Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Denver Restaurants

Le Central

  • 112 E. 8th Ave. Map It
  • $$
  • French

Updated 10/01/2013

Fodor's Review

A real find, this homey bistro serves excellent mussel dishes and provincial French specialties, including beef bourguignonne (braised in red wine and garnished with mushrooms and onions), salmon en croûte (wrapped in pastry and baked), and steak au poivre. You can depend on Le Central for fabulous food, great service, and a surprisingly low tab. Weekend brunch is a big favorite.

Restaurant Information

Address:

112 E. 8th Ave., Denver, Colorado, 80203, USA

Map It

Phone:

303-863–8094

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 10/01/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Denver

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Lexma90

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 17, 2009

Le Central Review

We always have such a good time going to Le Central. It feels very French, and the food seems French to me; a substitute for being in France. I usually get the mussels, but the times I have gotten other dishes, I have found them all to be well-made and delicious.

By Jenn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 8, 2006

My favorite Brunch place.

I've been coming here for years and have never had bad service. I agree that the mussels are the best dish in house, but everything is good.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 15, 2005

Solid bistro food

Le Central is exactly right for a French bistro with very good, if not outstanding, traditional dishes. The mussel dishes are the best in town.

By Ryan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 11, 2003

Non Rendezvous a Le Central!

I would take your business elsewhere... Very rude, unprofessional, and did not take care of me as a client. The front receptionist said "sir, can't you see we are busy, can I help you?"... Next time I want a good French atmosphere, I will definately not be taking my business to Le Central...

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2002

Tres Bon!

Le Central offers good food at a great value. Always a nice place to take out of town guests! I have never been disappointed.

By Rafe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2002

French attitudes haven't changed

We were rudely greeted with an unhappy "have you been helped yet?" by a gal with auburn hair pulled back into a bun. "No, not yet" we replied. She curtly asked where we wanted to sit and I pointed at a nice window table. Unfortunately the table hadn't been turned yet. The hostess then snorted and literally threw the menus onto a nearby table. She quickly wiped the table and placed the silverware- without a knife for me. I felt uncomfortable at this

point and wanted to leave. I'm glad we stayed, as the mussles were fantastic. The rest of the meal was excellent as well. (The other staff members were very courteous and attentive)

Read More

By Alain

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2001

Still a great value.

Le Central's prices are, at times, incredibly low considering what you get. Even the wine list has surprisingly affordable offerings. A great, informal french bistro where you can get your "fix" of mussles and sometimes duck or rabbit, depending on the daily specials.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement