Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Restaurants

Fleur de Lys

  • 777 Sutter St. Map It
  • French

Updated 05/02/2013

Fodor's Review

The creativity of chef-owner Hubert Keller has brought every conceivable culinary award to this romantic spot. His three-, four-, and five-course prix-fixe menus (each course with many choices), priced from $75 to $98, include plenty of squab, lobster, and truffles to satisfy palates geared toward haute French dishes; even vegetarians are embraced with a meat-free tasting option for $75. Choosing some items will boost your tab, such as $82 extra for an ounce of domestic

osetra caviar, and even $6 extra for chocolate soufflé. Presentations can be playful, like the Fleurburger (a beignet with chocolate ganache) for dessert. The dining room, with its dramatic tented ceiling of 900 yards of draped and swathed fabric, is as showy as the food (and it's special-occasion central). Savvy world travelers may find the menu style to be stagnant, some of the dishes a bit odd (like truffled macaroni and cheese in brioche), and a few dishes miss the mark completely; but the busy dining room shows the affable Keller has many devoted fans.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

777 Sutter St., San Francisco, California, 94109, United States

Map It

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Sun. and Mon. No lunch
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/02/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2008

Nightmare

This was supposed to be a perfect summer dinner in a perfect restaurant, except we could never taste the food or appreciate the service, as the first minutes were also the last one spent at the table.We gave the car to the valet parking, who in fact looked more like a homeless than a **** valet, and realized quickly that we left a wallet in the car, after paying the toll at the GGbridge.We asked for the car right away, but the wallet was gone w/ 2000$,CC,

ID ...the evening was spent w/ the police and the manager ..anyway, wat was a big, big disapointment : the way the manager and owner handled the problem, just a few excuses and 2 glasses of champaign while doing the police report, no financial gesture, no invitation, no answer to the phone calls or fax sent back home ;they don't use their own valet parking, they hire a company, and they have no control on the employees.What a nightmare San Francisco became !

Read More

By orlew92

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2007

Romantic and elegant

We had a wonderful 3 course tasting with wine pairing. I ordered an appetizer that had mussels in it, but I am allergic. They quickly took it away and replaced it with another. We shared a cheese course and a dessert, chocolate souffle. It was plenty and delicious.

By marlene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2006

Pricey but Worth it!!

FAbulous Food. Fabulous Decor and Atmosphere

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 22, 2005

Best Room in the USA

People who dislike this restaurant should rethink their own attitudes. This place is comfortable and professional and relaxing -- if you are used to high-end places. The food is excellent and the service is a killer. The room is fantastic and I've seen young people there having a great time. Not stuffy at all!. That said, the place can be expensive!

By Lucy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2005

Poor service and condescending attitude

The food wasn't that great, either.

By Martin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2005

Jet lag

I went for dinner on the evening of my first day in S.F. I had booked months prior to my visit and was looking forward to a great meal. The restaurant is plush, decadent yet tranquil and the service all you would expect from a truly fine restaurant. We ordered the tasting menu with wines. The food & wines were superb, luxiurious and delicious. The only problem was me. I was exausted and in no fit state to complete my meal. The restaurant staff

were great and packed up petit fours to take away nor did they charge for the food or wine I was unable to eat. I only wish my reservation had been a day later. If I get the chance I will return.

Read More

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2004

Remember "bumper cars" at the fair?

Champagne? Complimentry at Campton Place, SF, and with a choice. Appetizers - after an hour! Wait staff of 7 for our table scurrying about w/ near collision next to our table. Halibut was excellent! Vegan soup also excellent!! Filet served a new way, i.e., cold! Waiter not nearly as cool as he thought!! Overall = overrated & overpriced. On 9/18/04

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2001

The presentation was like a work of art!

The presentation of the food on each plate was ingenious and like a work of art! The best food presentation I have seen anywhere! The quality of the food was excellent! The service was also on par with the best we have received.

By lane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2001

Tell Mickey what you need

Incredible place--high priced and highly worth it! You definately know where your money goes. Some of the finest dining anywhere--period. Head maitre'de (sp?) Mickey Clevinger does an outstanding first class job and knows the ins and outs of outstanding service like few else. If you truly want to be taken care of, go no further than here.

By Harry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2000

Hurry up! We've got people waiting!

Just went to Fleur De Lys to celebrate a birthday over the weekend. The main room is wonderful. Great centerpiece in the middle of the room. Although the service by the wait staff is great, we were rushed by "the management". Certainly, at these prices, no one should be rushed through the meal. At one point, one person in our party went to the restroom, and the waiter literally stood at our table until she returned so he could take her order as

soon as she got back. Of course, she wasn't ready, so they stood next to her until she was. Not good! The food was wonderful. Everything was very good, maybe even great. The portions are not the biggest, but I guess that means you'll have room for desert. Speaking of desert, all in all, it's the best part. The pastry chef is amazing. Don't miss desert. This place is expensive, you know that going in. Expect $125-?? a person depending on what you order and what you drink. To close, although it's a good meal, it's as if you are under pressure to get through it so the next person can eat. That's not right for this type of restaurant, in my opinion.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement