Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Francisco Hotels

JW Marriott San Francisco

Pros

  • Recently renovated
  • Convenient location
  • Large rooms
  • Luxurious bathrooms

Cons

  • Comfortable but lacking character
  • Some readers complain that the showers are too small

Updated 05/02/2013

Fodor's Review

Bullet elevators whisk guests skyward from the marble foyer of this John Portman–designed hotel, formerly the Pan Pacific. A graceful Matisse-inspired bronze sculpture encircles the fountain in the dramatically reconfigured 21-story lobby atrium. Guest rooms are outfitted with gold, olive, and maroon bedding, large flat-screen TVs, and versatile desks for dining or working. Elegant bathrooms contain new vanities and deep soaking tubs, which many guests rave about. The

hotel features a state-of-the-art fitness room and technologically savvy meeting rooms.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

500 Post St., San Francisco, California, 94102, United States

Map It

Phone:

415-771–8600

Hotel Details:

  • 329 rooms, 8 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/02/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Francisco

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Toado

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2009

Perfect everything

This relatively new hotel has had an even newer update. Fantastic location with 4 theaters within 2 block radius. Hotel crew is tops from the doormen up through the hotel. Excellent food, service and bar. Will stay here again -- and soon.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2008

The Perfect Ending

The JW Marriott was the perfect ending to our 15 day California trip. We decided on the Marriott based on the recommendation of another Fodorite. We found everything to be as advertised and a great location to boot. Loved being able to bring the outside air in through windows that opened. Our corner room was beautifully decorated. The glassed in shower with marble everywhere was a nice touch. Our tip of the hat to Marriott.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2005

Loved the Pan!

They allowed us to check in around noon and upgraded us to a suite. The suite was great, large bedroom, bathroom to die for, and butler service. Located close to all the fancy shops (Saks, Gucci, Neiman Marcus), so ladies will be in fashion heaven! The restuarant is supposed to be one of the best in the city, but we did not have time to eat there, so hopefully the next time we are in San Francisco we can give it a try!! The only downside to the hotel

is the cost of room service and Valet Parking, but all luxury hotels charge top-dollar for those things. Try booking on Expedia, you may get this hotel for $190 per day. Otherwise the rates were around $279.

Read More

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 28, 2005

Simply Divine!

We just returned from a three day stay at the Pan. We enjoyed our stay from check in to check-out. The rooms are magnificant with white on white decor, flat-screen TV's (wow!), and luxury bathrooms. The butler service is exceptional and they will do backflips to make sure you have a good stay, all in all a pretty great hotel. Word of warning: parking was $45 on top of the alreay expensive room rates.

By Martin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2005

New year bargain

Booked to stay between boxing day and new years day 2005. Very good internet rates. Upgraded to a suite on arrival. Room large and well equiped, bathroom very nice. Didn't use the hotel restaurant, the bar was fine if a little quiet. Location hard to beat. Two minutes walk to union square, cable cars, countless great restaurants and shops. I have looked for the same trip but it is considerably more expensive this year. The hotel wasn't that

busy and the public areas suffered as as result. A good hotel in an excellent location

Read More

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2004

Best hotel in downtown area...

Gorgeous luxury hotel at its very best, sensible rates, super comfort and quiet. Pacific restaurant on site for first rate food and service. All rooms just re-done; concierge service superb. Friendly, efficient staff. Location? One street to theatres, stores at Union Square.

By Joseph

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2002

A precious find ...

It seems San Francisco offers a quiet efficient large hotel after all !! Not the hippest or grandest, but definitely the best in the Union Square Area. My quiet and serene guest room featured an impeccable bathroom, and the Concierge staff were clever and very competent !! Hats off!! Ill be back soon !!

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2002

A Very Nice Upscale Choice w/out the Cost

Great location. Great bell-hop service! Very nicely designed and arranged rooms-- the bathrooms are especially nice. Well-designed lobby. Qince elevators run through the atrium you never have the noise of them running through the walls -- no matter what room you're in. Rental car locations 1/2 block away. Great value. Even a view. What's not to like!

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2000

Ho-hum

A run-of-the-mill hotel filled with business travelers. It is perfectly acceptable, though the bathrooms have far too many mirrors. I don't need to see that much of myself, thanks.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement