Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Washington, D.C. Restaurants

Old Ebbitt Grill

Updated 05/23/2014

Fodor's Review

People flock here to drink at the several bars, which seem to go on for miles, and to enjoy well-prepared buffalo wings, hamburgers, and hearty sandwiches. A 150-year-old institution, the Old Ebbitt also has one of Washington's most well-known raw bars. Pasta is homemade, and the late-night menu runs the gamut from hummus to tacos until 1 am. Despite the crowds, the restaurant never feels cramped, thanks to its well-spaced, comfortable booths. Service can be slow at lunch;

if you're in a hurry, try the café-style Ebbitt Express next door.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

675 15th St. NW, Washington, District of Columbia, 20005, USA

Map It

Phone:

202-347–4800

Website: www.ebbitt.com

Updated 05/23/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Washington, D.C.

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Lolo12

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2011

Old Ebbitt Grill Review

I had the best oysters ever at the Old Ebbitt. The rest of the dinner was also excellent as was the service. The waiter couldn't have been nicer. A bit noisy, but that added to the ambience. The location was just a 15 minute walk from my hotel. I would definitely go there again - but I would have a dozen oysters instead of just 6.

By RHYENA

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2009

Tourist Trap

Went there May 11, 2009, and the entire party of 13 had a rather bad experience. Service was poor and the food was deemed unacceptable by all that ate there. The worse was the ribs which were like jerky with bones. The fish and chips were poor as well. The only acceptable dish was the trout, but just barely. May be there is a new owner or just bad business practices, but everyone should avoid Old Ebbitt Grill at all costs.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 15, 2009

Delicious food...a little noisy

The New York strip was the best I've ever had; perfectly cooked. The canneloni was tasty, but very rich. The calamari appetizer was great, and the portion size huge. The only thing I didn't care for was the apple cider vinaigrette on the arugula salad. It tasted mostly like onions. The service was spotty. The server was very personable, but she was busy, and didn't manage to ask us how our food was before we were done. The place was packed

and rather noisy. But overall it was a great evening.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2008

Living On A Past Reputation

Was really looking forward to dining in the historic restaurant. However, even on a weekday night, the place was packed, the service slow and the food mediocre. That being said, I do have to give them some props on prices which were reasonable. But, they've got some work to do to bring back the glory days.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2007

Pretty old

This place was damn crowded and it's not always a good thing. looks like they expanded due to overwhelming demand and the food may taste a little mass produced. They expanded seats into the open area at the back lobby and there was little ambience there. Our server at our table was ok but the guy who served water and took our plate was dreadful and untrained. bumped into my friend's elbow who was drinking red wine and nearly ruined his shirt!

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2006

yes

The approving description in a leading travel guide was on the mark. The entire restaurant staff shows a genuine concern for delivering what you desire. The variety of oysters was impressive, and the crab cakes are fantastic. If your going to try a new restaurant - try this one.

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2006

Great Location - Great for Kids

Excellent service. Great place for the kids. Make sure to get a reservation in advance!

By Lorena

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2006

Great food

great raw oyster bar.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2003

A charming old flavor place

I would go again, for the ambiance. Food was average, although we other the famous crab cakes.

By janet

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2003

BETTER THAN AVERAGE

I did not have high expectations for the food, just liked the idea of eating in the historic spot. The brunch was tasty, but cold. After sending it back, it was delicious. The server was very apologetic and pleasant. Also had a drink at the bar one day. Very friendly, fun spot.

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2002

Never miss on trips to DC

Each time we visit Washington DC we always come here at least once. The food and service and atmosphere are without equal downtown. One of my favorite all-time restaurants anywhere.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2001

Great place if you don't mind a crowd

I just made my first visit to Old Ebbit Grill. I hope it's not my last. I'm not very adventurous when it comes to food, so i opted for a steak and potato. both were great. I didn't need the A-1. The creme brulee was delicious, also.

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2001

I never miss a stop here when in Washington

The food is always done with generous proportions. The various bars are fun to try and the atmosphere just what you'd expect from a well established Washinton bar and grill. The crad cakes are a must.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2001

Two Thumbs Up

I really like this place. With 3 bars, there's alway room to squeeze in someplace. I work in the White House complex, and it's a great place to go for lunch or after work. The oysters are some of the best I've tried. I'm also a big fan on the hummus appetizer.

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2001

Old-world power dining atmosphere a block from the White House

Have to say: I'm a big fan of the Old Ebbitt Grill. Prices are reasonable for portions of epic proportions. Don't be afraid to try something other than their famous burgers: oven-roasted duck on a bed of summer vegetable hash with raspberry ginger glaze was top-notch, and I thought a bargain at $17. The oyster bar deserves the city-wide fame, for a large, diverse selection. Desserts can be had elsewhere, but if you want to experience the dark oaken

feel here on a slightly tighter budget, come for the also famous and truly outstanding brunch.

Read More

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2000

I must be missing something...

Whenever I eat at the Old Ebbitt Grill, I always feel like I'm missing something. Everybody seems to rave about it. I find it to be fine, but that's it. I've never had an outstanding meal there. There's nothing particularly special about the decor -- traditional, dark wood -- or the atmosphere. Service is decent. But it's just a completely unmemorable experience, in my opinion. And you can get the same food at more reasonable prices elsewhere.

It's not a bad choice, but there are better ones.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement