Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Hotels

Westin St. Francis

  • 335 Powell St. Map It
  • Grande Dame

Pros

  • Fantastic beds
  • Prime Union Square location
  • Spacious rooms, some with great views

Cons

  • Some guests comment on the long wait at check-in
  • Rooms in original building can be small
  • Glass elevators are not for the faint of heart

Updated 05/05/2014

Fodor's Review

The survivor of two major earthquakes, some headline-grabbing scandals, and even an attempted presidential assassination, this grande dame that dates to 1904 remains ever above the fray—richly appointed, serenely elegant, and superbly located. The hotel is comprised of the landmark building (Empire-style furnishings, Victorian moldings) and a modern 32-story tower (Asian-inspired lacquered furniture, glass elevators); guests are divided when it comes to the virtues of

the modern addition versus the historic building. Adding to the air of upscale sophistication is the cool chic of Michael Mina's classy Bourbon Steak restaurant and a new cocktail lounge, Clock Bar, as well as the venerable Oak Room Restaurant, Chateau Montelena tasting room, and Caruso's café and lounge.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

335 Powell St., San Francisco, California, 94102, United States

Map It

Phone:

415-397–7000; 800-917–7458

Hotel Details:

  • 1,157 rooms, 38 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/05/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 25, 2012

Heart of the City but not worth the price

Its in the middle of all the action of Union Square but the decor is dated. If staying in the older building, it will be VERY NOISY. I had to go out and buy earplugs. The elevators in the older building took FOREVER to arrive so we ended up walking all around looking for the stairs. The stairs are really hard to find from the lobby level.

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2005

Good place to stay on Union Square

We stayed in the old part of the hotel--the room was big and nicely decorated, of course, with the wonderful Westin beds. No view, but didn't care. The only bad thing was check-in--the wait was over 20 minutes even in the Starwood Preferred line. The regular line was huge, and the people in it were getting very grouchy. Location is great--you can get a $9.00 pass for all day to ride the cable cars, buses, and streetcars and go anywhere. Didn't

eat at the restaurants. Too many other great options closeby, including Chinatown.

Read More

By Cynthia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2003

Herded Like 1st Class Cattle

Although we were upgraded to a suite with a great view of Union Square-it was a smoking room and the hallways absolutely wreaked. And ANOT of noise could be heard from the hallways. Check-In was miserably slow (it felt like I was at the DMW). Valet parking is a whopping $40 a day plus tips and they are not exactly "speedy". So ONLY bring a vehicle if you absolutely HAVE to. Room service trays were left in the hallways for 24 hours-it actually began

to smell. I must say Westin's "Heavenly Beds" are the best in any hotel I have stayed at, but I would not stay at the St Francis again.

Read More

By Sally

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2002

Very Historic

I stayed at the Westin in July and had a wonderful time. The price was a steal by booking on line. The room was nice and clean. Check in and check out went smoothly and without any problems. The location near everything was very convienient since I didn't have a car. I enjoyed it so much that I will be staying at the Essex House (a Westin Hotel) in New York over the holidays.

By Martin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2002

Nice location, lousy service, horrible Westin!

Stayed twice, once in an older room, once in the tower. The rooms are nice, the older was gigantic and the tower was very modern with a terrific view. Unfortunately the hotel has some of the worst service I have ever had. Extremely, ridiculously crowded. Valet in their garage made me park my own car 3 blocks away in a parking garage at my own expense because their garage was full. Excuse me, is that my problem? Unfortunately the manager of this

dump of a Westin thought so.

Read More

By cd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2002

St Francis needs St Christopher

Well, if the patron saint of travelers were to visit this place, he'd say they don't make them like this anymore and that's a good thing, because with its high ceilings and chandeliers in even the tiniest room, this place really was something. But, unfortunately, its time has come and gone and the only good thing is the location. Otherwise, I didn't want to go back to the room.

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 8, 2001

Begging for towels

We've stayed there several times, but have had terrible service the last 2 times & we'll never stay there again. One time they lost our reservation and we had to argue with the nasty clerk for 45 minutes even though I had brought our confirmation # with us, she got the manager at my request and he FINALLY gave us a decent room. Last time we were there was at Christmas time and apparantly they were short of help b/c we kept asking for clean towels

and weren't able to get any. For what they charge for a room at the Westin, the service should be impeccable.

Read More

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2001

A memorable stay

I have nothing but good things to say about my last visit to the St. Francis. Due to the fact I am a member of their frequent guest program the check in was a breeze due to a dedicated check-in area (the regular line did creep down the hall though!!) I was upgraded to a very good size corner room in the tower with an awesome view of the golden gate bridge and the city. Within moments of arriving in the room a welcome gift was delivered. Whether

I phoned or visited the front desk the service was responsive and professional. Parking was a bit expensive but probably average for the city. I would stay at this location again.

Read More

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2001

Romance Rekindled at St. Francis

What a wonderfully romantic vacation was spent at this historic hotel in the heart of gorgeous San Francisco. Ask for a room in the remodeled tower; ours had a splendid view! Rather roomy, too, for the city, though the best was the "Heavenly Bed" from Westin. Lounge was fabulous for people-watching and high tea. Staff was very accomodating upon check-in. Wine store in lobby was convenient. We'd stay here again and again.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2000

St. Francis St. Schmancis

Gosh, I wonder if Westin staff made the previous comments! Just kidding, but I certainly didn't find the hotel to be great at all. I waited 36 minutes in a long line to check in, then had to deal with a very crabby front desk clerk! My "historic" room was very cramped and not well designed, but did have a nice (noisy) view of Union Square. In short, there are better values in San Francisco and as a frequent traveler to The City I'll use them!

By Lucy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2000

"Delightful as Southern Hospitality"

This hotel was a treat in every way. Though the newer part of the hotel offered a great view of the city, the older part, facing Union Square, offered the sights, and sounds and energy of San Francisco at a glance. One of the employees, (20 + years) took the time to give a tour and offer the history of the hotel. This hotel truly made the trip wonderful!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement