Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Restaurants

LuLu

  • 816 Folsom St. Map It
  • Mediterranean

Updated 04/30/2013

Fodor's Review

In its early years LuLu was a magnet for dot-commers, but now it seems to appeal more to business diners and conventioneers from nearby Moscone Center (although some locals still consider it a fave). Rustic cuisine that's easy for large groups to share are the custom here, like mixed antipasti platters (you pick three items); mussels roasted in an iron skillet; wood-oven roasted poultry, meats, and shellfish; nightly rotisserie specials; and a small selection of pizzas

and pastas. Main-course specials include a rotisserie-cooked option that changes daily; Friday brings spit-roasted suckling pig. Wine drinkers will appreciate the long list of choices by the glass. Note: when LuLu is packed, service can suffer.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

816 Folsom St., San Francisco, California, 94107, United States

Map It

Phone:

415-495–5775

Updated 04/30/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2007

visitors from boston

what a pleasant surprise; a different approach to menu choices and presentations. Really enjoyed the freshly grilled meats and terrific grilled pizza. Service was top notch; definitely a return destination.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2005

Fast service, not fast food

We ate in Lulu on 2 successive nights (a Thursday and a Friday night) and were not disappointed on either occasion - and with 2 teenage boys, that's high praise! This place really buzzes but despite the fact that it was full to capacity, service was excellent. And the food was really good - rosemary scented rotisserie chicken, savoury pizza (seafood), sea-bass in a mediterranean ratatouille / ragout etc. Everything was flavoursome, fresh and hot.

Highly recommended.

Read More

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2003

Great Pizza and Ravioli

We ate here twice on our recent visit, once for lunch and once for dinner. Both times we had our two year old daughter with us. The dining room can be loud during dinner, but we found the pepperoni pizza and roasted garlic and goat cheese ravioli made up for the noise. I agree with other reviewers that the waiters could be more attentive, but overall we enjoyed the food and would definitely come back here again.

By Teresa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2002

Good but not exceptional...

The food was touch and go. The gnocchi and chocolate cake were very good, but other dishes tended to be bland or looked better than they tasted. Worth going for the architecture and people watching, but I've had far better food in San Francisco elsewhere.

By Raymond

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2001

The Food Was As Bad As The Service

We were pretentiously snobbed into accepting a reservation at 10pm, we wanted to eat at 8pm. When we arrived, the restaurant was half empty. We had high expectations so we thought nothing of it. We sat down and waited 5 minutes before I managed to get the busboy to fetch our waiter. We spoked to our busboy more than our disinterested waiter. We ordered the rotisserie pork and the salmon, both were not worth the plates they were served on. The food

came alarmingly fast, as if someone had cancelled them, and passed on to us. The pork was dry and tasteless. The salmon was luke warm and bland. We could not wait for the desert. To our dissappointment, the creme broulee we ordered had a bitter burnt crust. It was a horrific experience from end to end. On top of that, parking in the area was non-existent. Two of us spent $60 for cold food and bad service. What else can I say except I will never eat there again.

Read More

By Keith

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2001

Fun Place

Loved the atmosphere. Loud and boisterous, but with flare. Food was terrific. Had Ahi that was made just to my liking. When you order a martini that will offer you a double. Any place that offers double martini's that are actually good, makes it in my book.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2000

Disappointing

Have had two dinners here. Some friends love it, but not my cup of tea. Always rather dark and very loud, even in the smaller side room, making dinner conversation a shouting match. Even trying a variety of menu items with a large group, I have found the food spotty, with too many items simply ordinary.

By Brad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 27, 2000

Grilled Meats With Attitude

If you'd like a little attitude with your meal, try LuLu. As soon as you walk in the door, you'll be greeted by a reception staff that has been consistently rude and obnoxious. I can say that the food is great, especially if you are there when they are grilling rabbit. The loud space can be overwhelming at times, but the family style platings lend to a festive feel. Food and wine service is less than average. If they could only lose the attitude

at the reception desk and improve the service...this would be a great place.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2000

Loud, Social, Not the romantic get-away!

We'd done the dinners for two, French, Seafood, etc. This place was a blast. Super grilled meats, wonderful salads, fresh veggies, well-balanced (and fairly priced) wine list. We got to know the folks sitting on either side of us, probably because we were all in a social mood, and when something at the next table looks extraordinary, why not ask about it! It was a very "hearty" meal, and the desserts were quite wonderful.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement