Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Hotels

Hyatt Regency San Francisco

  • 5 Embarcadero Center Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Convenient location
  • Elegant modernist design
  • Great views

Cons

  • Some may find it cool rather than cozy
  • Wait for check-in can be long
  • Geared toward business travelers

Updated 05/02/2013

Fodor's Review

Designed by influential architect John Portman, who launched the trend of indoor-outdoor hotel environments, this 20-story gray concrete structure is the focal point of the Embarcadero Center, where more than 100 shops and restaurants cater to the Financial District. The spectacular 17-story atrium lobby, reportedly the largest hotel lobby in North America, is a marvel, with water elements, sprawling trees, a shimmering stream, a huge fountain, and the sleek Eclipse restaurant

and bar. All rooms have city or bay views; 134 come with bay-view balconies. Renovation has been completed of the suites on the top two floors and the breathtaking Regency Club (formerly the rotating lounge bar, Equinox), which has a staggering 360-degree view of the city and bay. The Ferry Building—a hub of activity, great shopping, excellent eateries, and a highly popular weekend farmers' market—is a short walk away.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, California, 94111, United States

Map It

Phone:

415-788–1234; 800-233–1234

Hotel Details:

  • 802 rooms, 51 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/02/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

We'll be back!

While this hotel is in a phenomenal location, the hotel itself deserves high ratings. A beautiful lobby, very clean and kept up perfectly, fantastic service, and clean and comfortable rooms. It's in walking distance from almost every hotspot in San Francisco. We'll most definitely stay here again.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 9, 2009

Hyatt Regency Review

We enjoyed a very comfortable, short stay at the Regency Embarcadero in September. It was a convenient location for some things, particularly visiting the Ferry building for the market, or using the trolley to get to Fisherman's wharf. Our room was on the 10th floor, a suite, with a plenty of space, and a comfortable bed with high quality linens. Service was fine, though you should expect to wait a little bit for bell service to carry bags up

or down. Room service food was quite good, and arrived hot and in a timely matter.

Read More

By pridesf

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2008

Regency Club perfect for every traveler!

Hyatt Regency San Francisco is taking the elite club scene to the next level…. literally. While staying at the property, I discovered that the hotel’s former revolving restaurant Equinox was recently turned into the prestigious Regency Club Floor and Lounge. The top two floors of the hotel now cater to those looking for a chic and exclusive San Francisco experience. The Regency Club Lounge is divided into four hemispheres: dining, business,

entertainment and relaxation and is a safe haven for those who want to unwind and rejuvenate in a private, club-like setting. My favorite space is the entertainment hemisphere, with large plasma TVs; iPod listening stations; lifestyle and business magazines; and Cranium board games. I also enjoyed the relaxation hemisphere, which is perfect for travelers like me who just need a quiet retreat at the end of the day and a place to enjoy the spectacular panoramic views. Aside from all the amenities, I enjoyed the dining hemisphere, which never stops serving delicious meals (for breakfast, lunch and dinner), snacks and appetizers. The lounge was also a great place to meet up with a few colleagues, where we could chat in private, take in the amazing scenery and nosh on some of our favorite munchies! In this great city of options, Hyatt Regency’s new club floor and lounge has me hooked!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2008

Used Hotel Points!

What a great opportunity to finally use some of our Hyatt points. We got a room on the 16th floor with a BALCONY. Just lovely. A recent renovation made this room very stylish and comfortable. On this level we had a breakfast buffet and evening wine & cheese included in the price. This is a beautiful hotel but then we weren't paying for it so I might have a different opinion at say $400/nt... oh, and parking was an astronomical $57/day! The location

was perfect so maybe it WOULD be worth it!

Read More

By jodo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2007

Nice hotel

I just thought I'd post a note reviewing the Hyatt in San Francisco, since we use this chat line to decide on hotels and restaurants and we have spent 5 days here. I was somewhat surprised at the level of personalized service here, given that it is such a large hotel and does cater to conventions, etc. The front desk staff is very gracious and accomodating...Kim at the front desk remembered our names after just one meeting at check in. The executive

floor rooms with balconies overlooking the bay are beautiful...and the executive level lounge (continental breakfast with fresh brewed coffee and berries of all kinds...and evening appetizers etc) well worth the extra dollars. The rooms themselves are a bit faded...particularly the bath rooms...could use some amenities like shower caps...and toiletries...Small negatives given the nice service and generous size of the rooms. Great location, view, and value given where you are.

Read More

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2006

A Nice Luxury Hotel

This hotel is a good value if you get lucky when you make a bid on priceline. I made a $99 bid and it was accepted, a great value for this hotel. Normal rate was 200.00 a night.

By Wes

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2005

Good Service and Great View

I just stayed at the this Hyatt for three nights. We got a bay view room that was fantastic. Ask for a bay view when booking. The room was clean and the service was good. Parking in SF is expensive. If you stay here, park at Embarcadero Center 4. Enter on Clay street. The hotel parking is $41.00 versus $28.00 at the center. You really don't need your car, there is lots of options for transportation i.e. buses, cable car, BART, ferrys, etc. We would

definitely stay here again.

Read More

By Addy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 9, 2005

Great transport and facilities

Against what other commentors said in here I really like the facilities in Hyatt Regency. Got the room from priceline at last minute. I stayed for 4 nights in early June 2005 in room 1744. I have stayed in three hotels over the course of 11 days in SF and this hotel has the comfiest bed, largest bathroom (no tub but wheelchair access for the shower), the best furniture and carpet and the best TV. The other two I stayed are York Hotel and Sir Francis

Drake. The room is also the cleanest although there are a few holes on the bed's valance sheet. The only thing I dislike is that if you want to use the fridge, you have to pay a $20 charge to clear the fridge because all the contents are monitored by computer. The location is great - BART, F-line (runs from Castro along Market Street to Fisherman Wharf) and Cable car (Californi-Van Ness) are all on the door step. There are also buses number 1 and 41 stop at the front of the hotel during the week and a 100 yards up on Sacramento Street during weekend. Local attraction - the Ferry Building Farmers' Market just across the street sell organic fruits and veg and cheese and flowers and many other things on Saturday (8 - 2), Tuesday (10 - 2) and Thursday (???). The Ferry Building has quite a few eateries and shops in there which open during most days. Chinatown is only 15 min brisk walk away and for North Beach add another 10.

Read More

By Sasha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2004

Overpriced and.......

Ugly lobby and REALLY RUDE STAFF! The Bellmen where just joking around and laughing instead of opening the door when i arrived. The front desk staffwhere really snobby and they stared at me when I asked for a second key to my room. I is very inconvinent, esspacilly when you got a lot o luggage to go up a escalator the witih of a pencil just to get up to the lobby! The you gotta go around this hiddden alcove to go up to your room! The room was nice

enough but the bathroom was EXTRENLY SMALL and outdated. There was no blower in the bathroom so the mirrior fogged up after a thre minuite shower! I have been to many Hyatts and this is the worst one. Mr. Hyattt should be ashamed to calll this one his. Oh and when I called the concierge to ask about resturants, he said that there was a resturant right in the hotel and if I wasn't happy with that one i should have called a few days ago. A few days for a casual dining reservation. He must have been kidding. I was not pleased with the fitness room in a glass room right next to the front desk so you had to parade past your collegues in your running shorts and the front daesk pepole give you a look like "why are you going unning this time of morning?" Convenit to Ferrymans Warf but thats about it.

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2004

SF Vegas Style...

This hotel is like Vegas with crazy carpet prints and a huge feel. Rooms are well kept and nice. This Hyatt has good specials and rates throughout the year. Its location is a bit removed and the largeness turns me off a bit. Many rooms have large balconies with furniture a nice feature.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2004

Big Atrium Hyatt

17-story atrium with slanted geometry...no mistaking this Portman-designed property. This was a top-class hotel when it opened in 1973, but has dropped a bit since. Thankfully, the rooms have been renovated with nice bathrooms and great views. The roof-top restaurant is good for a hotel. Try for an upper-floor if possible. Convenient to public transportation.

By L

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2004

Not So Great

The lobby wasn't so great, i have seen embassy suites lobies that are nicer and the floors are veryb long so you have to walk a mile to get ice. Good location for Ferry building and shopping but not to close to fishermans warf or union square shops. The weeken rates aren't bad, but deffenitly not worth the $275 mon- fri.

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 28, 2001

You are right - it was like a dormatory!

I read another review from Judy - she is right - this hotel is much like a dorm ! The extraordinary prices are not warranted at all!

By Raymond

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2001

Great Location, Decent Rooms, Expensive Parking

The room cost less than others in the area... but no one told us it would cost $38 per night to valet our car at the hotel, oh well, live and learn. Parking alternatives includes waking up at 6am and moving it around on the street every 30 minutes (NO THANKS). The location was well worth it though... being just at the eastern edge of the Financial District gave us a feel of downtown without much of the traffic. Pretty much everthing we wanted was

within 5 minutes walking distance. One of the tram lines (least crowded one) ends right at the hotel, making it a convenient way to experience it without the long wait. We took it half way up the hill and browsed Chinatown. The valet gave us excellent service, even with our compact rental car (not exactly a Rolls Royce)... can't say the same about the snotty check-in woman who advised us the Thanksgiving dinner was $75! (we didn't as her how much it cost)... as if we can't afford it. The entire hotel was clean, well groomed and the overall service was very friendly. The concierge even helped us find a supermarket. The atrium was spectacular, but if you are afraid of heights, you might have trouble riding the glass elevators and walking through the catwalk hallways to your room. The furniture was contemporary and well kept. There were lamps at every corner and an iron/ironing board already in the closet... (BIG PLUS!!!) While we were in SF, we saw several other hotels that we mused might have been better than the Hyatt Regency, but we both agreed it was a good value at a good location. We live in Downtown LA, we must say, Downtown SF has much much worse traffic jams, but the people are much friendlier.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement