Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

San Diego Restaurants

Buon Appetito

  • 1609 India St. Map It
  • Italian

Updated 05/16/2014

Fodor's Review

This charmer serves old world–style cooking in a casual environment. For a more relaxed meal, choose a table on the sidewalk; inside, the dining room is livelier, and jammed with art and fellow diners. Baked eggplant in a mozzarella-topped tomato sauce is a dream of a dish—in San Diego, tomato sauce doesn't get better than this. Other options worth considering include the sea bass in mushroom sauce, a hearty cioppino, and an expert osso bucco. There are affordable

and varied wines to pair with everything. The young Italian waiters' good humor makes this a fun experience.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1609 India St., San Diego, California, 92101, United States

Map It

Phone:

619-238–9880

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 05/16/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By suzan62

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2012

Buon Appetito Review

My husband & I took a chance several years ago on this restaurant. We could have gone to any one of many Italian restaurants in "Little Italy" but we chose Buon Appetito. What a treasure we found! This place has the most excellent Italian food we've had in many years. I was raised in NY where I was exposed to wonderful Italian food and I think Buon Appetito is right up there with the best. The pasta is homemade. The salad is very fresh. The tiramisu

is so wonderful it practically floats off the plate! I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant. Make a reservation if you go on the weekend. We were just there on a Thursday night around 8:00 & had no problem getting in

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2008

Sun Dried Tomatoes?

I took my wife to Buon Appetito for her birthday, based on recommendations from her friend and from this site. I ordered Linguini Boscomare - Linguini with shrimp, scallops, and sun dried tomatoes. The 5 shrimp were big and good. The scallops were miniscule pieces, maybe 10 of them about 3/8 inch across. Not even sure the little white things were even scallops. My main complaint is the sun dried tomatoes. They were salty, chewy little chunks I assume

were sun dried tomatoes - No tomato taste whatsoever. I expected sun dried tomatoes that taste like sweet little dried tomato morsels. They ruined the dish. The place is very crowded and noisy, but the atmosphere is pleasant and waiters are friendly and attentive. By the way, my wife had shrimp on spinach. She liked it. I tried the vegetables that came with her shrimp and spinach - broccoli and carrots with no flavor. May have been steamed and under heat lamp a long time.

Read More

By Jeanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2006

I'd go back in a heartbeat!

This restaurant was the best! The food was second to none, and the service was wonderful. Everything we ate was perfect! I loved the atmosphere - in the heart of Little Italy!

By emma

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2005

The food made up for a table near the kitchen...

Had dinner on Boxing Day, December 26, 2005, it was wonderful! The lasagna is the best on India Street. Beef or chicken, it is served hot with extra parmesan. There were seven in our party and we were asked if we had a reservation. The place was not busy, and there seemed to be a small amount of panic in trying to set three tiny tables for us. They ended up putting us by the heavy traffic area at the kitchen door. My chair was bumped several times

by the same server. Was it me or him? The teeny tiny bread basket was filled with wonderful fresh bread. However, for a table of seven maybe two or three baskets would have been better. I recommend the establishment, just call for reservations!

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 22, 2005

Definitely not Italy

The risotto was like the flour paste you made in grade school and the scallops were near raw and tasteless. Good Italian food features fresh ingredients simply prepared. What Buon Appetito served wasn't even good Italian-Ameican food.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement