Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Diego Hotels

Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa & Marina

Pros

  • Modern decor
  • Great pet program
  • Water views
  • 120-foot waterslides in pools, plus kiddie slide

Cons

  • Slightly hard to navigate surrounding roads
  • Thin walls
  • Not centrally located

Updated 05/16/2014

Fodor's Review

This modern property has many desirable amenities, including balconies with excellent views of the garden, bay, ocean, or swimming pool courtyard. Rooms are located in the main tower and several low-level, lanai-style buildings. Rooms feature a neutral color scheme and clean-lined furniture, quilt-top beds, flat-screen TVs, and iPod docking stations. The Red Marlin restaurant serves seasonal, seafood-heavy cuisine with 180-degree water views; the spa uses all-natural organic

products. During the summer, a water taxi takes guests to SeaWorld from open to close.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1441 Quivira Rd., San Diego, California, 92109, USA

Map It

Phone:

619-224–1234; 800-233–1234

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 353 rooms, 76 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/16/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Diego

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 25, 2012

Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa & Marina - certainly "sounds" nice

My husband and I made the day trip to San Diego for a friend wedding. All the out of town guests were booked there and thought it would be a lovely weekend. Check in is at 3:00pm and I had even took advantage of their early check-in option before we drove down there to make our arrival quick and smooth We arrived at 4:00pm and were surprised that our room wasn't even ready. Many of our friends rooms were not ready either. We hung out in

the lobby commiserating with one another on how inconvenient this was considering that the wedding started at 6:00pm . Another hotel guest heard us talk and said " You don't even want to know how long *I've* been waiting" ... He said he had been waiting since 9:30am ..oh oh Most of us got into our rooms about 5:00pm and to our surprise our room still dirty!! ( the counter tops had water rings, an old subway sandwich in the refrig and hair on the floor ) The next morning at 9:30am we heard a knock on our door . It was the cleaning lady wondering if we had left yet ,so she could clean the room. ( say what???) I was miffed and said " ahh nooo and I'm sure this hotel's computer system would let you know when someone has checked out , in fact we are going to ask for a late check out OK?" She smiled and apologized and left. Believe it or not , an hour later there was a knock on the door again. The same exact maid , asking the same exact question " It was like Groundhog's Day. About 20 minutes later ANOTHER knock on the door , it was room service ( who at delivered our morning coffee at 9:00am) asking if they could take the tray from our room at 10:45am. Can't anyone simply wait til we leave the room ? I thought maybe we were being punked by the Groom and bride because there is no way a hotel trains their staff to intrude like this I never felt relaxed or welcomed

Read More

By Sandra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2006

The Point of No Return

We stayed at the Islandia for a family reunion and it was awful! The rooms were less than clean and the staff was not very helpful or friendly. One member of our party had a stench in the room that wouldn't go away, they landed up sleeping with the door open. The hotel finally found them a new room on their last night...the stench was due to some leaking from the air conditioner and was making the carpet smell. The area is awful, it's not close

to anything except for Sea World and the beaches are full of homeless people. We won't be staying there any longer. Try the Hyatt La Jolla Aventine, the rooms are a bit old, but the staff is great and the rooms are clean.

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2005

Islandia? I landed in a garbage heap!

Old, dirty and whoppingly overpriced for this sagging ancient monstrosity. The only site nearby is Sea World. Otherwise, you are next to nothing but a small city park full of homeless men.

By Will

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2004

Weary at first & surprised

I read the reviews before and after I booked through Priceline for $80 a night here for a couple of nights stay during the weekend. First with the negatives. I had to go through 2 sets or room keys before I realized that I had to "lift" the door handle instead of pushing it down to open it. The other was the noise of other guests, since my room was on the 4th floor overlooking the courtyard and directly over the main entrance into the tower. On

the other hand, I was very satisfied with the room, the balcony, & the bathroom. The room was large; balcony had an ocean & harbor view. The exercise room had 6 cardio machines, weight machines, & free weights. The outside pool was heated, but unfortunately didn't use. Oh, the other annoying thing was the fact that the hotel is directly under the takeoff flight paths from the airport. All in all, $80 was worth the price here. Normal rates were running in the upper $180s - way too expensive for that price.

Read More

By Rene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2004

Great Views

We stayed on the 14th floor so the views were impressive. At night the lights of the city were magical to watch. Note that we looked over towards San Diego. The one problem with our room was that it had an adjoining door and we could easily hear the other people. Lucky they were very quite. Had they been noisy my experience would have been much different. At check-out, the couple in front of us was switching rooms because they had an adjoining room

and their neighbors were loud. The grounds were pretty and the hotel is in a good location. In the morning we went to Mission Beach and rented bikes to bike the entire boardwalk. That was lots of fun. Great place to eat nearby, Luigui's (not sure of spelling) that was inexpensive and good. Note is is not fancy at all but good italian food. Overall, the room was not fancy and could use renovating. They were working on some floors.

Read More

By Stella

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 29, 2003

Nice Suprise

after reading the comments about this place i approached my recent four night stay with trepidation. however, i was pleasantly suprised. first of all, we were upgraded to a Marina Suite without asking to be. and that worked out well, since there were two adults and one nine year old. the Suites have a room with a pull out couch, table and chairs and television. in between that room and the bedroom is an area with a sink and coffeemaker, refrigerator

and large bathroom (more amenities in the bathroom would have been nice: no moisturizer to be found!!). the large bedroom had 2 queen beds, television and sitting area. a small outdoor deck overlooked the marina, complete with barking seals. service was pretty good. had to ask for and wait a long time for extra towels. had a dinner and a breakfast at the hotel's Baja Cantina. nothing extraordinary, but fine. spent some time around and in the pool and adjacent hot tub. nice option of getting early a.m. coffee and croissants/muffins in the lobby. front desk people and concierge were very nice. all in all i found this Hyatt to be clean and comfortable as opposed to spectacular and luxurious (which i knew it wouldn't be). it is a good base of operations if you plan to visit Sea World, the Zoo, Pacific Beach, OldTown........

Read More

By Dennis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 23, 2002

What a Dump!!!

The attitude that is given by the mostly non-existant staff is disgusting. The rooms are filthy, tired and very very worn. It does not seem they have been changed since the 1970's. The prices they are asking are ridiculous and a RIP-OFF! This property is sold as a high-end "Regency" Hotel but does not live up to the expectation (since when does Regency mean black scuffs on the walls and soiled linen left in the corridors overnight, etc...). There

are plenty of more reasonably priced accommodations in San Diego that are kept-up, clean and where the staff is friendly, visible and willing to assist when needed. The staff at the Hyatt was rude and seemed "irritated" when they had to perform their duties.

Read More

By Lindsey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2002

Service is non-existant

I have stayed here 4 or 5 times, and everytime the service has gotten worse. The views are nice, but that's about it. It's definitely not worth the price you pay. There are many nicer hotels in the area. The manager did not even care that I was disappointed with the service the last time I stayed there (and will ever stay there).

By Jean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2002

Hi-rise needs refurbishing

Don't know about the other buildings on the grounds, but the room I stayed in at the Hyatt Islandia's high-rise building had a tatty bedspread, the carpet looked worn, and the closet door wouldn't shut. The views, however, are great. After one night, I moved to the Hilton on Mission Bay - much nicer for the same money.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement