's, their other restaurant, is also very good. And Maxine's is open all night....great place to get some food after a long night on the town and people watch. We loved it here, and will definitely return.

Read More

By mbalaz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2009

Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Review

This hotel is in the perfect location and is absolutely wonderful! A very trendy ambiance throughout all of the lobbys and rooms. Very welcoming and unique. Not only is the hotel in a great location, all the staff were incredibly friendly and always asking if there was anything we needed! And both the restaurants, The Maxine and KungFu sushi are amazine! Truly, a fantastic stay!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement