Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Diego Hotels

Grande Colonial

  • 910 Prospect St. Map It
  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Near shopping
  • Near beach
  • Superb restaurant

Cons

  • Somewhat busy street
  • No fitness center

Updated 05/16/2014

Fodor's Review

This white wedding cake–style hotel in the heart of La Jolla village has ocean views and charming European details that include chandeliers, mahogany railings, and French doors. The hotel was built in 1913 and expanded and redesigned in the mid-1920s; a newer addition that opened in 2007 features 18 suites, all with full kitchens and fireplaces and stocked with luxury bath products and snack baskets. The hotel's restaurant, Nine-Ten, run by chef Jason Knibb, is well

liked by locals for its fresh, seasonal California cuisine.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

910 Prospect St., San Diego, California, 92037, United States

Map It

Phone:

858-454–2181; 888-828–5498

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 52 rooms, 41 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/16/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Diego

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By tansay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2013

A truly delightful stay

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and I wished we could have stayed even longer. When we arrived we were told that as my husband was "Expedia Elite" we were receiving free valet parking (not a small deal -- $25 a night otherwise I believe) and a complimentary upgrade. Our room was on the 5th floor facing the sea and had windows on 2 sides (which opened!) and an overhead fan. It was simply marvelous; fresh air, breezes; airy and light. The

only quibble we had was that the carpet was clearly beyond its "best before date" -- worn and marked. The bed was very comfortable. We ate the first evening in the hotel restaurant and the service was marvelous and the food even better. Our server was very knowledgeable; she even offered me tasting portions of the wine so that I might have an appropriate pairing with each plate (I chose appetizers for both starter and main plate and then my husband and I shared a cheese plate for dessert.) We travel a lot both in North America and Europe and that was one of the finest dining experiences I can recall. All the staff we dealt with, without fail, were approachable and helpful.

Read More

By cmcfong

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2008

Lovely spot, lovely place

I stayed in an oceanview room in the original building of the Grande Colonial. It is an historic building and so the small size of the rooms was not a surprise. They are very attractively furnished and there is free internet access from the rooms. Fresh bottled water is provided daily. Shortly after my arrival I stopped by the concierge's desk for some suggestions about which beach to use. Thank goodness I made this stop and met the very helpful Lydia.

She is really service committed. I am one of those people who want their coffee as soon as they wake up. I do not like having to go to the lobby (where coffee is available from 0600-0630) or order room service ($7.00 for two cups of coffee, plus $2.50 delivery charge). Lydia arranged for coffee making equipment to be put in my room. This immediately lifted my spirits. She also arranged for additional hangers (four for two women is not enough), a small refrigerator, and maps. I greatly appreciated her assistance. An ocean view room costs roughly $100 more than a room without. It was a lovely view and I loved hearing the sounds of the waves at night. The Grande Colonial is located very conveniently. The staff from the valet/bellmen to desk to housekeeping (thank you, Guillermo, for all the special touches...and extra chocolates!) is professional, polished, and friendly.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2007

Convenient Location

Some rooms have views of the water. Easy walking distance to many great restaurants. Parking in town is either metered or in garage parking, but I thought the $15 per day to park at the hotel was a bit steep. The rooms facing the main street (Prospect Avenue) can be a bit noisy.

By lc4637

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2007

good and bad

our room (partial ocean view) was big and roomy. the view was ok. the service was great (room service pricey). the only complaint i have is some of the furniture was dirty. the sofa in the front room had dirty spots on it and the chairs needed to be cleaned. the beds were very comfortable with turndown in the evening. i just expect the furniture to be clean when your paying $350 a night.

By Doug

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2005

The Grande Colonial is a great choice!

We just returned from a three night stay at The Grande Colonial and could not have been happier with our choice. We had a view of the ocean from the four windows in our Junior Suite and from the bathroom too. We booked the Bed & Breakfast package which included a full breakfast every morning at the restaurant Nine-Ten [tax and gratuity included!]. By the way, the Nine-Ten omelet is terrific. The bar and restaurant are both very popular and excellent

quality. The location is ideal-right in the heart of the village of La Jolla and near the ocean. The history and intimacy of the hotel make it the perfect destination. Staff was very friendly and service was polished and professional. Highly recommended.

Read More

By Rose

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2003

Crummy room, bad service, wading pool, high price -- this is Grande?

My boyfriend and I just spent a week at the Grande Colonial. For more than $350/night (Expedia price), we got a room into which a king-size bed barely fit. Bathrom so small there wasn't even a place to set down a hairbrush. And our FULL ocean view? A high rise-building directly in the middle of the view, with glimpses of ocean on the side. Couldn't get towels in the room without snatching from the maid's cart in the hallway. And the pool? Three

and a half-feet deep with 12 -- count 'em, 12 -- lounge chairs in total. A complete rip-off and service was terrible. Never again, although La Jolla is great.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2003

Service Without a Smile:-(

Rooms are fine, albeit a little "contractor special" in their design. The beds are very comfortable. The service seemed (with one exception - a smiling guy at the front desk) to be a bit like pulling teeth - they do it, but nonchalantly and without a smile. Not bad enough to get mad and complain, but not good enough to give you a warm, fuzzy feeling. Food is fine, but not memorable in any way. Overall, an O.K. place that could go up couple of notches

if it gives the stuff some "service with a smile" pills.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement