Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Washington, D.C. Restaurants

1789 Restaurant

Updated 05/23/2014

Fodor's Review

This dining room with Early American paintings and a fireplace could easily be a room in the White House. But all the gentility of this 19th-century town-house restaurant is offset by the down-to-earth food on the menu, which changes daily. The soups, including the celery root topped with Maine lobster hash, are flavorful. Leg of lamb and pork loin, both raised nearby, are specialties, but even the less local seafood is marked with its origin so diners know where it comes from. Service is fluid and attentive. Try the carrot cake or butterscotch-tinged "monkey bread" brioche for a sweet finish.

Restaurant Information

Address:

1226 36th St. NW, Washington, District of Columbia, 20007, USA

Map It

Phone:

202-965–1789

Restaurant Details:

  • No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/23/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Washington, D.C.

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2005

Top class, Romantic, Excellent

This is a very special place. Top-notch service, excellent cuisine, and a memorable dining experience. For those on a budget, ask about the pre-fixe early bird theater menu, offered on weeknights.

By Bernard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2004

Gone downhill

Admittedly, it's been over twenty years since I last visited 1789. The years have not been kind. The change of ownership in the 1980s and the change in direction of the menu made my latest meal there a bit of a disappointment. Bottom line: Plenty of other restaurants offer similarly "slightly-above-mediocre" food for less money.

By Clara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2003

Creme de la Creme Brulee

My first visit to 1789 was during "Restaurant Week in DC" in January 2003. Four our appetizer, my mom had the mushroom tart and I had the salmon. The salmon was excellent. For the main course, I had the Maine Haddock and my dad had the lamb. The haddock was tender and seasoned to perfection, and the lamb melted in your mouth. For dessert, my mom and I had the Creme Brulee and my father had the apple crisp with coconut ice cream. The creme brulee

was excellent!

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2002

Spoiled Softeshell Crab at 1789 make the stomach spoiled as well

Service was excellent, but the seafood is handled poorly. Value is poor as well.

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2001

Nothing dated about this place

Have had three excellent meals here over the last few years,the most recent February, 2001 . Attentive, unpretentious service, no matter how busy they are. Perfectly prepared eclectic American with a nod toward local tastes like crabcakes or Smithfield ham. Perfect for a family celebration.

By Anthony

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 9, 2000

Good food, partnered with great service

Was there this summer (July 2000, during holidays). Forgot how good the food was! If in season, try the crab cakes. Also, you can't go wrong with the rack of lamb. What was even better was great, attentive service. On a late, busy night, female server was extremely helpful wtih wine, selection questions, etc. Only thing to watch out for: the final price. Beware: It will skyrocket if on a date or with family. But, you can't go wrong with 1789 for a

really special occasion.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement