Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Hotels

White Swan Inn

Pros

  • Cozy B&
  • B antidote to sterile chain hotels
  • Nice lounge and patio area

Cons

  • Thin walls can make for noisy rooms
  • Nearby streets can be rough at night
  • Union Square is three steep blocks downhill

Updated 03/15/2013

Fodor's Review

A cozy library with a crackling fireplace is the heart of this inviting English-style B&B. Patrons rest on comfortable chairs and sofas in the lounge, where wine, cheese, and tea are served in the afternoon, and a gourmet breakfast buffet in the morning. The sizable rooms have plaid bedspreads, floral carpeting and wallpaper, reproduction Edwardian furniture, and gas fireplaces topped by a book-lined mantel. Adding to the charm, the friendly staff seems to know everyone's

name.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

845 Bush St., San Francisco, California, 94108, USA

Map It

Phone:

415-775–1755; 800-999–9570

Hotel Details:

  • 25 rooms, 1 suite
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/15/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2002

Urban scene

Agree with comments below. The decor and internal atmosphere are very pleasant, but the immediate neighborhood is dreary (maybe even a little threatening after dark). The rooms are very nice as well, in terms of furnishings, but with little natural light, and ours looked out on an internal concrete courtyard/airshaft. I suppose the location is convenient for seeing the city, but the immediate environs are less than inspiring, as I mentioned. Don't

think I would stay here again--would look for a place with more aesthetic appeal.

Read More

By Cyndy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2001

A special inn in the heart of the city

Spacious room with lots of little extras, like books and magazines, great lighting, a fireplace, and a coffee maker. Great breakfast area and nice touch with wine service in the evening.

By Barb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2001

Home away from home

I discovered The White Swan years ago and have returned many times and have yet to be disappointed. The food for breakfast is wonderful and there are always yummy cookies to share with one of the teddy bears that you find in every room. Having stayed there while on business, I was delighted to have the library with it's warm fireplaces to sit in the evening--often women travelling alone find themselves sitting in their rooms later at night feeling

rather trapped. It's always nice to return "home" to the White Swan or it's sister hotel Le Petit Auberge.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2001

A place I dream about

We stayed at the White Swan upon friend's recommendation and were so impressed. It is elegant, cozy, friendly staff, beautiful room. The location allowed us to walk to many of our destinations- cable car lines are very close, great restaurants close by also. The afternoon wine and cheese could have been a full meal if you really wanted it to be, breakfasts equally as good. My only regret is that we could not stay longer. A beautiful place in a beautiful

city. We will return when we come back to SF.

Read More

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2001

English Country Charmer Blocks from Union Sq

A few years back I had to spend weeks upon weeks in San Francisco for business. I was lucky enough to have my boss book us in the White Swan. I have stayed in the WS on every return trip since (for business or pleasure) It is cozy and charming and has a great breakfast. I can't say enough nice things about the hotel and its staff.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement