Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Washington, D.C. Restaurants

Marcel's

  • 2401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW Map It
  • $$$$
  • Belgian

Updated 05/23/2014

Fodor's Review

Chef Robert Wiedmaier trained in the Netherlands and Belgium, and in this, his first solo venture, his French-inspired Belgian cooking focuses on well-designed presentations for the plate. Don't miss the mussels, if they're available, and take advantage of the perfectly seared diver scallops served with delicate Japanese citrus sauce or sage beurre blanc, depending on the season. The duck breast is a marvel, its succulent dark meat coated in flavorful jus. In season,

be sure to order the fig tart with citrus crème anglaise and honey-cinnamon ice cream. Prices range from $85 for four courses to $145 for seven, with à la carte ordering available.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

2401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, District of Columbia, 20037, USA

Map It

Phone:

202-296–1166

Restaurant Details:

  • No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/23/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2003

Good food; modest value

We recently had dinner, and the summer menu was very heavily weighted to fish -- the snapper and halibut filets were nice but very expensive for what you got. First class preparation; adequate (but not endearing) service; and only modest value for the very high prices. A good wine list, but, again, expensive.

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 12, 2002

Great food, Attentive service

Food was wonderful. Best meal while in D.C. Service was good. Price expensive.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2002

Still one of the best!

Again a super experience. Still pricing, and load at times, but worth it a few times per year. Mussels get better each time.

By CS

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 1, 2002

Excellence in DC

My favorite restaurant. The food is superb and the service professional. The atmosphere is unpretentious. My only complaint: the chairs are a little uncomfortable. Cushions are needed. If it were a little less expensive, I would be a regular. Perhaps this is the price we have to pay to have a truly excellent restaurant in D.C.

By Gayle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2002

Belgian Delight

It started out not looking very good. The greeting at the door, though cordial was icy (perhaps this was due to the reservation being booked online through OpenTable?). Though not full, the table we were given was in a terrible location and we were told it was all that was available.Turmed out not to be true). But thankfully, it got better. The waiter was lovely and the service extremely professional. The menu was wonderful and the food did not disapoint.

We especially appreciated the pacing. The room is very elegant European, though Belgian, looks Frech country-ish. We also enjoyed listening to the music which floated into the dining room from the wonderful pianist in the bar. Strange though that a large group of men (10-12?)after dinner made their way into the bar with cigars and decided to take over the piano and make it a rousing karaoke night. Most inappropriate for this style of elegant restaurant. Staff didn't seem to care. Other diners left.

Read More

By JB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2001

Marcel's C'est Parfait!

I took my husband to Marcel's for his birthday. We had a sampling of Belgian beers at the tres chic bar and then had a wonderfully romantic dinner in a tiny alcove in the dining room. The food was wonderful, the wine excellent and most everyone very friendly. The one exception was our waiter who was a bit cold. With tax and tip the bill was around $200. Was it worth it? Every penny!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement