Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Hartford and the Connecticut River Valley Restaurants

Apricots Restaurant and Pub

Updated 12/23/2013

Fodor's Review

This white Colonial with windows overlooking gardens and the Farmington River is a long-term staple of Hartford area dining. American classics such as scrumptious oven-roasted Maine crab cakes and sautéed Atlantic salmon with fava bean and sweet corn succotash are presented in a formal dining room; less-expensive fare is served in the downstairs pub.

Restaurant Information

Address:

1593 Farmington Ave., Farmington, Connecticut, 06032, USA

Map It

Phone:

860-673–5405

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 12/23/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Wayne_K

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2008

Poor service & no follow-up

Very poor service with far too much attitude. Not 'customer friendly' at all. What is worse is that after I left messages for both the owner, Ann Howard, and a week later, for the GM, Kevin Quinn, no one has returned my calls. Unacceptable!

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Apr 10, 2007

Intresting concept!

The restaurant has one menu with two price points on was more moderate $10 to $15 about ten items and another eight items $20 to $30. My parents and I choose format the moderate side and I had the quail appetizer which was good. My Lamb and Spinach dies was OK the lamb was a little chewy. My father had the sole which was light ad tasty. My mother had the wild mushroom ravioli which was superb. Out waitress was a tad on the slow side but still

pretty good.

Read More

By Lucas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 15, 2006

Invisible ink

I recently had dinner at Apricots and enjoyed the dinner I was served. The service however didn't measure up to the entrée. Our servor was barly around and asking her for water would have made you feel guilty. I tipped 18% instead of 20% based on the poor service. When I was walking out I could see the server glaring at the receipt at the table. The bottom of the menu stated tip not included. So why bother having me fill in a tip section on my receipt

if she is going to increase it to 20%. This kind of manuver is exactly why we got poor service in the first place. She doesn't respect the customer.

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2005

A Superb Example of a Classic Connecticut Tavern

I recently visited friends who live in the area who brought me here for dinner. I was very pleasantly surprised. The setting was magnificent. We had drinks in the bar with a piano player then headed out to the patio that sits above the farmington river. The food and service was very good. However the environment is condusive to relaxing and enjoying yourself as if you were in you country home in CT. Also for those of you have criticized Apricots.

This is Connecticut! The cuisine is as classic as our towns, homes, and beaches. If your looking for something more exotic you should try the food court at the West Farms Mall and please dont write about it! Patrick Woodhouse

Read More

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 16, 2005

Good Food. So-So Waiters...

Food was very good, but our waiter was obnoxious. His boss was even worse, bickering with wait staff nearby as we were trying to have a quiet dinner.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2003

Over-rated

Ann Howards is a popular spot. I have had mediocre entrees there however. West Hartford has 3 or 4 superior options.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2002

A Must Have Salad

Maybe it was the four well made martini's I had before dinner at Apricots, but the warm lamb salad was the best salad I have had in my life.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2002

Don't know why they are called a "Wait" staff - they didn't make me wait at all!

Its like eating at Mom's house, but without the bickering! Oh yeah, better cooking, too. Sorry Mom.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement