Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Hotels

Westin San Francisco Market Street

Pros

  • Good location
  • Clean rooms

Cons

  • Some street noise
  • Lots of convention and corporate business types

Updated 05/02/2013

Fodor's Review

Rising 36 stories over the bustling downtown and SoMa areas, this hotel revels in its views. Bright, airy rooms have floor-to-ceiling windows. Floors 16 to 34 overlook Yerba Buena Gardens, the city, the bay, and the hills beyond; others peer between the tall, looming edifices of the Financial District (though some of these also glimpse the Golden Gate Bridge, the bay, or Alcatraz). Back on earth, the renovated lobby is home to the new MaSo Restaurant. Rooms feature Westin's

Heavenly beds and traditional tech-centered amenities for business travelers. A room with a treadmill or stationary bike is available.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

50 3rd St., San Francisco, California, 94103, USA

Map It

Phone:

415-974–6400; 877-222–6699

Website: www.westin.com

Hotel Details:

  • 641 rooms, 26 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/02/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2008

New Name --- Westin

I am currently at the hotel, which is now branded as a Westin Hotel (Westin at Market). The bed is comfortable, the view is nice downtown/city lights, with floor to ceiling windows. Valet is $42 a day, plus tax, seems a bit outragous, but I guess the is SFO, and allow at least 15 minutes for the valet to fetch your car. The front desk, had one person on staff during the prime check in time, and got backed up and frustrated due to the lack of staff.

I called to request a refidgerator, it's been two hours, no luck yet. The 36 inch flat screen TV is nice, however you would think in a supposed 4 star property, there would be more then basic cable, I had anticpated a bit more. I would recommend one of the historic hotels over this one anyday! No Vcr's in room as the bio on the side bar states. Also the windows are thin, I am on the 14th floor, and hear everything from the street.

Read More

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2006

Hidden Jewel of a hotel close to everything

I've stayed at this property several times for business. The rooms I've had have always been immaculate and quite large. The last stay was on the 34th floor and the view was incredible. The service in the lounge is outstanding. I actally ended up eating at the bar and the food was quite good. The wait staff in the lounge were very attentive and made my stay very pleasurable! I try to always stay here when its available. I did find out this property

has been sold and will become the Westin San Francisco. I'm not sure if that's a good thing or not, but at least I'd get points.

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2002

Even with empty rooms they still won't upgrade you!

A pretty good hotel which could be a lot better with creative management. Roght now it's kind of like a Holiday Inn Metro.

By Marcia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2002

What a great buy!

I loved the Argent Hotel. The location is excellent, the staff is extremely professional and helpful, the rooms are tastefully furnished and are extremely clean. The health club is really nice too. I felt like I should have paid a lot more for my room. I highly recommend this hotel.

By michele

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2002

Nice Rooms, Better Location

I stayed at The Argent for three nights in April 2001. The hotel was crowded when I checked in and the clerk gave me a room with a double bed intended for disabled guests, even though my reservation specifically stated a King room. No apology, no warning- he just seemed to hope I wouldn't make a fuss, and could not move me until the next day. Other than that, I did enjoy my stay. Once the initial error was corrected I thought the room was nicely

decorated and very comfortable, and the bathroom was decently sized. The location was great- so close to Union Square, but just a bit removed so that it didn't feel too touristy or noisy. Short walk to the terrific SF MOMA is a definite plus. If you book on the internet and don't pay more than $200 a night for a weekend stay, I'd consider it a bargain. Parking is outrageous, though, even for SF- definitely leave the car at home.

Read More

By Deborah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2001

I Love SF

We stayed at the Argent for the first time this past weekend. We've stayed in a broad range of San Francisco Hotels during the past ten years -- from the elegant Mandarin Oriental to the tiny Inn at the Opera. This is the first hotel room I ever stayed in that I felt was actually dirty. The room was fine, except for this point (though I second the comment about the tiny bathroom area). From the dirty basin area, to the dirty, grimy headboard,

to the scuffed up door, it appears that management is not paying attention to upkeep, or housekeeping. Service was good, except for the mistakes made on our checkout record -- but the staff did quickly correct them when they were pointed out. The location of the hotel is convenient to the SFMOMA and Union Square shopping. However, it wouldn't be my first choice of hotel again.

Read More

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 26, 2001

Genuine Comfort and Convenience

I travel to San Francisco every couple of months and the Argent has become my first choice. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed, the service is excellent, the food is good and the location is convenient to every place you'd want to go in downtown SF.

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2001

Great from Bottom to Top

The Argent is a class act. From the moment we checked in, we found friendly, helpful staff, beautiful furnishings, and comfortable rooms. Opt for the executive level for an extra $50 -- it's well worth it. Not only do you get a lovely view from the 33rd floor with breakfast, but you can go to the lounge at any time of day for refreshments. In the evening, there's a small but excellent-quality cocktail buffet (sushi one night, pates the next --

wow), and at night, dessert with liqueurs. You'll also be delighted with the charming concierge, Phillipe. In the room, I was especially appreciative of the down pillows and comforters, and the regular blanket that was covered on top and bottom to protect you from feeling as if you were "in touch with" the previous guest.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement