Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Hotels

Galleria Park Hotel

Pros

  • A can't-beat location one block from BART
  • Friendly management
  • Renovated in 2013

Cons

  • Small rooms and bathrooms
  • Plenty of city noise

Updated 05/02/2013

Fodor's Review

A green-certified hotel, the boutique Galleria Park has a dedicated clientele and is particularly packed on weekdays with corporate travelers making the most of being close to BART, the Chinatown Gate, Union Square, and the high-end Crocker Galleria shopping complex. A recent multimillion-dollar renovation to the property brought a new French Brasserie, updated fitness rooms, and reimagined guest quarters. Small rooms offer typical technological amenities and eco-friendly

bath products as well as new chocolate-tiled showers and Keurig coffeemakers. The hotel manages to be both hip and welcoming, inviting guests to lounge in the lobby on soft couches. Complimentary morning coffee and tea and evening wine are served in front of the pièce de résistance, a massive, hand-sculpted art-nouveau fireplace that looks like it leaped out of a fairy tale. Original 1911 skylights and artwork by local artists contribute to the inviting atmosphere.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

191 Sutter St., San Francisco, California, 94104, USA

Map It

Phone:

415-781–3060; 800-792–9639

Hotel Details:

  • 177 rooms, 8 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/02/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By cfc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2012

Galleria Park Hotel Review

Loved this place, despite incredibly tight space in room. A perfect location for almost everything - close to some major sights downtown, easy access to BART, bus, trolleys for everything else. Prefer breakfast next door at Bread and Chocolate to the one in the attached restaurant (Japanese lunch/dinner). Ask for a terrace-view room and/or upper floor back to avoid noise. If you get a good deal and can cope with slightly cramped quarters, this

is convenient, pleasant, and not cookie-cutter.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2006

It was super

Everything was great!Thanks

By Trish

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2003

We will return!

The service at this hotel is wonderful, the lobby warm and inviting. Our room was great, comfortable bed, Aveda bath products. It is not luxurious, but the location is great, the rooms quiet. We will return!-

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 25, 2002

Second home

It is hard to feel a home when you travel but the staff at this hotel makes you never want to leave. The rooms, still with a conservative and calming tone, are comfortable and the very high ceilings make then feel even more spacious. With so many special touches such as a free business center, wine hour every evening, free coffee every morning, perfectly located and, most importantly, always a friendly smile, this is a great value and I'll certainly

return

Read More

By JJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2002

Nice Room At A Great Price

We live near San Francisco and spent a night here with friends. Keep this in mind: the hotels around Union Square are expensive, old and small. The Galleria Park had nice, comfortable rooms at a great price. I am a bit of a snob when it comes to hoel rooms, and this place was fine - not the Four Seasons, mind you, but a good hotel in a great location at a great price. Service and staff were very, very friendly and attentive.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2002

Bait and Switch...

Don't be duped by room descriptions - I reserved a King Premier but was booked in a full bed in a tiny room. Desk tells me that I shouldn't have relied on reservation description, as they only offer run of the house (least acceptable room) reservations. I was not able to negotiate a lower rate for a threadbare, well-worn room. Many amenities in description did not exist. Service was rude and argumentative. The location is great, but there are

plenty of other hotels with rooms that are much, much nicer than this. Take a pass on this hotel.

Read More

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2002

Great Location

This hotel is fabulously situated, down the street from Belden Lane (go to Plouf for a dinner of mussels and french wine) and the Banana Republic flagship store. What more can you want in SF--good food and good shopping? The hotel itself is a bit small, though the rooms are well furnished (comfy sofa). If you can get a good deal on this hotel, it can't be beat.

By Laura

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 28, 2001

Wonderful "Boutique" Hotel

I have stayed here several times in SF and have had super service and a great room (but small) each time. Love the fireplace in the lobby - and love the smaller hotels now. Good location, too. Good for the business traveler.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement