Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Hotels

The Prescott Hotel

  • 545 Post St. Map It
  • $$
  • Practical Base

Pros

  • Good location
  • Excellent café and bar, and restaurant is top-notch, too

Cons

  • Off-site valet service can be slow
  • Some guests complain of street noise
  • Rooms in need of some TLC

Updated 05/02/2013

Fodor's Review

Known for extremely personalized service, this relatively small establishment prides itself on providing "good taste on Union Square." The rooms, which recently received new carpets and televisions, are filled with cherry furniture and decorated in dark autumn colors. The bathrooms have marble-top sinks. Free coffee in the morning and wine in the evening are offered every day by a flickering fireplace in the living room. Executive Club Level rooms include free Continental

breakfast and afternoon cocktails with pizza and cheeses from Postrio in the private Executive Club Level lounge. The adjacent award-winning restaurant/bar Postrio serves excellent seasonal California cuisine.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

545 Post St., San Francisco, California, 94102, USA

Map It

Phone:

415-563–0303; 866-271–3632

Hotel Details:

  • 132 rooms, 32 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/02/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2006

Prescott hotel has NOISY room and bad service

My husband and I had stayed in various types of hotels ranged from boutique style hotels to large chain hotels. This hotel has the worst atmosphere and valet service we've ever encountered. The rooms in the hotels are small and the carpet are very dirty. The room we stayed in was filled with noises from the street (police car siren, trucks unloading bottles and trash even at 2am, people talking very loudly on the street). I could not get any sleep

during our stay at all. Additionally the hotel's valet parking service was horrible, it costed $38 to park with the hotel and it took at least 20 to 30 minutes each time for us to get our car out of valet. We had to literally wait downstairs in the lobby for 30 minutes for the hotel to get our car pulled out of the garage.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2003

Comfortable convenient

Club level breakfast was great. Not a huge problem that it was over at 9:30 which should be no surprise it is posted everywhere. Cocktails at night a great way to relax not supposed to be dinner. eveyone was helpful had a great tables at all the restaurants booked through the concierge. Don,t over expect on Clublevel this is not the Ritz but it is also 1/2 the price. Great Location!!!

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2003

Not impressed

I had read great reviews, but the tough economy is showing. The Club Level is a joke. Yes, they do have drinks, but they also have wine downstairs. The Postrio appetizers were virtually non-existant. There were a few scraps of bread and some cheese. One small pizza appeared about every 15 minutes. And, the continental breakfast in the Club Level is finished by 9:30 am!~! We wandered down at 9:40 and everything had already been put away, even

though there were others looking for a cup of coffee. We won't stay again.

Read More

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2003

Class From the Beginning...

The Prescott Hotel is five star! Whether it's received that rating or not... The personnel are incredibly responsive and the hotel is great. The rooms are a bit small but very comfortble. Just a fantastic hotel...

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2003

What a Disappointment!

I had read all the rave reviews and had eagerly anticipated a gem, I was wrong. When my bags failed to appear in my room after a reasonable amount of time, I had to call to find them. Even with 20 minutes notice, I still had to wait an additional 30 minutes to have my car retrieved. The club level was a facade. There was no additional service from staff. There was a bartender who seemed pained when assisting guests. One night there was no food

during the cocktail reception. Morning coffee closed by 9:30 on a Saturday on the club level, even coffee would have been apprecitated. Club level was not worth the price, even at a discount. Postrio was overated.

Read More

By Lois

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2002

It feels like coming home....but much better

This is San Francisco's great secret. Incredible location, friendly and very accommodating staff... they always make you feel welcome. The Club Level is the place to stay, great value with breakfast and evening cocktails and those yummy pizzas from Postrio!

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2002

Personal touched and SERVICE !

I just returned from 5 nights in San Francisco where I stayed at the Prescott. The staff was wonderful. The hotel has a wonderful european charm. After checking out we discovered we had neglected to pack some valuble items and clothing and left them in the room. As we were boarding a ship to cruise Alaska there was no time to go back to pick it up. We have just arrived home to find it waiting for us not only were all the items neatly packede there

was tissue between the layers of clothing!! We cant wait to go back to the Prescott, you should to.

Read More

By Jonas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 2, 2001

Understated luxury at its best

Just returned to Denmark after a truly wonderful trip to San Francisco and find it hard not to simply praise the Prescott Hotel for its impeccable service. We spent two days simply floating away in our club room which offered amenities that made it a hard decision to leave the room even though the best that San Francisco has to offer is right outside the door thanks to the hotels' fabulous situation in the bustling Union Square area. It's more than

highly recommended to spend the night here at the Prescott should you come by - and we did not even try out the neighboring restaurant Postrio's supposedly world class food to which guests enjoy exclusive preferential seating.

Read More

By Raymond

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2001

A Great Welcome!

Last 22nd of December, 2000, my family traveled from San Diego overnight, arriving at the Prescott at 6:30 am! My father stopped to cehck on our reservations and the clerk was so nice he permitted us to have our room earlier than regular check-in. The service was always timely. Great location. Wolfgang Pluck's is ideally located next door and the hotel can get you in on short notice. Needless to say, we enjoyed our Christmas season at the Prescott

in San Francisco.

Read More

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2001

Spectacular - One of San Francisco's Finest

Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and the atmosphere was spectacular. The rooms were very comfortable with a complimentary bottle of champagne for our honeymoon. Twice a day maid service along with the Club Level Concierge and Lobby were great. Look forward to staying at the Prescott on my next visit to San Francisco and will hold fond memories of this past visit.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 17, 2001

Club Level

We have stayed on the Club Level on 5 week long trips over the last 5 years - it is our favorite SF hotel. Having a quick meal in the Postrio bar upon arrival is a great way to stat the trip. The club level is definately worth the little extra - wonderful pizza, cheeses, bread and cocktails at night and excellent pastries, fruit and fresh juice in the morning.

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2000

The Worst Service Ever

I'm glad to see that I was not the only one who had a problem with this hotel. I picked this hotel because of the raves about service and could not have been more disappointed. I had to swich my room twice; once because I had the tiniest darkest room ever and secondly because my room number was given to a visitor without my permission. I asked a concierge for directions to a restaurant in Sausilito (sp) and as he was busy, threw printed directions

to the Golden Gate Bridge at me, which did me little good. My non-smoking room had the distinct smell of smoke but at this point I was just tired of changing rooms. I had a number of complaints over the week (and I don't consider myself to be a particularly picky person) but it amazed me that it took two days to have my toilet fixed. I travel to San Francisco often but I will never go to the Prescott again.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2000

I PROTEST

I read the rants and had to add my experience. I live in Silicon Valley and spent many weekends in SF. We stayed at the Prescott 4 times, and were always very pleased. We also sprung the extra $20 or so a night to be booked on the Club floor-- this is the winning feature. A great complimentary breakfast and happy hour (with pizza from Wolfgang Puck's restaurant downstairs and a nice selection of wines and martini stuff). These rooms may be nicer,

too. I'd highly recommend it for the location, food, and privacy.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2000

Prescott a BIG Disappointment

After reading rave reviews in several travel guides, I was looking forward to the accomodations at the Prescott. I was very disappointed. The rooms and bathrooms were tiny. My room had an offensive odor and I asked to be moved to another room. Although the desk clerk was rude, my luggage was transferred immediately. My new room wasn't much better. However, the Prescott has a great location - not far from Union Square but I will not stay there

again.

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2000

Disappointed

After hours upon hours of research I thought we'd found a real gem! Hotel had a great website with virtual-cam tours. We were able to get several recommendations from sources online and within the city before booking our room. In a nutshell - disappointed! Our room was tiny but probably average for SF. The first room we were given was infested with some type of flying insect. After killing 8 of them ourselves we requested another room. Our belongings

were promptly moved for us to a room that was in desperate need of a carpet-cleaning and had multiple food-type smudges along the walls. It was downright disgusting. We asked for yet another room but were informed that none were available. After deciding that we would not be hung-up on the room status since we had such a wonderful city to explore we dropped the issue. Ihe icing on the cake was the creaking-squeaking air-conditioning unit that kept us up half the night. I would not recommend the Prescott Hotel to anyone I liked. Perhaps our experience was a fluke? We'll never know because we won't be staying there again!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement