Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Hotels

Best Western Hotel California

Pros

  • Reasonably priced
  • Just a few blocks from Union Square

Cons

  • Somewhat dicey area—especially at night
  • Smallish dark rooms
  • Tight baths

Updated 03/15/2013

Fodor's Review

A highly polished mahogany facade beckons you into the former Savoy Hotel, a 1913 building whose Western-style lobby with yellow-pane windows and oversize red-leather chairs recalls Gold Country hotels. Guests are greeted with a cold tequila shot—a real welcome to California. Traditional and modern comforts abound, including goose-down pillows and puffy featherbeds with 400-thread-count sheets. Suites have parlor rooms with a sofa and chair, a marble-top coffee table, and a large desk. Although all rooms at this Best Western property have been updated with amenities like flat-screen TVs and modern window shutters, they can still feel a bit closed in; small, dated baths and tiny closets add to this sensation. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese are served in the lobby, and the food at the hotel's Millennium Restaurant is so delicious that it's hard for many to believe that it's vegan (no meat or dairy).

Hotel Information

Address:

580 Geary St., San Francisco, California, 94102, USA

Map It

Phone:

415-441–2700; 800-780–7234; 800-227–4223

Hotel Details:

  • 70 rooms, 12 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/15/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2005

You get what you pay for

Our suite - dirty carpet, moldy coffee maker. Room smelled like smoke. No AC. We had a leak one day in the bath and they sent a lame kid to do what a plumber should have been called to do. The staff was not particularly helpful. Never explained the facilities to us upon arrival (ie-Internet access for guests). Convenient theatre district location, but I'd never stay there again.

By Peggy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2003

Used to be Lovely

Have stayed here three or four times before, always had a great time for a great price. But, with the dot-com bust, the restaurant is gone and the place is looking very down-in-the-mouth. It used to be a great buy, but I won't go back until they have a remodel.

By Renee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2003

Bum Rap for the Savoy

After having booked a week at the Savoy for around $500, I was most unhappy to read several extremely negative reviews on this site. We found the Savoy to be clean, convenient, and charming. Visitors familiar with European-style hotels will be most at home. I'd give it a 2 thumbs up and go back in a heartbeat.

By Martin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2003

It won me over

I had booked my room through the internet and was a little worry about staying there because of what I read in Fodor's! I checked in and my room was a little small. But the hotel offered me an upgrade room for just a few more dollars. The room had new carpet, lovely bay windows and a CD player and robe in my room. And I had a great nice's sleep in that great feather bed. I also enjoyed their wine reception in the afternoon - great chance to unwind

and chat with the staff about restaurant recommendations. Great, relaxing time!

Read More

By Melinda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2003

DON"T Stay Here

Smelly, gross, dirty. No air conditioning!!!! I was scared to death! Would not stay here for $10 a night.

By Mimi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2003

You get what you pay for!

I stayed here in October 2002. I was looking for a charming hotel for a good price, but you get what you pay for. The room was small, but it was relatively clean. It's what you'd expect in a hotel in Europe. The decor was nice, but the carpet was dirty. My biggest complaint was the noise! If your room faces the street and you have your windows open at night, be prepared! Overall, the staff at the front desk wasn't anything special. The hotel

seemed a little "rundown" and depressing.

Read More

By Bev

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 9, 2002

This place stinks -- literally!

I spent three nights here in November, 2002, mostly on the recommendations from previous guests found on this site. What a mistake. The lobby has a putrid smell which extends to the fourth floor where I was given a very tiny, very filthy room. I knew I had made a mistake when I happened to bump into the bedside table (a pressboard contraption covered with fabric to hide its cheap construction) unveiling an aspirin and a hairball from some other

unfortunate guest. The carpet was covered in stains, the coffee maker did not work, the t.v. had very poor reception and my computer could not get past the telephone system. Luckily, there is a business centre in the hotel which offers 24 hour internet service, but there was usually a line-up. The adjoining restaurant is closed, but they offer a free wine and cheese every afternoon. I decided to pass when I saw the bubbles in the cheap white wine. I was awakened at 2:30 by some exhuberant neighbours screaming in the hallway outside my door and was called at 12:02pm the next day to be told that check out was at 12 NOON! This was just after I had discovered a pair of prescription eyeglasses belonging to a former guest on the side of the bed which I had not used. If you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to stay, I suggest looking somewhere else.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2002

Charming is thy name

The Savoy is a romantic, smaller hotel with graciousness spelled out everywhere. Even the color scheme is atmospheric. I gave the room a 4 because it was on the small side. For a 3-star hotel, it is a 4. The front desk even was helpful to all those non-guests who would pop in for directions.

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2002

The Perfect Weekend Getaway

We stayed in a suite and were extremely comfortable! The staff was very helpful with directions, advice and restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was nice for the days we didn't want to get up early and the wine and cheese was a lovely way to end the afternoon of sightseeing. Great location for all of the places we wanted to go. The bathrobes were a nice touch too!

By Tina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2002

A Truly Romantic Escape

Our first visit to San Francisco was for our honeymoon last Fall. The location was ideal, convenient to just about everything. Our room, though not grand in size, was very luxurious and very clean. The featherbed-topped mattress inspired us to purchase a featherbed of our own at home! The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially the charming head bellman! We loved the complimentary breakfast at the Brasserie. It was such a nice change to have

REAL food for breakfast rather than the standard pastries and juice. We greatly enjoyed the wine and cheese reception as well.

Read More

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2002

Smelly and small

From the moment we set foot in the depressing and abandoned (no more restaurant) lobby, we were disappointed. The entire hotel smelled like mold, our room was cheerless, decrepit, smelly (again), noisy, and small. The staff was unable to recommend a nearby restaurant, the wine reception served pretty bad wine & breakfast was boring (a little fresh fruit wouldn't hurt). We could have stayed at any number of better hotels for nearly the same price -

and next time, we will.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement