Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Washington, D.C. Restaurants

Oceanaire Seafood Room

Updated 05/23/2014

Fodor's Review

This link in a Houston-owned chain is a beautiful throwback to another era, with dark-wood paneling, semicircular red booths, white tablecloths, and a pink glow that makes everybody look great. Oceanaire distinguishes itself primarily with first-rate ingredients; you see it at its best by ordering simply, picking from the list of fresh fish that heads the menu—perhaps Carolina swordfish or local rockfish. The portions are often big enough to feed a family of four. This

place is a good time, and even better if you go with a group.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1201 F St. NW, Washington, District of Columbia, 20004, USA

Map It

Phone:

202-347–2277

Restaurant Details:

  • No lunch weekends
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/23/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Washington, D.C.

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By VA_Girl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2010

Oceanaire Seafood Room Review

Focus here is on the seafood, not on heavy sauces nor cute curliqued carrots on the side. Nice, somewhat bustling atmosphere; friendly service. Side dishes are portioned to share! Have been once, and will definitely return.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 20, 2010

Oceanaire Seafood Room Review

From the moment I walked in I was completely blown away. I was seated in a booth right next to Michael Jordan and his party. My first recommendation is the Crab Cakes, absolutely fabulous. My wife is a huge crab cake fanatic and has tried varieties from around the world, but none have been better than Oceanaire's. Another recommendation is to ask your Server what is in fresh that day. They are constantly getting in fresh seafood from around the

world and it the offerings can vary from hour to hour. I had the Dover Sole and it was tremendous. Perfectly cooked, lightly seasoned and melted in my mouth. This place also surprised me with their expansive offerings of desserts. My wife, being the chocolate lover, had the slice of Chocolate Cake (that was big enough and rich enough for 3 to 4 people.) While I tried the Banana Cream pie - that was possibly the best I have ever had. The Servers were extremely knowledgeable and friendly, very willing to help us pick the perfect wine to accompany our incredible dining experience. I can't rave enough, we will definitely be back. (We're heading to Miami for our Anniversary and can't wait to try out the Oceanaire there as well.)

Read More

By rufkd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2007

nothing good to say

I've been here twice in the past year, thinking it has to be better than i remember with linen tablecloths and fresh fish, as well as fresh menus, but really, service lousy, fish uncooked and even things they make special like tartar sauce inferior to store brands.

By cd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 20, 2006

not warranted

I think all the aminosity toward this place is not warranted, OK, you will not see Britney Spears and the food is only passable, and the service is worse, but the atmosphere is somewhat French bistro and the prices are certainly reasonable.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2006

Don't Bother

Easily the most expensive and noisy seafood restaurant in town. We were moved from a smoky booth near the bar to a tiny table across the room. By 7:30 it was impossible to hear across even this space. The food is passable, but equivalent is available in a quieter and less pricey environment. Avoid the highly touted crab cakes-too much salt and insipid dressing. The side dishes are large but tasteless. The wait staff is atrocious a well. Our waiter

was almost invisible after taking our order, then he got it wrong twice. After he repeatedly pushed their famous Key Lime Pie he returned after we ordered it to report he himself had sold the last piece at lunch. He then presented us an incorrect bill.

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2006

Order A Bottle of Wine - Get Good Service

If you are not interested in dropping heavy on a bottle of good wine, don't bother coming here. I have eaten here 3 times in the last year and have found that when our group is drinking wine by the bottle, we get good service, our food arrives still warm, and we go away happy. However, if you are with a group that is drinking wine by the glass, expect your waiter and the servers to treat you with disdain. The food is very good, but I've had better

in DC. This is a very noisy restaurant. If your group exceeds 4 people, be prepared to read lips as you won't be able to hear your dining partners.

Read More

By Carole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2004

Top Notch all the way

The best restaurant experience we had in D.C., and we hit most of the "highly recommended" from our in town friends. Would rate it right up there with many of our best meals anywhere, for that matter. Food, service, atmosphere all perfection. Not to be missed.

By CT

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 13, 2004

WOW - One of the best meals of my life!

Food was astonishingly good! Filet was unreal - melts in your mouth! Crab cakes - DELISH. And the desserts? ORGASMIC. Food is of the highest quality. Service very professional. Only downside? Your check resembles a mortgage payment! But you get what you pay for at this place. This is a MUST if you're on an expense account, which, by the looks of the clientele, describes the patrons at this fantastic DC restaurant.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2003

Great Food - Huge Portions (Better Bring a Friend to Help)

Super meals for three of us. The portions are HUGE!!! The grilled calamari appetizer is enough for a entree. The grilled fish was done perfectly for all of us. A single order of chocolate turtle cake came with 2 scoops of ice cream and the server cut it into thirds for us with a steak knife. Each third alone was a very large desert. Be warned. It was heavenly. Everything worked well here; service, food, drink. The only caveat is that it is very

easy to have a meal consisting of 5000 calories so sharing is the name of the game. We will return.

Read More

By elle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2002

a great addition to DC!

lovely fresh oysters, very friendly staff and a stateroom-like appearance will keep me going back, thuogh it is a tad pricey. the oyster happy hour, however,is a great deal -- a dish of crudites with fresh pickeled herring is brought to you at the bar and the oysters are all half off between 3-6pm. yum!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement