Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Washington, D.C. Restaurants

Cafe Milano

Updated 05/23/2014

Fodor's Review

By night you're likely to rub shoulders with local socialites, professional sports stars, visiting celebrities, and the Euro-trendy crowd at Cafe Milano's cheek-by-jowl bar. Expect authentic, sophisticated Italian cooking and a pricey wine list. Specialties are caprese salad made with imported buffalo mozzarella, thin-crust pizzas anchored by Naples-controlled San Marzano tomato sauce, sumptuous pasta dishes in pesto or fresh vegetable sauces, and the type of beautifully

composed and dressed salads favored by ladies who lunch.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

3251 Prospect St. NW, Washington, District of Columbia, 20007, USA

Map It

Phone:

202-333–6183

Updated 05/23/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Washington, D.C.

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Mab85

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2008

Expensive but enjoyable

I really enjoyed Cafe Milano, despite the noisy bar scene. The food was excellent and the service great. The prices are high but I got a very large portion so I wasn't complaining too much.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2007

One of the Best Restaurants in DC

I go to Cafe Milano frequently-for good reason-their chef, who is from Sorrento is excellent, I DO feel that this food is almost as good as what I get in Italy, EVERYTHING we've had here was good-my friend believes the veal is the best he's had anywhere, the bruschetta, excellent, the sea scallops I had, also excellent, the fried calamari-batter light and squid texture just right-not chewy. The food plus the atmosphere-this is the place to go for

a night on the town in DC

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2007

Variable

Cafe Milano can be a pleasant dining experience if you want to be in "the" glitterati restaurant and don't mind the bustle and average Italian fare. Authentic, no; horrible, neither; popular,yes; why? ....... There are better eateries in Washington, D.C..

By rsakita

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2007

Do Not Eat Here

The food at Cafe Milano is sub-par. We have better Italian restaurants here in the boondocks of Pennsylvania. How this establishment thrives in D.C. is beyond me. I recently stopped by with a party of 4 - none of us enjoyed our meal. We had pastas, appetizers, risotto and swordfish - all ill prepared. I know there are better restaurants in D.C. Don't waste your time or money!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2007

Horrible

If you think this is a good restaurant you don't know DC, and there are MUCH better places to people watch/ spot in DC. Service was bad. Food was only edible, for the little you got.

By KMS

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 24, 2004

Overrated

Try Sequoia at the Washington Harbor. The food is excellent and the ambiance is wonderful. Cafe' Milano was just overrated.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 30, 2003

Wear Prada, Come Here and ...

Pretending (too much) to be a Euro cafe, Cafe Milano is definitely a chic place where almost every diner here is Prada-clad. However, when it comes to food, this place is truly for gourmands. If you like real pasta, try homemade cooking at Pasta Mia in Adams Morgan or head to Maestro in Tysons Corner. On the other hand, if you want to spend a fortune on food not even as good as Olive Garden's, then come wasting your money here.

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2002

A Perfect Spot for Gourmands

Dear Prada-clad social butterfly, Stop pretend that you are one of DC's most sophisticated people. If you want to know what pasta really tastes like, go to Pasta Mia or Galileo. Otherwise, continue your habit of eating plastic!

By Mel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2001

Good food but too noisy for romantic dinners

We went to Cafe Milano for our anniversary dinner. Great food, price was decent, but the popularity of the place was its biggest problem. It was extremely busy and noisy. There were many large tables full of loud people. Add pumping techno music to the mix and you'll see what I mean. The wait staff was less than attentive. They mostly busied themselves with the large table next to us. I found the same problem with the front staff. I explained that

it was our anniversary, and they seemed totally uninterested. Not good. This is a great place to socialize and dine with friends, but it's terrible for romantic dinners. You can't hear yourself talk. Despite the good food, we were both in a hurry to leave.

Read More

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2000

Delicious food and a great Georgetown location

I always enjoy Paolo's. My favorite dish is the Tortellini Rose, which is tortellini in a tomato-cream sauce with mushrooms and prosciutto -- truly scrumptious, and available in a smaller appetizer-sized portion or a larger entree-sized version. The appetizer portion is filling enough for a meal in my opinion, and is a very good value. Pastas here tend to be cooked properly rather than overcooked as in so many places, with a dense, chewy center.

The complimentary breadsticks with green olive tapenade that they bring to every table are excellent. The Georgetown location is a gathering place and can get a little loud and crowded at times, but I enjoy the fact that it has some open-air dining which makes for great people-watching.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement