Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Vail Valley Restaurants

Sweet Basil

Updated 10/02/2013

Fodor's Review

The decor may be understated—dark-wood chairs and buff-colored walls—but the contemporary cuisine is anything but. The freshest seasonal ingredients available are used, so the menu changes about once a month. You might find grilled Muscovy duck breast with pistachio salsa verde and smoked-cherry gastrique, or Berkshire pok rib eye with tapioca corn pudding and chanterelle mushrooms. Pair these entrées with one of the hundreds of wines from the restaurant's

expansive cellar. Leave room for the luscious desserts.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

193 E. Gore Creek Dr., Vail, Colorado, 81657, USA

Map It

Phone:

970-476–0125

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 10/02/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Jean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2013

Still the best

Fodor's doesn't list all of the good-to-great restaurants in Vail. Omitting Kelly Liken is ridiculous... Nevertheless, I think Sweet Basil is still the best. They've also opened a more casual option (Mountain Standard) on the floor below on the creek side.

By ColbyR

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2009

Sweet Basil Review

This place was the best dinner we've ever had!! The flavors were spot on. The service was friendly and professional. I love the hip feel of the bar. Great hang spot for the uber-wealthy. The highlight of our vacation.

By JACKHH

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2007

Best diner in Vail!

Everyone we met in Vail said we just HAD to go to Sweet Basel. So we did. The food was amaizing!! My fav dish was the buttermilk battered deep fried quail. -so good- The staff was friendly, the decor was beautiful and the food was awesome! Well worth every penny.

By nancy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2006

Ambience poor, food good, service mediocre

Worst cosmo ever. Wine list too extensive and staff unable to assist with wine list.

By Meg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 17, 2005

Basil's getting sloppy in her old age.

I really think the service is slipping at Sweet Basil, even at lunch time. My waiter brought me the wrong entree after he had figured it out that it was wrong and asked if I wanted it or what i'd ordered. It probably would have been better if he'd asked the chef to quickly make my right food and told the table, it'll be just another minute.

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2002

Great Groceries

Truly a gourmet dining experience! We have been dining here for years and the place is still improving with age....

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement