Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Washington, D.C. Restaurants

DC Coast

Updated 05/23/2014

Fodor's Review

Chef Jeff Tunks's menu at this sophisticated Downtown spot brings the foods of three coasts—Atlantic, Gulf, and Pacific—to Washington. His smoked lobster with fried spinach was one of the first arrivals of delicate Pacific Rim cuisine to a staid local culinary scene nearly 20 years ago. If you're homesick for New Orleans, try the gumbo (served only at lunch). And for a quintessentially Washington experience, stop by as early as 3 pm on weekdays to watch the well-heeled

lobbyist crowd roll in for a deal-making happy hour.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1401 K St. NW, Washington, District of Columbia, 20005, USA

Map It

Phone:

202-216–5988

Website: www.dccoast.com

Restaurant Details:

  • No lunch weekends

Updated 05/23/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Washington, D.C.

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Katie2

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2008

Great restaurant in the heart of downtown DC

My husband and I had dinner here on 8/24/08. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was top notch. We would definitely return.

By rufkd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2008

DC Coasts

I'm not sure what it is about the service here and at their other properties but it's as if each time you visit, they are all on the first day, as nothing arrives on time, there's no checking, last time, my waitress was too busy playing with the breasts of the mermaid hostess to check on my order.

By Tracey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2005

One of DC;s finest

I dine there every time I get to DC because it is always a truly wonderful dining experience. You can't go wrong at DC Coast!!!

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2002

It's the atmosphere, stupid.

I celebrated my birthday last year at DC Coast. The food is quite great and the dessert is mouthwatering. If you dislike the food, please remember that "it's the atmosphere, stupid."

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2002

Perfect Service

The food was very good, the atmosphere was also nice. We were especially struck, however, by the skilled service. We were seated next to an amazingly obnoxious man and his date. The man kept his cell phone on the table and regularly made calls. When his date went to the ladies room he had a telephone conversation, that we coudl hear very clearly, with lots of profanity about his "ex". While this was going on our waitress came to the table to give

us water. She glanced in the direction of the crude and classless man and then back at me.I looked up at her and shrugged. Three minutes later, she came back to our table and told us to get up and follow her. She moved us to a beautiful tabel over looking the downstairs dinning room, turing us over to another waitress.A manager came over a few minutes later to apologize. We felt very well taken care of--and we didn't have to say a word. Unfortunately there was nothing we could do for the man's date.

Read More

By Kirsten

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2001

Don't Valet Park Your Car!

I have eaten here about 6 times. I've never had a real memorable meal...one time I came down with food poisoning. We went for a friend's birthday and our service was HORRIBLE. It took 20 minutes just to get water. She had zero personality and got all of our orders mixed up. The tops was when she opened a second bottle of wine (at about $150/bottle) and poured on top of what was left in our glasses from the first bottle! We asked her to stop

pouring and she completly ignored us. I did complain to the manager and he comped one bottle which I thought was very nice. And the last time I was there the valet brought my new Audi back from the garage with $2500 worth of damage (and told he had just "scratched" it). The valet company was a nightmare to deal with and the restaurant kept calling saying that they were horrified and they were going to send me an apology letter. That was over a month ago....and big surprise...no letter.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement