Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Hotels

San Francisco Marriott Marquis

Pros

  • Stunning views from some rooms
  • In the cultural district
  • Centered on business travelers

Cons

  • Pricey parking
  • Noisy lobby
  • Rooms fill quickly during conferences

Updated 05/02/2013

Fodor's Review

The distinctive design of this 40-story hotel has been compared to a parking meter and a jukebox—and after a massive renovation in 2013—the public spaces and guest rooms have received attention as well. The centerpiece of the lobby area is a five-story, glass-top atrium enclosing a dining court; this serves as a quiet space for convention-goers to work, or an event area. There's a Starbucks in the lobby as well as Bin 55, a low-lit bar, and Mission Grill steakhouse. The top-floor View lounge has huge, fan-shaped windows with stunning views of the city. Look for artwork by Richard Diebenkorn and other major artists installed throughout the hotel, which is close to the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Yerba Buena Gardens complex. Renovated rooms, decorated in tasteful neutrals consistent with the Marriott brand, cater to the business set with a host of technological amenities, ergonomic chairs, city views, and wide desks.

Hotel Information

Address:

55 4th St., San Francisco, California, 94103, USA

Map It

Phone:

415-896–1600

Hotel Details:

  • 1,498 rooms, 134 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/02/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 11, 2003

Not that kind of service in S.F.

San Francisco has always been a city where I go to relax and enjoy the atmosphere of friendly people. Service at S.F. Marriott was worst I've ever experience anywhere.

By Micah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2003

Great on the surface...but

If you could secure one of the rennovated rooms, great; though the bed was a little firm for my comfort. Rooms were poorly insulated for noise; I could hear my neighbors late at night and housekeeping talking in the halls early in the morning. The rooms that have not been rennovated are just plain depressing (dark colors and dreary). Hit and miss with service. Some of the front desk people are extremely courteous and professional. Paula, Yen,

and Vincent were all excellent. Jeneana (sp.), front desk supervisor, was neither professional nor courteous, rather rude when checking me in as I was trying to clarify a mistake they had made on my reservation. Atmosphere was fine. My spouse and I prefer annyminity. The view louge was great as was the second floor terrace restaraunt. Food was good and reseanable for hotel restuarant. Location was excellent for taking the bart and visiting the Museum of Modern Art (MOMA). My spouse and I visit the city 3-4 each year, and we've stayed at far better places and received much better service for the same cost. We will stick with the Grand Hyatt and Park Hyatt next in the future.

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 3, 2003

Bravo in SF

Great job in service! The staff was welcoming and helpful- the View bar is awesome. A delight.

By cdfev

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2003

SF Marriott was a great gift for Christmas

I'ver got to say that our party got very lucky with this stay as we received a suite with a conecting room for our special holiday rate. The staff was very helpful and the location could not have been better for the shopping accomplished. The views on the Bay side are great and the views of the City aren't shabby. What's not to like although this is not a boutique hotel if that is your preference.

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2002

Very Marriott

Your basic city Marriott. The rooms are identical to every other Marriott in the world. If you don't like suprises, this is the place for you. Nice bar on the top floor with a view of the city.

By Colin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2001

As Good As It Gets

The service at this Hotel was exceptional. My compliments to the management, but morte importantly to the staff who did perform in an outstanding fashion

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement