Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Hotels

Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Pros

  • Spectacular "bridge-to-bridge" views
  • Attentive service
  • In the running for the most comfy beds in the city

Cons

  • In a business area that's quiet on weekends
  • Extremely pricey

Updated 05/05/2014

Fodor's Review

Two towers connected by glass-enclosed sky bridges compose the top 11 floors of one of San Francisco's tallest buildings, offering spectacular panoramas from every room; the windows open so you can hear that trademark San Francisco sound: the "ding ding" of the cable cars some 40 floors below (and rooms even include binoculars). In 2012, the hotel got a major overhaul, bringing in a brand-new, Asian-themed spa, as well as the locally-sourced Brasserie S&P restaurant

and bar, which occupies the majority of the lobby. The face-lift upped the ante for the property, officially making it Northern California's only five-star hotel. Rooms showcase San Francisco's abundant light, with iridescent alcoves over the regal beds and muted color schemes. You can't beat the extra-deep tubs with city views, showerheads the size of dinner plates, and the personalized stationery. Pamper yourself with luxurious Egyptian-cotton sheets, two kinds of robes (terry and waffle-weave), and cozy slippers. A complimentary tea-and-cookie tray delivered to your room upon your arrival is one among many illustrations of the hotel's commitment to service. Special-rate plans for families are available.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

222 Sansome St., San Francisco, California, 94104, USA

Map It

Phone:

415-276–9600; 800-622–0404

Hotel Details:

  • 151 rooms, 7 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/05/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2014

Unique Corporate Stay with Sublime Service and Scenery

Recently (early May, '14) experienced a most satisfactory and rather unique business travel stay at the MO San Francisco. (Unique, owing that the San Francisco Bay Area is my secondary residence - after Singapore - for work and home. The corporate stay at the MO SF was necessitated by ongoing working visits with various Mandarin Oriental Group properties. Indeed, the past few months have entailed MO business stays in Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur, Tokyo,

Shanghai and London.) My MO SF lodging entailed an upgrade to a most gratefully appreciated Dynasty Suite. Such special views - and service. (I've dined and entertained at the MO SF for a number of years, so this corporate stay was a bit like coming home to good friends, management and staff.) Seamless check-out and departure from the MO. (Flying onward to Seoul for meetings via the familiar and cherished Singapore Airlines flight 15 J; fine as ever.) A rather refined sanctuary in San Francisco. Savour your Mandarin Oriental visits.

Read More

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2006

Lovely As Always

This was not our first time at this hotel because the rooms are lovely, the service is very attentive and the views are spectacular. We will keep returning to this hotel.

By William

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2004

Best View Rooms in SF

Unbelieveable views of Golden Gate to the Bay Bridge and everything in-between. I could even gaze out and see Union Square-with my binoulars-- from a different window. It was nearly a 260 degree view from one room. The staff gave me a very generous upgrade simply because it was available, a nice surprise. They were always warm, and very efficient. I felt welcome there. The view from the football-field-sized patio was sublime. But I also spent a

night in a Mandarin King where the view was equally panoramic. One of the world's best tubs. They got us a nice table at a difficult resturant at the last minute. It was travel with no bother at all. Just ask. All amenities are first-rate. The soft goods in the rooms are about ready for an upgrade--I was told one was coming. Just a minor quibble; as I would certainly return. The location is actually quite good, particularly now that the Ferry Building is open. Walk to the Farmers Market. Its not a long walk to Union Square either, just avoid the hills. I wish there were more hotels like this one.

Read More

By Mason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2003

An Amazing Experience

The staff at this beautifully appointed hotel are what the stay at the Mandarin Oriental San Francisco a sublime experience. They can practically read your mind! Going beyond helpful, they anticipate your every need, and attempt to meet them before you've even thought it was a possibility. The rooms are spacious, and at a reasonable price. This makes my top 10 list of best hotels I've visited.

By Todd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2003

Digital City Photos

Wonderful Hotel! Stayed 2 nights on the 42nd floor in a "Golden Gate Bridge Mandarin King" room with spectacular views. I cannot comment on the spa or the hotel restaurant because we did not use them. The views of Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge were worth is all. I have traveled all over the world and have stayed in many luxury hotels. I will be staying here again.

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2002

The views are great, but at $50 an hour???

This hotel has always been on my must stay list, but lately their prices don't match the market. They act like they're doing you a favor giving you a room. Lots of other fish in the sea, Mandarin "O".

By Brenda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 12, 2002

Views, Views, Views

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in SF. But there is one downside which is the location which is in the Financial section of town. Dead after 5pm and on weekends. But I didn't mind. Beautiful, elegant, customer-oriented, cultured.

By Ali

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2001

Amazing view but not much to do!

Stayed here for 2 days honeymooning. Had the Deluxe King room on the 46th floor, which is 2 floors down from the top floor. The room was a bit on the small side, although not cramped by any means with the 2 huge picture windows with an amazing view. The amenities were very good and the service was excellent as well. Staff was courteous and helpful, but as in any 5-star hotel, it all comes as a price. It would be great to stay here on someone else's

charge card, but alas wasnt the case with me. Probably wont be returning but only for the steep price. Was definitely good for the honeymoon though.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2001

Perfect Room/Incredible Service

The hotel is nothing short of perfect. However, it is better suited to business travelers than vacationers as it is in the financial district, a tiny bit far from where you want to be as a tourist. complimentary limo service helps make up for the distance though.

By Ray

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 5, 2001

The "International Luxury" Experience!

When my wife and I want a quick International vacation we fly to San Francisco on Saturday and check-into the Mandarin Oriental for one night. If you are familiar with this hotel company you will understand why they are the only 5-Star Rated Hotel in San Francisco. Our favorite two features of the hotel are: The staff (Concierge especially) and the Lobby area. This is a chic London spot from Hong Kong in the middle of San Francisco. This hotel

is equal to her Sister Hotels in Asia.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement