Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Fort Lauderdale and Broward County Restaurants

Canyon Southwest Cafe

  • 1818 E. Sunrise Blvd. Map It
  • $$$$

Updated 05/12/2014

Fodor's Review

Southwestern fusion fare helps you escape the ordinary at this small, magical enclave, managed hands-on by executive chef Chris Wilber. Order, for example, bison medallions with scotch bonnets, a tequila-jalapeño smoked salmon tostada, coriander-crusted tuna, or blue-corn fried oysters. Chipotle, wasabi, mango, and red chilies accent fresh seafood and wild game. Cocktail lovers should start off with a signature prickly pear margarita or choose from a well-rounded wine

list or beer selection. On every night but Saturday ladies get the special price of $6 margaritas and 1/2 off small plates.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1818 E. Sunrise Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, Florida, 33304, USA

Map It

Phone:

954-765–1950

Website: www.canyonfl.com

Restaurant Details:

  • No lunch

Updated 05/12/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By tim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2006

waiter's attittude is enough to fill a canyon

the waiter who turned out to be the manager is absolutely the worst. His attitude to guest is not to please and serve you dinner. He is very condescending. I was horrified that he is the manager but that would stand to reason because any other waiter with that attitude would be fired. I highly recommend that if you want a pleasnt evening and good service -- AVOID this place

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2006

Prickly-Pear Margaritas are a Must!

The food is great, the people are beautiful and the place is hoping every night of the week. Yes it's loud, but after an amazing prickly pear margarita, you'll think it's part of the charm.

By Lola

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2006

Food to die for - if you can see it

We went to Canyon on a Wednesday evening in early February 2006. The food was wonderful, as the reviews here said, *but*: 1)we were told they don't take reservations, but they didn't tell us they do have a call-ahead wait list; 2)the no-shorts rule seems to be ignored by the management - we followed someone in the door that had very unattractive baggy basketball-type shorts on, a T-shirt (also a no-no according to the sign on the door)and a baseball

cap on backwards; 3)the lighting was so dim that it almost impossible to read the menu and hard to see the food; 4) the noise level was deafening - my ears were ringing the next morning and my throat hurt from yelling to my table mates; 5) the bar service was slow - when the entrees arrived I ordered another drink - by the time it arrived we were finishing dessert - needless to say I sent it back. The bill was $250 for 4 people (1 appetizer, 4 entrees, 1 drink each, 2 desserts) which is not terribly expensive for the quality of the food, but I would expect a restaurant like that to care more about their ambiance. I wouldn't go again and don't recommend any one else to unless they bring a flashlight, earplugs, and know sign language.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2006

The Customer is Always Wrong

Great food, great Prickly Pear Margaritas, friendly staff, fine looking customers and an amazing atmosphere. Arrive early to avoid waiting forever as reservations are not accepted. It's generally a younger crowd (20s - 40s) later in the evening with the old folks coming in right at 5:30pm. Southwestern inspired dishes with a range of culinary influences. It's very different and worth the wait.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 14, 2005

Always Great!

Fantastic Food -- Accomdated our limited diets (GF, DF, SF) with ease. No shorts Rule turned out to be for those with cut offs -- I had early dinner in khaki shorts and short sleaved shirt and it was no problem.

By andrea

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2005

awesome

great restaurant, people, atmosphere, and great food of course!

By mark

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2003

More prickly pear margaritas!!!

They simply serve the best margaritas on the planet and the food is excellent and creative. The desserts are quite a treat as well. 2nd best place we dined in Ft. Lauderdale but it was a close second.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement