Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Diego Hotels

U.S. Grant

Pros

  • Modern rooms
  • Great location
  • Near shopping and restaurants

Cons

  • Small elevators
  • Some reports of trouble with a/c units

Updated 05/16/2014

Fodor's Review

Stepping into the regal U.S. Grant not only places you in the lap of luxury but also transports you back in time. The lobby of this city icon built in 1910 is a confection of luxurious French fabrics, crystal chandeliers, and Italian Carrera–marble floors. Guests sip tea and pre-dinner martinis here. Rooms feature custom Italian linens and original French and Native American artwork, and the sunny baths are elegantly designed with marble-tile shower enclosures and basin

sinks. The Grant Grill specializes in seafood and steaks whose preparations include herbs from the hotel's rooftop garden; the restaurant's 1940s-style New York decor adds a touch of glamour.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

326 Broadway, San Diego, California, 92101, USA

Map It

Phone:

619-232–3121; 800-325–3589

Website: www.usgrant.net

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 223 rooms, 47 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/16/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Diego

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2007

Beautifully redone hotel rooms

My husband and I stayed here for a quick getaway in July '07. The rooms have been redone since the earlier review posted here, and the designers did an absolutely wonderful job. Our room was one of the prettiest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in, beautifully detailed and comfortable. We opted to upgrade to a suite for extra money because the regular rooms are fairly small (but still luxurious), and stayed in a Landmark suite which was great -- spacious

and airy with a small separate living room with its own entertainment center, and a much larger bath than the regular room. Because it's a historic hotel, all the rooms are slightly different in size and configuration, so don't be afraid to ask to see more than one room -- the first "suite" we were shown, a legacy suite, was not much different than a regular room, and definitely not worth any extra money. Would definitely return, liked our room here much better than the Lodge at Torrey Pines in LaJolla, for less money. There's also a very nice bar here as well.

Read More

By Dennis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2003

Stay away...

The good points: the rooms are very spacious, the dining room serves very good food, the lobby area looks glorious, the location is incomparable. The bad points: there's a funny old dirt smell that pervades the rooms, corridor carpets are very soiled, staff is indifferent (they messed up my reservations and could have cared less) and unhelpful. Way overpriced. I won't be back.

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2002

Lovely communal areas, and vey nice suites

US Grant Hotel is an 'historic hotel' with lovely lobby and sitting areas -- and if you upgrade to a suite, the rooms can be very nice as well. The Grill offers good food - and room service is also good.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 11, 2002

Faded Glory but Excellent Value

Visited Dec 2001. Got it through Priceline ($69 for 1 night), asked for a quiet room. Front desk put me in a corner room farthest away from the elevators which was a hike but the room was extremely roomy and well-appointed. The bed was MOST comfortable. Drawbacks were the $19/day parking fee. I had a few questions for the front desk after check-in; they were very helpful. Bellman was not helpful in moving bags from the car to room; be ready

to be aggressive for that service. Overall, a good value for a restored hotel.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2000

not as good as it's reputation

The public lobby areas are very nice but the room was very small, not in good repair. The TV remote was broken, the draperies did not close and had been closed with a safety pin. The room had lots of noice from the street and traffic below. not worth the money

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement