Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

San Diego Hotels

Hotel Del Coronado

  • 1500 Orange Ave. Map It
  • Coronado
  • Fodor's Choice
Check Rates

Pros

  • Romantic
  • On the beach
  • Hotel spa

Cons

  • Some rooms are small
  • Expensive dining
  • Hectic public areas

Updated 10/17/2014

Fodor's Review

As much of a draw today as it was when it opened in 1888, the Victorian-style "Hotel Del" is always alive with activity, as guests—including U.S. presidents and celebrities—and tourists marvel at the fanciful architecture and ocean views. About half of the accommodations are in the more charming, original Victorian building, where each room is unique in size and footprint. Rooms in the California Cabana buildings and Ocean Towers have a Pottery Barn look and marble

bathrooms. These rooms are closer to the pool and the beach, making them a good option for families. In the secluded Beach Village area, villas and cottages feature full kitchens and private terraces.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1500 Orange Ave., San Diego, California, 92118, United States

Map It

Phone:

800-468–3533; 619-435–6611

Website: www.hoteldel.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 679 rooms, 78 cottages and villas
  • Rate includes No meals

Updated 10/17/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in San Diego

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2013

Rude Hotel Employees.....

I've stayed at the Hotel Del Coronado several times over the last 25 years. Including our honeymoon in 1987. It's always a crap shoot, depending upon the time of the year. BUT YESTERDAY TAKES THE CAKE! I was walking down to the beach with a couple that I was going to photograph, they were having a tiny elope ceremony with just her parents there... who were already waiting at the waters edge with the minister. A group of about 5 people, on the

public beach at the waters edge. This employee told us in no uncertain terms that if we didn't leave the beach immediately, she would call security. This happened in front of hundreds upon hundreds of people in the sand on the beach. A warm July evening at 6pm, last night... July 20th. Horrifying to say the least. I invited her to call security to remove us from a public beach. Sadly, this seems to be the new kind of hospitality the Coronado has become famous for lately. I am not certain, but I thought California beaches, at the waters edge were public property to be enjoyed by it's residents? I know for a fact, the City of Coronado parks department website clearly states no permits of any kind are required from groups under 25 if they don't have chairs to hold ceremonies.....

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

SPecial Occasion

Fifty years ago we had a drink in the bar off of the main lounge. The experience was memorable. So, we decided to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday at the "del". First, we wanted to do it right so, we reserved a "room with a view" of the ocean and a massage, then fine dining at their best restaurant! The room was $640/nite in at 4pm out a noon! Parking was +$45 / nite! The spa was not world class but adequate. The dinner on the porch was less than

first class. A small table and they had had a sewage issue and evacuated everyone but us? Maybe we were on the fringe. Bottom line...reputation of The Del is based on the history and not on the value. We have traveled around the world including places like Hotel du Cap and eaten at Tour de Argent. The Del deserves a "C". Overpriced. Oh..yes the nice romance bar...is gone, replaced by "T" shirt store.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

5 night stay in June

We stayed in an oceanfront suite in the main section of the hotel. I was worried at first because I had requested an upper floor in the tower (new) section, and the room we were assigned was the bottom floor of the main (old) section. I guess that would be the perfect definition of 'requests not guaranteed.' However, in this case it turned out to be okay. Our room was huge (and renovated) with a great view of the beach. We were right above the restaurant,

the walkway, and the grassy area in front of the beach. I would suggest trying to get on a higher floor for more privacy when sitting on the porch. Nice large porch though. Our last night was a Saturday night and there was a very noisy wedding reception going on right next door to our room in one of the conference rooms. I called to complain, I went next door to complain, and then I finally went to the front desk to complain when my complaints were not addressed. I was not the only person in line at the front desk to complain. The lady who helped me was very nice and apologetic and ended up comping that night off of our hotel bill. I really just wanted the noise level down because I had a race early the next morning and wanted to go to sleep. But I appreciate her taking that night off of our bill because it did ruin our last night- disappointing because we had enjoyed our stay up to that point. So I would request being away from the conference area for less chance of noise interfering with your stay. The spa was just okay, not worth the expensive price. Try to catch a massage mid-week special and then it may be worth it. Overall, we loved our room and oceanfront location. We stayed Tuesday through Sunday and can say that the hotel grounds were busy every day, mostly with people not staying at the hotel. Definitely VERY busy on the weekend. It cost $13 to rent umbrella and chairs for the beach. And we had to walk down a ways (in front of the tower building) to rent and return them. The bottom line is that we would stay here again but would be picky about room selection/location. We would also try and avoid peak days/season. Coronado beach is beautiful and there are plenty of shopping and dining options within walking distance of the hotel.

Read More

By jds1900

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2009

Vacation from Hell

The union representing the hotel workers has a beef with the hotel and is taking it out on the guests. They could go on strike or picket out front to keep people from checking in, but instead they let everyone check in and then picket outside your room with loud speakers yelling at you to check out. Of course the hotel management is ok with this since you have to pay once you checked in whether you stay or not. They did this from 7:00 am until

7:00 pm. The rooms are not clean, the service is extremely slow, the food is mediocre, and the walls are so thin you can hear conversations in the next room. You have to pay $25 per day to park your car and the parking lot is often so full you can't find a place to park. Nobody here appreciates the tourist dollars you are spending (and it takes a lot of those dollars to stay here). Go somewhere else.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2009

Disney Atmosphere, disappointing food

My wife wanted to stay at this hotel for nearly 20 years. After putting aside some… a lot of money, we went for our 20th anniversary along with our seven-year-old daughter. Before leaving, my wife called the main number and asked if we would need reservations for dinning or kid’s activities. We were told that as guests of the hotel, we wouldn’t need them and it wouldn’t be a problem. Wrong! Dinning without a reservation was a problem and

the kid’s camp was “fully booked” when we called to sign up our daughter. Although the accommodations are nice, the hotel was crowded with so many kids, that it had exactly the same overwhelming feel as Disney World. For the evening of our 20th anniversary we went to the “signature” restaurant 1500 Ocean. My daughter had taken a late nap, so we arrived shortly after 8:00 pm. Although, most of the tables were empty, we were told it would be a few minutes before we could be seated, because we didn’t have a reservation. After we were seated, it took a long, long time to get something to drink, some bread and to place our order. In fact my wife, who has the patient of a saint, began debating as to whether we should just leave and go to the “casual” restaurant, Shearwater instead. In all, the meal took nearly two hours and we were forced to make at least three comments to staff about the inattentive service including asking twice for a waiter to come by the table. The food was good, but I am not exaggerating when I say that the service at our local Cracker Barrel is exponentially more attentive than what we endured at 1500 Ocean. Given the cost and ballyhoo associated with this “signature” establishment, the level of service was so far beyond unacceptable that I can’t begin to put it into words. The fact that the restaurant was nearly empty leads us to wonder how much worse service must be when it’s busy. Bottom line: Unless you want to spend an enormous amount of time and money for poor service, eat somewhere else. Shearwater was a much better experience, though only the dress is casual, NOT the prices. The best dinning experience we found was a place across the street called the Brigantine Seafood House. It was everything 1500 Ocean wasn’t and even though it was crowded, service was excellent as was the food. Perhaps the most amazing part of our stay was when a fire alarm was triggered one afternoon. After my wife fled the premises with our daughter, she was actually admonished by concierge who told her that she should have waited in the room for instructions and that it would be a really “bad thing” if all of the guests headed for the exits upon hearing the fire alarm. Are you kidding me?! I usually stay in average hotels when I travel (2-3 diamonds) and once a year, we try to go somewhere really nice like the Greenbrier or Grand. Overall, I’m not demanding and generally easygoing, but based on the five nights we spent at the Del, we have no desire to return.

Read More

By kimamom

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2007

Exceeded Expectations!

Our 3 night stay at the Del was everything we were looking for in a hotel for our 25th wedding celebration. We had a room in the Victorian section which was where we requested to be. We had a nice view of the inner courtyard gardens and gazebo. Our room was fairly spacious with a flat screen TV and a nice bathroom with a bathtub. The grounds are gorgeous, we lounged by the pool area which is very pretty and my husband had a nice massage at the

spa there. The restaurants are excellent, we dined at 1500 Ocean one night and it was perfect. The concierge service was very helpful, there are nice shops at the Del, everything you could want in a full service resort hotel. We wanted to move in and become permanent residents here! There is a also a small store where you can purchase drinks, etc. It is the Museum Store where you can also view historic photos of the Del over the years and the famous visitors who have stayed there.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement