Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Diego Hotels

Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel–Old Town

  • 4041 Harney St. Map It
  • $
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Airport shuttle
  • Well-maintained outdoor areas

Cons

  • Some rooms need renovating
  • Complicated layout

Updated 05/16/2014

Fodor's Review

Perched on a hill in the heart of Old Town, this hotel is known for its expansive courtyards, outdoor fountains, and maze of stairs that connect eight buildings of guest rooms. Some rooms were recently renovated to include upgraded linens and furnishings, but all are decorated in a Southwestern style with colorful artwork and wood shutters. Suites include two rooms and a kitchenette. The property is within walking distance of many eateries, and the on-site restaurant,

the Old Town Tequila Factory, is popular for its margarita happy hours.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

4041 Harney St., San Diego, California, 92110, USA

Map It

Phone:

619-298–4707

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 178 rooms, 20 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/16/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Diego

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

what happened?

We stayed at this hotel in July. We had been here previously and remembered it as a good value and clean hotel. Sadly, that is not the case any longer. Upon entering our room we found a cigarette package crumpled near the TV. The room smelled strongly of bleach and mildew. Our room phone didn't work and when we complained we were told it would be replaced (that didn't happen within the 5 nights we stayed). We could easily hear the people staying upstairs.

Perhaps most disturbing, when we mentioned this at checkout we were not even offered an apology. We will not be staying at this hotel again.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 1, 2008

false advertising; extortion

This hotel has a good location and a nice look. Be forewarned, though, it's on a steep hillside, and there are many, many stairs to navigate. The worst part is the blatant false advertising. Two cases: first, my room was advertised as a "suite", when in fact any normal person would call it a single room. True, there was a half-height partition that separated a tiny area just big enough for a chair and table, but since when does that constitute

a "suite". Worse is the $5/day "resort fee" the hotel extorts from everybody. I call it extortion because it does not appear anywhere when you make the reservation (and I booked through Best Western's own website), but only when you arrive are you told about it. The reason given for the fee is pathetic, but that's beside the point. It's false advertising for the hotel to agree to a reservation at a specified rate and then add charges when you arrive and when you really have little choice but to accept them.

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 6, 2006

Lovely palm filled hotel

I love how this is an open hotel with different levels. It is right on the main drag of old town, yet on a hill so it's set back. There are palms every where, and outside each room is a table and chairs. Fantastic spot if in old town.

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2005

Wonderful Old Charm

Nice hotel, everyone was very accomidating. Great room for the money very comfortable bed. Nice Shower. Loved the charm of "Old Town" Will definatly stay here again.

By Mitch

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 29, 2004

Great Location

We stayed here in July, 2004 and were very impressed. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the rooms were very clean. Complimentary bottled water is available in the refrigerator. My girlfriend and I both found the male staff members at the front desk to be more pleasant and friendly than the female staff members. It's located just off the main strip of Old Town, near everything. Make sure you eat at Casa De Bandini or Casa De Pico. But

give yourself plenty of time. The wait to eat outdoors can be over 90 minutes.

Read More

By May

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 2, 2004

Fantastic Old Town hotel!

The location is prime, the property is nice too. Definitly a value.

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2002

Sunsets and Hillclimbs

Very pretty, wonderfully landscaped, which brings out lots of birds. Incredible view: Sunsets into the ocean! Well, also the airport and a defense plant, but that's if you look down. Great location near busy restaurant row (don't miss the performance at the ice cream store) and very lovely historic park. Near almost everything: Airport, zoo, Marineland.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement