Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Restaurants

Fifth Floor

Updated 04/30/2013

Fodor's Review

A clubhouse for well-off diners, this swanky spot is tucked away in the Palomar Hotel. The kitchen has seen toques come and go in the last few years, but at least they've always been talented. And the latest to take the helm is chef David Bazirgan, bringing modern techniques and exciting ingredient combinations to the forefront. Dressed up in sandy beige walls, hardwood floors, sleek dark-wood tables, and modern club chairs, the dining room sets a stylish backdrop for

Contemporary American dishes like geoduck, surf and razor clam ceviche, uni flan, Brillat-Savarin ravioli, and tamarind-laquered duck breast. You can order dishes à la carte, but the menu is structured as a five-course affair ($95). The extensive wine list is also of note. If you want to dial down the expense, enjoy a burger or the excellent charcuterie plate in the more casual lounge next door to the dining room, along with well-made cocktails.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Palomar Hotel, 12 4th St., San Francisco, California, 94103, United States

Map It

Phone:

415-348–1555

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Sun. and Mon. No lunch

Updated 04/30/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2007

Over the Top

We had a business dinner in this restautant. The atmosphere and the staff is great, but the food is a bit overwrought. We had the chef testing menu (5 courses). The complimentary butternut squash soup was very good, but what followed were two "cured" raw fish dishes that I did not eat. The chef should be cognizant that there are many patrons who will not eat raw food. Next, the grilled salmon was very well done, but the the venison that followed

was rare. What is this obssession with raw meat? Dessert was uniformly excellent. Overall an acceptable experience for the exhorbitant prices. By the way, the wine list started at $65 per bottle.

Read More

By Jill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2003

BEWARE

Although this used to be an excellent place, the chef has changed and the food is awful! If you want to spend over $100/person, spend it somewhere else!

By Emily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2003

so boring

this place just simply isn't that great. the waitstaff was arrogant and the food was boring. save your money for another restaurant!

By Curtis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2002

Creative and elegant fine dining

Dishes were extremely creative and the service was excellent. Pricey but well worth it for a special occasion.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 6, 2002

Snot: both the food and the service

How the sommelier won awards is beyond me. He couldn't recommend a wine to go with both duck and venison (nor could he recommend anything by the glass). The wine he finally came up with was so bad we only drank half the bottle. Our waiter actually did better and gave me a glass of something passable. My table wasn't ready when I arrived for an 8:30 reservation and we had to wait for half an hour & I had to wait with a "charming" young lady who informed

me she "hates" new money. (what?!?!) The table of middle-aged midwesterners with their escort service dates were also pretty bad. Worst waste of $300 (dinner for two) of my life.

Read More

By Angela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2001

Appalling service ruins the food

I was so disappointed in our meal at the Fifth Floor which came highly recommended. The service was dreadful, they removed plates before we had finished and generally rushed us through the meal which is unacceptable at a restaurant of this calibre. Several other friends have had the same experience good food ruined by poorly trained wait staff. I would not risk it again/

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement