Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Washington, D.C. Restaurants

Kinkead's

Updated 05/23/2014

Fodor's Review

This multichambered seafood restaurant has a raw bar downstairs, with a more casual array of dishes to bridge from lunch into dinner, and more formal dining rooms upstairs, but the mood of quiet elegance remains. The open kitchen upstairs allows you to watch chef Bob Kinkead and company turn out an eclectic menu inspired by Kinkead's New England roots and by the cuisines of Asia and Latin America. Don't miss the signature dish—salmon encrusted with pumpkin seeds and

served with a ragout of crab, shrimp, and corn. Save room for dessert, because the lemon sampler, which includes a meringue tart and pudding cake, is a knockout.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

2000 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, District of Columbia, 20006, USA

Map It

Phone:

202-296–7700

Website: www.kinkead.com

Restaurant Details:

  • No lunch weekends
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/23/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By willieB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 6, 2007

real fried clams! real seafood!

This is one of the few really good seafood restaurants in town...and the only place to order New England-style fried clams! Outstanding choice of oysters, as well as cherrystones. Earlier writer is correct: Eating (and drinking) at the bar is a pleasure. Great location: on the GW 'campus' (such as it is), a block from Pa. Ave., IMF, World bank, and not far from White House. Only drawbacks: cost ($$$-$$$$), parking (except for after rush-hour),

and average-to-slow service.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2007

No major kinks

Their salmon special was not bad, though some may find it overwhelming with so many things going on with the salmon. The atmostphere and service were good, though they were pretty busy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2007

everyone should go once

so glad my friend took me here, it is a dc must, just everyone goes to kinkead's, the place is very upscale and you feel like a vip !!

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2006

Fading Fast

I was here about 4 years ago and enjoyed a stellar dinner at this restaurant with business associates. I returned a week ago and was VERY disappointed. The service was very so-so and the food was just okay. Maybe my boss and I stopped in on a bad night, but I was embarrassed after singing the restaurant's praises. I might try it again the next time I am staying in DC, but I won't bring my boss.

By Mel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2005

dinner at the bar

Traveling alone in DC had dinner at the bar. Great fun, service and food. Had raw oysters, very sweet, with classic martini and olives, and the house special cod with sweet potato, spoon bread, etc. Delicious.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2004

Unbelievably good food

I guess I am surprised to see all the negative comments. I've lived in DC over 10 years and this is one of my favorite restaurants. Fantastic seafood preparation. I found the dishes very flavorful, not at all bland. have been there several times and it is occasionally not up to snuff. Maybe people here hit it on a bad night. All I can say is when it's good, it's great.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2004

If you aren't a celebrity, don't bother

The wines are way overpriced. The service is rude and there are other places one can go for good seafood. Kinkead's is no longer a temple for seafood. Feel free to go and waste your money if you want to.

By Howard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2003

Still On Top Of Its Game

I was with a party of four that enjoyed Kinkeads on July 19, 2003. This is clearly one of the finest New American restaurants in the Washington, DC area. All of the food was extremely fresh and well prepared. This included halibut, salmon and tuna entrees. What was mildly surprising is that although the restaurant is known for seafood, one of the members of my party ordered steak and that was superb as well. Finally, the wait staff was gracious

and attentive and the wine list varied and fairly priced. A trip to Kinkeads is an experience that will enhance any occasion.

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2002

Boooooooooooooooooooooo

Tasteless food and arrogant service might be unpleasant enough, but it also took 14 minutes for the valet boy to bring our car. Popularity does not necessarily mean quality after all.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2002

Complacent

Food was good, nothing memorable for a restaurant of this price range. Service was very average. Had the feel of riding on its reputations

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2002

My favourite sport, can't be beaten

Whenever I am on a business trip in Washington D.C, I have to go to Kinkeads, for me it is the spot, agreed that especially on Saturday evenings it can get very crowded and loud, but the food is so imaginative, I am now going since 5 years to this restaurant, I have never been disappointed. Reserve early or for a try out go Saturday for a lunch, but arrive early, at this time it is first come first serve, no reservations

By JB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2001

Overpriced and Overrated!

My husband and I have eaten at Kinkead's twice and have been disappointed both times. The first time the food was OK but not outstanding and our waiter was obnoxious. The second time, the waiter was pleasant but my fish was overcooked and the accompaniments were weird, my husband's calamari was way too salty and his fish was not what he expected. Good food? yes, but not the 4 star food that they seem to get. Are we going back? NO WAY!

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2001

Washington's Most Over-Rated Restaurant

What is all the fuss about this place? It's not that great looking. The food is blah. The service is not nice -- and that's being kind. I am a card-carrying member of the Clean Plate Club, and I can say that I barely touched any of my courses here. The mahi-mahi was simply terrible. And that was a highlight of the meal.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2000

Seafood like it should be!

Try the crabcakes - they are better than anywhere in Maryland. The seafood is as inventive as it is excellent. The salads are terific too such as the candied walnut encrusted pear salad with blue cheese and port wine drizzel. Forget the desert though, it is not worth the calories and beneath the quality of this wonderful restaurant.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement