Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Hotels

The Andrews Hotel

Pros

  • Intimate
  • Decor has character
  • Moderately priced
  • Free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • Smallish rooms

Updated 03/15/2013

Fodor's Review

Two blocks west of Union Square, this Queen Anne–style abode began its life in 1904 as the Sultan Turkish Baths; today renovated rooms and bathrooms are small but well decorated with Victorian reproductions, old-fashioned floral curtains with lace sheers, iron bedsteads draped with soft bedding atop new mattresses, ceiling fans, and large closets. The refurbished lobby—dominated by a huge Elliott grandfather clock and the original cage-style elevator—is inhabited

by a kind staff. Guest rooms include flat-screen TVs and leather chaises. A welcoming breakfast—including local Graffeo coffee and Bakers of Paris pastries—is displayed on each floor for guests to take back to rooms. Complimentary wine is served each evening in the lobby. Fino, the hotel restaurant, has been praised for its splendid service and delicious Italian fare.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

624 Post St., San Francisco, California, 94109, USA

Map It

Phone:

415-563–6877; 800-926–3739

Hotel Details:

  • 48 rooms, 5 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/15/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 10, 2009

Cozy & comfortable at Union Square!

My husband and I were on a romantic weekend get-away! We were greeted cheerfully at the desk and entered a neat and tidy clean room. I especially liked the Italian tapestry style curtains and nice comfortable leather chairs in the bay windows. Our room was filled with natural light a nice TV and a very comfortable bed! I am a repeat customer at the Andrews Hotel and enjoy my stay there each and every time! The bathrooms have great water pressure

and I like the amenities offered in the bathrooms, nice quality soaps & lotions! My husband and I especially LOVE the bar and restaurant at Fino's downstairs near the lobby. We have enjoyed wonderful wines at the bar. The food in the Fino restaurant is outstanding. I feel the ingredients used are of amazing quality and freshness. I never leave disappointed and look forward to our next stay in the hotel and our next dining experience in the restaurant! The hotel is also located conveniently for shopping great nightlife and close to the Embarcadero for a fantastic jog in the mornings!!

Read More

By gail72a

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2008

Andrews is just right!

I have stayed at the Andrews Hotel twice and I have loved it! We are planning another stay soon. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but the best part is the lobby, where you can hang out at anytime reading newspapers and sipping free coffee and you can get a free glass of wine everyday at 5:00 p.m. The staff is always friendly and competent. For San Francisco it is quite inexpensive and is an excellent value. The adjacent Italian restaurant, Fino,

is excellent and a nice plus. We are planning another visit soon. It's the only place we will stay in San Franciso!

Read More

By morelus

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2007

Hotel of horror

Tiny room, shower did not work, impossible to sleep you can hear every single noise, from doors closed to garbagge pick up, people passing by on the street. Worse of all, they don't change dirty towels. We had a dirty towel and left it on the floor as indication that was dirty, surprise, surprise, it was hang on the rack again as clean even that you could see the dirt. Disgusting place.

By Melinda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 30, 2003

Friendly Service Sold Us on The Andrews!

The Andrews Hotel is a wonderful value but what impressed us even more was their staff. Everyone from the man at the front desk to the valet, to the maid we spoke with were genuinely friendly and extremely helpful. Continental breakfast in the hallway outside the room is the icing on what was a perfect stay at The Andrews.

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2002

A True Find With Great Staff & Great Location

Staying here reminded us of Europe. A small hotel by most standards but a warm, friendly staff that is always there to help. Within walking distance of some of the best restaurants San Fran. has to offer. This was the best valued place we stayed during our 10-day SF/ wine country vacation. The rooms that face Post St.(So I hear) are the largest. When we got home we had a thank card from Oscar, the Concierge. When is the last time you stayed anywhere,

and that happened. A GEM! Just one negative. The street was somewhat noisy at night. But then again, your at the center of the city.

Read More

By gabby

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2001

In Town Living with a European Flair

A super choice for the frugile traveler. The Andrews Hotel offers small yet cozy rooms with a Victorian flair. A lovely continental breakfast is available on each floor, just outside your door. The Hotel staff (Oscar in particular) is Eagar to please, offering the best in Local dining, entertainment, shopping, site seeing, and local travel methods. The Hotel's resteraunt "Fino" is beautifully decorated and offers well prepared foods at a pleasant

price. A free glass of wine is offered to each guest nightly in the lobby or at the resteraunt directly. The lobby provides coffee and tea around the clock. The room was well kept, but not up to the white glove test. I had to request the maid to clean the bathroom floor, and there was a bit of dust on the over head light fixture. This was the most negative comment I have to make on my entire stay. I would encourage you to check the Hotel's website. The information as well as the photos are accurate. I'm sure you'll be as happy as we were to be there. What a great place to stay. In a nicer part of Union Square, easy access to everything. I'd go back to the Andrews again and again!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement