Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

The Southern Sierra Hotels

Tenaya Lodge

  • 1122 Hwy. 41 Map It
  • $$$$
  • Casual Chic

Pros

  • Rustic setting with modern comforts
  • Good off-season deals
  • Very close to Yosemite National Park

Cons

  • So big it can seem impersonal
  • Pricey during summer

Updated 05/05/2014

Fodor's Review

One of the region's largest hotels, Tenaya Lodge is ideal for people who enjoy wilderness treks by day but prefer creature comforts at night. The buildings and giant parking lot blend in somewhat with their woodsy surroundings. The lounge is striking, with high windows and lovely beams. The ample rooms are decorated in pleasant earth tones; deluxe rooms have minibars and other extras, while suites have balconies. The Sierra Restaurant, with its high ceilings and giant

fireplace, serves Continental cuisine; the more casual Jackalopes Bar & Grill has burgers, salads, and sandwiches.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1122 Hwy. 41, Fish Camp, California, 93623, USA

Map It

Phone:

559-683–6555; 888-514–2167

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 244 rooms, 6 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/05/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Sights

See all hotels in The Southern Sierra

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2012

High Cost in the Low Sierras

I have been to Tenaya Lodge 3 times; this third time was for a 3 day conference. The first time, it was relatively new and a very nice and inexpensive option when Yosemite Valley is sold out. The second time, the employees had just taken over ownership, and it was more expensive, and starting to get a bit dated, but remained a nice alternative to the Valley. It IS a 40 minute trek to the Valley, but it is certainly better than nothing. This time,in

May, we stayed in the main building, which is leaps and bounds more upscale than the outlying buildings (the latter do have that motel vibe to them). Even though I wasn't paying, I was absolutely SHOCKED at what is being charged for a room. OK, the parking and the wifi are not extra (always a plus in my book!), and OK, the rooms have been nicely updated with upscale toiletries, but this was yet another hotel where they did not each day replenish the room with more soap, shampoo and other stuff I either used up or tucked away (as, you know, we ALL do!) in my bag. Still, that does NOT make up for what was being charged. I'm giving service 5 stars primarily because the people that work there are so nice vs. being on time with the service. For example, we had cocktails in our room with some of our conference friends. We had to ask 3 times and wait over 30 minutes to get someone to bring us 6 glasses. I finally went over to the bar and got some myself. Then, they were never taken away, and I finally took them all back to the bar to get them out of the way. The grounds are beautiful, and it is a wonderful place to either bring a bike to ride, or rent one of the bikes they have there. The inside pool was great, but packed. We did NOT get to use the outdoor pool this time. Unforunately, they were remodeling the outdoor pool -- getting ready for summer, I guess. Since it was incredibly hot when we were there, it would have been really nice to have had the opportunity to use the pool and see if they still had the music piped into the pool (that can only be heard when one is swimming underwater). That used to be one of my favorite features about this property! Here is my advice: since the cost of a room is getting really close to the Ahwahnee prices, and you have to spend gas money driving to and from Yosemite Valley, there's absolutely no reason why one would NOT stay at the Ahwahnee if they have room.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 7, 2008

A Worn out Super 8 at the Yosemite Gate, for $250

This is an ugly hotel of a ridiculous design; for instance, it is impossible to navigate from one wing to another without walking through the pool. The regular rooms will remind you of a worn Super 8. The Sierra restaurant served me the only inedible dinner I have ever been served in my 60 years--at a premier San Francisco Restaurant price. The waitress was kind enough to warn other guests not to order the special I had, but the substitute dinner

they provided was not much better. Had to run the fan all night to mask the noise from above, the halls, and rooms adjoining. The suites may have balconies, but there are only a few of those. Maybe I just got a bad room but it had a view of a sewer pipe with trash strew about it. Most of the rooms look at a parking lot. Get set for company--this is a conference center as well as a hotel. Glad my company never put anything on here. This is a grossly overpriced place belongs in Winnemucca. NEVER AGAIN.

Read More

By Luvero

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2007

Immaculate, Expensive

This is a really nice property but with small common areas that give it a noisy, crowded feel. The Jackalope Grill was a lovely spot (outdoor patio very charming), but the food and service were run of the mill. The pool area was jammed. Room was of average size but immaculate and very comfortably appointed. A nice spot but not a great value.

By Lori

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2005

What a Disappointment!

The three biggest deficiencies were poor customer service, poorly trained employees, and ineffective room management. When we confirmed our reservation prior to our arrival, we were told we would have no trouble getting connecting rooms since we have two young children. When we checked in, we asked again if the rooms were connecting and they said yes. However, when we got to the rooms, we found they were adjacent but not connecting. So we called

down to see if they made a mistake. Here is where it gets bizarre. They admitted that they just gave out the real connecting room a couple of hours before and that there were no connecting rooms left in the entire property. When we complained and asked to speak with a manager, the woman lied twice - once to disavow ever saying that she told us the rooms were connecting upon check-in and again to say that she never told us about giving away the other room a few hours earlier. So we asked to escalate to a manager. The woman who represented herself as the manager was rude. Later, during our stay, she was the person who was answering the phone as the "operator" - not a manager (you can draw your own conclusion). We asked then to speak to the general manager but were told he was unavailable all weekend. We asked for his voicemail, were given a phone number (most likely an incorrect one) which no one ever answered. This was our first hour at the so-called resort! Throughout the stay we encountered late, hung-over activities desk personnel (who explained her repeated difficulties with a scowl and "I'm really not a morning person"), ridiculous nickel-and-dime fees for making dinner reservations in their own dining room, etc. On the plus side, the restaurant food and service was excellent. Given that the inconvenient location requires a one-hour+ drive each way to get into the Yosemite valley floor area and all of the above problems, we'll definitely stay at the customer service-oriented Ahwahnee hotel next time.

Read More

By Claudia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2005

Noisy children

Overall pleasant, but too many young screaming, whining and crying kids. The pool/spa areas were virtually unusable by adults who didn't HAVE to be there to watch their own kids. Similar experiences in the lobby and restaurants. I would not go back unless I had kids in tow.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2005

Interesting Stay

We booked a suite months in advance. When we checked in, we were placed in a suite next to a suite under construction. The bellman handling our bags immediately knew there was a problem. A call to front desk indicated that they did not know the construct was going on and that they believed only the carpets were being cleaned. Their solution was to move us over one suite, not a lot of help. In the end, after work till 9:00 PM each night, we were

comp'd our rooms. With that I will stay there again. The food and service was excellent. There is a snow trail right out the back of the hotel, as well as another only a mile away and the location to Yosemite is great.

Read More

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2004

Not A Resort

This is not a resort, as advertised on the web page. the check-in service was extremly slow, the deli is only open early morning and late evening, so we could not get lunch. The entire hotel was showing age, and should be updated. It is very inconvenient to get to the wing we were staying at, you had to go up, pass through the indoor pool area, then go in another elevator to your floor. On the web page they state that there are miles of walking trails,

and there were none. Go elsewhere for half the price!

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2004

Liked it!

Pricey and almost worth it. Part of what you buy is it's location. Great staff, nice facility. Yes, lots of families. Would stay here again . . . if we can still afford it. :)

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2002

Great Recovery!

We made reservations for our family for an extended double deluxe room for three nights; which somehow was turned into a one night reservation, which we found out the day we were leaving for the Lodge. Tami at the reservation desk, did some quick thinking and put us in the Honeymoon suite for the two missing nights at no additional charge. My wife said the housekeeping service was the cleanest she had ever experienced. We had a great mountain guide

for our rock climbing experience. Overall, we would return...a great family-oriented place.

Read More

By tom

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2002

very good

it was very nice

By ann

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2002

good for families; not for romance

just spent 2 days there, and it is a fine, Marriott style resort. It was packed with families. Our room was very clean, a standard double, nothing special about it, but fine. The breakfast buffet, which came with our AAA price of $179 was very good, our evening meal at the fancier restaurant was average at best and very pricey.

By Ray

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2002

Comfortable but a bit far from the park

We stay here every year around the holidays. Great place for families with small kids. If you don't like kids better go elsewhere. A good 45 minute to 1 hour drive to Park attractions. Rooms are pretty standard Marriott style rooms. Food was much improved this year although a bit pricey. Nice lobby area with big fireplace gets pretty crowded and noisy. If that bothers you try the awhwanee for more room to seek peace and quiet.

By emma

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2001

The worst service and food

The hotel room itself was ok - clean but with bad quality sheets and pillows. The restaurants are extremely overpriced for what you get ( you are better off having dinner in Oakhurst) and the service is very poor - worse than the service in Europe.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2001

Nice place but far from the park . . .

We stayed here for 3 nights in early April 2000. Our room was huge and really nice for the price we got. The hot tub and indoor pool were great after long days of hiking. The restaurant is casual and not too pricey. We ordered room service every night becasue of the limited dining options in the area, and it was quite convenient and good. The only reason we wouldn't stay here again is the 30-45 minute drive into the park along winding roads --

too much if you plan to spend every day in the park!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement