Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Washington, D.C. Restaurants

Georgia Brown's

Updated 05/23/2014

Fodor's Review

An elegant New South eatery and a favorite hangout of local politicians—First Lady Michelle Obama famously broke bread here with the mayor's wife and Second Lady Jill Biden—Georgia Brown's serves catfish two ways, either grilled in spicy jerk seasoning or fried in cornmeal; thick, rich she-crab soup spiked with sherry; and grilled salmon with mango relish. Fried green tomatoes are filled with goat cheese, and a pecan pie is made with bourbon and imported Belgian dark

chocolate. The Sunday "jazz brunch" adds live music and a decadent chocolate fondue fountain to the mix, and the ample happy hour menu is available all afternoon on Saturday. The airy, curving dining room has white honeycomb windows and unusual ceiling ornaments of bronze ribbons.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

950 15th St. NW, Washington, District of Columbia, 20005, USA

Map It

Phone:

202-393–4499

Website: www.gbrowns.com

Updated 05/23/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Washington, D.C.

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2012

Georgia Brown's Review

Tasty Southern Comfort Food My spouse and I dined at this Southern comfort food restaurant in May of 2012. (We stayed at the nearby Hilton Garden Inn on 14th Street between H and I Streets, and it was a quick 2 block walk [one block north and one block west] to the restaurant.) The restaurant was very busy, lively, and loud on the Friday night that we visited; we chose to sit outside in the sidewalk seating area facing the McPherson Square park,

which was more peaceful. Service was good but a bit too quickly paced for our taste; we barely finished our appetizers before our entrees were in front of us. We enjoyed low-country menu items like fried-green tomatoes, deviled eggs, perlau (a sort of paella-like dish with meat, seafood, rice, and vegetables), and shrimp and grits (the grits were fabulous!), followed by banana cream pie. Dishes served with shrimp can be ordered “heads-on” or “heads-off”. The biscuits and cornbread provided to every table were delicious! The restaurant participates in the Open Table reservation system, which makes booking a table simple. This restaurant caught our attention because of the cuisine, the location in proximity to our hotel, and the fact that they served late on a Friday evening. This wasn’t the greatest meal we ate during our weekend in DC, but it was interesting and tasty, and reasonably priced for a city restaurant.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 11, 2006

Sad To See The South Sinking To Its Knees!

I know Southern cooking at its best and Georgia Brown's was a real dissapointment. The food was awful! The service has diminished to nothing but college students who worked at McDonald's for 3 months and have no idea of what mid to upscale dining requires. Not to mention the noise was horrific and the host/hostess did not seat us for almost 30 minutes and we had a reservation! Georgia Brown needs to go back to Georgia and rethink her idea of having

a restaurant!

Read More

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2006

Thrice tried and true

Each time I have been to this restaurant I have had consistently good experiences at Georgia Browns. It's a favorite for dining out in a relaxed, simple restaurant.

By cd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 2, 2006

Georgia on my mind

I'm not sure why the menu hasn't been revised in years or why the cornbread is dry or why there are fewer people in this place, but it all adds up to a place that has seen better days. Even the service seems to have slipped since last year.

By Ray

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2005

Let`s get loud

the food was pretty unique and was pretty good - (but the desserts were outstanding.. :) ) - staff was friendly - the restaurant is nice but it is very loud!!! This is a restaurant to go with your family but maybe not for a romantic dinner..!!!

By Nicci

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2004

Fried Chicken a Standout

Everything we have tried here has been A class. The vegetarian plate is generous and creative, and the chicken is addicting. The dining room is gorgeous but can be casual. A lot of K Streeters entertain here to a fun, mixed crowd -- not as many tourists as others near this area. They're missing out!

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2003

Excellent All-Around!!

On a recent visit to D.C., my family and I had dinner here. The food was great, the service was very good and the value was exceptional. We had our two children ages 11 and 2 and the wait staff was great with the kids! They even made a special meal for the 2 year old. I also agree that the Frogmore Stew is a must-have! Full of great seafood and veggies!! My only regret was the peach cobbler, more of a "crisp" and not very peachy. But the other

desserts we had were very good! The next time we are in D.C. we will definitely dine here again!

Read More

By Erin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2003

Frogmore Stew a Must-Have

This is one of my favorites... Great food, plus an opportunity to see politicos wheeling and dealing!

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 27, 2001

As cool as the other side of the pillow...

Georgia Brown's menu is so appealing that it is difficult to decide what to order -- I want to try a little of everything! And it's all good -- from the biscuits and cornbread, to the salads (love that peach-flavored vinaigrette dressing), to meats (the rack of lamb is fantastic), to the fish (a nicely-done salmon filet), to desserts (the sweet potato cheesecake is to die for). The decor is lovely, and the wine selections are both extensive and

thoughtfully chosen. Service is above average by Washington standards.

Read More

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2001

Zestier than the Fried Okra? Not really.

Good lunch value, nonetheless. Definitely try the chicken fried steak, it's well prepared.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2000

You're still in the South in D.C. and it shows at Georgia Brown's.

Why this restaurant has not been considered a favorite of the Fodor's editors is a mystery to this southerner. This is truly southern food with an appetizing twist. The dishes are simple and savory. Perfectly cooked, just still crispy, green beans and garlic-hinted mashed potatoes beat momma's dishes any day of the week and twice on Sundays. Beautiful preparations and a charming atmosphere make this a spot not to be missed.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2000

Not your usual D.C. Power Dinner Spot

I love the New South cooking here, though this is not the spot for cholesterol watchers. But apart from the cooking, Georgia Brown's differentiates itself from the local pack for me in two ways: * Service that knows what I want before I do myself -- waiters invariably materialize (discreetly, of course) at just the perfect moments. * Absolutely the best atmosphere *among the customers* of any restaurant in the city. The crowd is racially integrated

(far beyond any other local dining establishment, in my experience), sophisticated, well-dressed but not stuffy. A general feeling of pleasure pervades the warm-toned dining room. Don't tell the chef, but I'd go to G.B.'s even if the food wasn't as good as it is.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement