Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Restaurants

Old Ebbitt Grill

  • 675 15th St. NW Map It
  • Downtown
  • American

Updated 05/23/2014

Fodor's Review

People flock here to drink at the several bars, which seem to go on for miles, and to enjoy well-prepared buffalo wings, hamburgers, and hearty sandwiches. A 150-year-old institution, the Old Ebbitt also has one of Washington's most well-known raw bars. Pasta is homemade, and the late-night menu runs the gamut from hummus to tacos until 1 am. Despite the crowds, the restaurant never feels cramped, thanks to its well-spaced, comfortable booths. Service can be slow at lunch; if you're in a hurry, try the café-style Ebbitt Express next door.

Restaurant Information

Address:

675 15th St. NW, Washington, District of Columbia, 20005, United States

Map It

Phone:

202-347–4800

Website: www.ebbitt.com

Updated 05/23/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Lolo12

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Oct 13, 2011

Old Ebbitt Grill Review

I had the best oysters ever at the Old Ebbitt. The rest of the dinner was also excellent as was the service. The waiter couldn't have been nicer. A bit noisy, but that added to the ambience. The location was just a 15 minute walk from my hotel. I would definitely go there again - but I would have a dozen oysters instead of just 6.

By RHYENA

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

May 23, 2009

Tourist Trap

Went there May 11, 2009, and the entire party of 13 had a rather bad experience. Service was poor and the food was deemed unacceptable by all that ate there. The worse was the ribs which were like jerky with bones. The fish and chips were poor as well. The only acceptable dish was the trout, but just barely. May be there is a new owner or just bad business practices, but everyone should avoid Old Ebbitt Grill at all costs.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Feb 15, 2009

Delicious food...a little noisy

The New York strip was the best I've ever had; perfectly cooked. The canneloni was tasty, but very rich. The calamari appetizer was great, and the portion size huge. The only thing I didn't care for was the apple cider vinaigrette on the arugula salad. It tasted mostly like onions. The service was spotty. The server was very personable, but she was busy, and didn't manage to ask us how our food was before we were done. The place was packed

and rather noisy. But overall it was a great evening.

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Feb 28, 2008

Living On A Past Reputation

Was really looking forward to dining in the historic restaurant. However, even on a weekday night, the place was packed, the service slow and the food mediocre. That being said, I do have to give them some props on prices which were reasonable. But, they've got some work to do to bring back the glory days.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Oct 27, 2007

Pretty old

This place was damn crowded and it's not always a good thing. looks like they expanded due to overwhelming demand and the food may taste a little mass produced. They expanded seats into the open area at the back lobby and there was little ambience there. Our server at our table was ok but the guy who served water and took our plate was dreadful and untrained. bumped into my friend's elbow who was drinking red wine and nearly ruined his shirt!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.