Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Restaurants

Greens

Updated 05/05/2014

Fodor's Review

Owned and operated by the San Francisco Zen Center, this nonprofit vegetarian restaurant gets some of its fresh produce from the center's organic Green Gulch Farm. Floor-to-ceiling windows give diners a sweeping view of the Marina and the Golden Gate Bridge. Despite the lack of meat, hearty dishes from chef Annie Somerville—shepherd's pie with wild mushrooms, for example, or the vegetable brochette plate—really satisfy. Other standouts include thin-crust pizza with

local cheese, potato, and grilled onions, and the salads are something special, especially the wilted spinach salad with croutons, feta, and olives. An à la carte menu is offered on Sunday and weeknights, but on Saturday a $56 four-course prix-fixe dinner is served. Weekend brunch is a good time to watch boaters on the bay. A small counter just inside the front door stocks sandwiches, soups, and sweets for easy takeout, and it's open in the morning.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Bldg. A, Fort Mason, enter across Marina Blvd. from Safeway, San Francisco, California, 94123, USA

Phone:

415-771–6222

Restaurant Details:

  • No lunch Mon.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/05/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Laurie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2006

Worse than any Dining Experience I have ever had!!!!

I don't usually write reviews but I felt compelled to try to save others from spending a lot of money on really bad food. I am from New Orleans. We evacuated due to Katrina and became vegetarians after cleaning our freezer due to no power for 1 1/2 months.We just came back from a much needed vacation to beautiful California. The only negative experience was at Greens. This was by far the worst food my partner and I have ever had in our lives! It was

cold, & tasteless, We had two main entrees and one appetizer. We brought our own bottle of wine and the check was $82. The corkage fee was $15 but the white wine was never placed in a cooler and we poured it ourselves. The server was rarely seen.The tortillas on the two enchiladas were hard . The beans were very cold . My partner had Curry but couldn't even eat it....It was bland and cold. Our appetizer was advertised as different cheeses with warm walnut bread. There were three small pieces of cold walnut bread. Each piece was the size of a 1/4 piece of toast presented with two small squares of two cheeses.Very small portions and Horrible.We're still upset!

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2005

A Study in Mediocrity

In a town with such good dining, this place is a standout in being completely unexceptional. Service was friendly and first rate but with little exception our food was merely adequate and relatively expensive considering the lack of creativity. If you decide to go here I recommend going only at lunch to enjoy the view.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2004

Vegie food that matches the wonderful view

Greens has been in business for 25 years, and has approached the status of a San Francisco institution. But don't think this means it is resting on its laurels. I have eaten at Greens occasionally since it opened in 1979, and the cooking has never been better.

By Julia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2004

Vegetarian's Disappointment

I think Kobe Beef gets fed better! What a huge disappointment for a vegetarian restaurant. The presentation lacked any sort of art form. The food wasn't anything to rave about, in fact it wasn't anything special with the exception of the fresh figs. I felt cheated when I left and had a stomach ache all through the night. Not to mention I brought a non vegetarian, in hopes to turn them on to a new cusine. Care to Guess the results?

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2003

Greens was Great

We had a fabulous dinner at Greens in May, 2003. The food and service were great and the view from our table by the window was exceptional

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2002

Greens has wilted

Long one of my favorite restaurants in the country and a mecca for vegetarians, Greens, I'm sad to report, has wilted - but still is a destination. We ate here about 6 months before our more recent visit, and the choices were virtually the same. The wonderful selection of breads and spreads which once graced the table from Tassahara is now supplanted by mediocre Italian bread and ordinary butter. The legendary salads are now only good - my "wilted

spinach salad" was crisp, and the waited told me the chef agreed with my complaint, but nothing was offered for compensation. The entrees, as on our last visit, had too many ingredients all mushed together [such as a dry and plain masa harina tart despite the wonderful-sounding ingredients]. The desserts were fair: my chocolate pot-du-creme was more a mild chocolate pudding than a dense and intense chocolate. The wine pairings turned out to be way overpriced [$26], especially since each of the 3 glasses is not a full glass but a tasting. Stick to wines by the glass or bottle. The setting, especially at sunset, remains spectacular [book a window table], and it remains a place I will revisit. Go with lowered expectations and on a weeknight to avoid the limited prix-fixe menu, choose your own wines, and you'll have a very good experience.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement