Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Washington, D.C. Hotels

Grand Hyatt Washington

Pros

  • Great location for sightseeing and shopping
  • Often has weekend deals
  • Nice gym and indoor pool

Cons

  • Often filled with conventioneers
  • Chain-hotel feel

Updated 05/23/2014

Fodor's Review

A city within the city is what greets you as you step inside the Hyatt's doors and gaze upward to the balconies overlooking the blue lagoon and the many conveniences within the atrium. With a Starbucks, a deli, a florist, gift shop, restaurants and sports bars, you might never have to leave its climate controlled interior. You can walk to the Metro without ever stepping outside because it's right below the hotel—a huge advantage during D.C.'s hot and humid summers. Guests

also rave about the modern fitness center and indoor pool, with massage, spinning classes, yoga, sauna, and steam rooms, although you do have to pay a small per-room fee to use them.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1000 H St. NW, Washington, District of Columbia, 20001, USA

Map It

Phone:

202-582–1234; 800-233–1234

Hotel Details:

  • 851 rooms, 37 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/23/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Washington, D.C.

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2004

Just may be the nicest hotel experience I've had.

We read some of the negative reviews and were apprehensive about the hotel. We arrived 7/5/04 and were impressed with the lobby design and decor. During our 4 night stay we became friends with the evening door man and concierge and were made to feel quite special. Our room was large and spacious and had a window spanning the entire wall. The adjoining room was small but very adequate, clean and nicely furnished. The lobby leads to Metro Central

so you have immediate access to all metro lines.I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We made reservations through Priceline, specifiying 4 STAR hotel in Capital Convention Center area and were so lucky to get the Grand Hyatt.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2004

Unexpected Excellence

Stayed here in April 2003 and was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The subway was connected right to the hotel's lobby which was a great treat. The room looked over the Atrium, with large windows. Lots of space and large bathroom. An excellent hotel, with a great location and lobby. Would definitely stay here again.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 30, 2003

Very Inconsistent

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last seven months and on several occasions in the past. The lobby is lovely. The rooms have great internet service. But the service is extremely inconsistent, more often bad than good. I rated this last stay a 4 for value because I got an internet rate of $88. If I had paid $200 (entirely possible), I would rate the value around a 2.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2003

Better than expected

I stayed for a weekend in early May and paid a very reasonable internet rate. Had I paid the rack rate I would probably be more critical. The front desk was very accommodating. I had an atrium room which showed some wear and tear but was large and quiet. The breakfast buffet was very good though a bit pricey. Overall - good value.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 12, 2002

Hold your breath!

The cigarette smoke in the lobby/atrium is worse than a smoggy day in LA. The service at breakfast is rotten. Otherwise, this place is terrific with a fabulous location and it's own metro stop!

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2002

The Grand Hyatt Washington lives up to it's 'Grand'name!

We stayed here from April 25-28th,2002 and loved it.The room was a large corner room.Very big.The Atrium was beautiful and the service very professional.I got this hotel thru Priceline.com for $95 a night.Definitely a great deal.The location was super with entrance from the hotel to the Metro.(subway)We enjoyed our stay and hope to come back soon!

By Megan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2002

Nice hotel, crappy room

The room had stains on carpet and furniture, very small, dark. They had surcharges for everything including to use the swimming pool which was a little bit bigger than a hot tub. Staff was courteous and the atrium was beautiful. Bottom Line- not worth the money.

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2002

An Oasis in the City

This hotel is breathtaking from the moment you are greeted on the front drive to the moment you arrive at your room. My children, my husband, and I had such a wonderful experience at this hotel that I encourage everyone to visit DC and stay at the Grand Hyatt. The brunch is wonderful and there are also some really great restaurants within walking distance. We will definitely stay here again!

By Vic

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2001

Not usual Hyatt standards

Stayed here in 1998. Room was smaller that usual and not that well appointed although on the club floor. Was suprised that the club lounge closed Sunday evening. There were also no restaurants open late afternoons. All in all not up to ususal Hyatt standards

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement