Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Hartford and the Connecticut River Valley Restaurants

First and Last Tavern

Updated 12/23/2013

Fodor's Review

What looks to be a simple neighborhood joint south of downtown is actually one of the state's most hallowed pizza parlors, serving superb thin-crust pies (locals love the puttanesca) since 1936. The old-fashioned wooden bar in one room is jammed most evenings with suburbia-bound daily-grinders. The main dining room, which is just as noisy, has a brick outer wall covered with celebrity photos.

Restaurant Information

Address:

939 Maple Ave., Hartford, Connecticut, 06114, USA

Map It

Phone:

860-956–6000

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 12/23/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By benct

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2008

Great Food

The food is great, and the dining room is nice with the collections and photos. The prices can be a bit high though.

By Lurch

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 25, 2007

Pizza Perfection

If I was on death row, a First and Last bacon and onion pizza might be my last meal. And the Puttanesca sauce is the best i've ever had. Service and atmosphere are great. The owners are awesome and extremely helpful. Get on down there, it's well worth the trip.

By Rhonda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2005

First place you think of for great food and service And the Last place you want to leave.

What you want when it comes to great food, service and price is First And Last Tavern. The service was above all other. Food ---- Well I took home two jars of sauce. This was my prized possession.

By Bridget

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2005

Hot Brick Ovens prepare DYNAMITE Pizza!

What a treat we had enjoying a delectable pizza as an appetizer and a variety of entrees. The First and Last not only offers a great atmosphere,the food is terrific. I loved all the memorabilia. While in town for the Junior Am we had better luck eating at the First and Last than at the tournament! The meatballs rival Grandma Puccini's (although I would NEVER admit that in public!)

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2005

Great Pizza and More

Try the Neopolitan pizza. It's as good as it gets. The other food is also excellent. Service is very good, but not quite worthy of a "5" rating. Highly recommended.

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2005

Go for the pizza, not the entrees

the pepperoni pie and the "First and Last" pie (which is a salad on top of the pizza are phenomenal. However, their non-pizza entrees are just average to above average. Great atmosphere.

By Jolene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2002

Garlic Galore

First & Last has the aura of garlic as you approach the front door. The cute tables out front and the warm atmosphere inside make this a delight. The food is tantalizing and the service is top notch. Enjoyment for everyone!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement