Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Restaurants

Slanted Door

Updated 05/05/2014

Fodor's Review

If you're looking for homey Vietnamese food served in a down-to-earth dining room at a decent price, don't stop here. Celebrated chef-owner Charles Phan has mastered the upmarket, Western-accented Vietnamese menu. To showcase his cuisine, he built a big space with sleek wooden tables and chairs, white marble floors, a cocktail lounge, a bar, and an enviable bay view. Among his popular cult dishes are green-papaya salad, daikon rice cakes, cellophane crab noodles,

chicken clay pot, and shaking beef (tender beef cubes with garlic and onion). They don't come cheap, but they're made with quality ingredients. The restaurant has also become a regular stop for those who appreciate finely made cocktails, many of them created by star bartender Erik Adkins. To avoid the midday and evening crowds (and to save some bucks), dine at the bar, drop by for afternoon tea (2:30–4:30), or visit Out the Door, Phan's take-out counter around the corner.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Ferry Bldg., Embarcadero at Market St., San Francisco, California, 94111, USA

Map It

Phone:

415-861–8032

Restaurant Details:

  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/05/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all restaurants in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By bosco50

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2011

Slanted Door Review

Though it is true that the setting is great and the people watching is better this restaurant lacks the many of the basics that make a dining experience enjoyable. From the moment of entering the service gave an air of distain for the clientele. I noticed this not just with us but with others entering the restaurant. The host, who made no greeting or acknowledgement of our presence, barely eked out the word “two”. Our server again indifferent

to our being there, when asked what she recommended she pointed to the most expensive thing on the menu. We then asked what the difference was between two appetizers that had the same ingredience said “they’re different” which came out more like “what are you idiots?” My wife requested a substitution of chicken for pork on one of the meals, which by the way was an entre further down on the menu, no that could not be done. That was the last we saw of our server until the desert menus were plopped in front of us. Then the bill and a whisper of the word thank you. We enjoy Vietnamese cuisine and have had it in a variety of cities but found the appetizer greasy and the entrées bland. The total experience was very disappointing.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2007

Nouveau Vietnamese in a Ultra Modern Setting

I was surprised with the other reviews of this restaurant. I thought the atmosphere, modern and sleek on the water, was very nice and I didn't find it overly loud. I only had the noodles and crab and eggplant as a side, but thought both dishes were good and reasonably priced.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2006

What??? (I couldn't hear you...)

Having heard of The Slanted Door for YEARS, I looked forward to our first dinner with S. American friends. Alas...we were disappointed. 1st...the place is LOUD....way too loud to have a relaxed conversation. 2nd...I was expecting a better, upscale interior design...but was greeted with a typical (meaning cheap, spartan) Asian cafe. All that was missing was industrial fluorescent lights and chairs with plastic seat covers. Oh...and the waterfront

view of...2 long piers. How exciting. The food and wine. Was ok...but nothing to get enthusiastic...much less excited...about. The bill for 4 people (including 2 btls of wine) was $250. Which was about 50% higher than what it deserved. We'll not go back again.

Read More

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2006

Fun with a view

We enjoyed the view and the food but the service was sloppy. The volume is way up sp find another spot if you want conversation.

By George

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 1, 2006

Sure, I'll Pay $40 For a Bowl of Rice

What a ripoff. Four-star prices for half-decent food. Undoubtedly, the view is great. But come on, take an adventure and try something new, like Sunflower or Yummy Yummy, Vietnamese restaurants that don't charge outrageous prices.

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2005

Not great

Very expensive mediocre Vietnamese food. You can find better food at a pho shop in a strip mall. The portions are adequate but not generous. I don't get the hype over this place. Totally over-rated!

By Hugh

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 24, 2005

Slanted Door has Fallen Shut

This place has jumped the shark. In its third SF incarnation, Slanted Door's service has become robotic (all tattoos and attitude, as one friend put it), the food serviceable but certainly not worth $100 a head, and the room noisy and frankly ugly. Go to a real San Francisco find like Bacar; this place, as of April 2005, is gonzo.

By Lewis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2004

Make Your Reservations and Go!

Every table has a view. Flavor explodes from every dish. Tired of wine? This place has a TEA list that is world class. Slanted Door deserves every great review it has gotten.

By LisaO

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 19, 2003

Perfect

One of the best meals of my life, atmosphere not the best but the food is so good you won't care.

By Kyle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2002

Taste bud heaven

Amazing earthy real food. Try everything, and share share share! its all good.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement