Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Palm Springs and the Desert Resorts Hotels

be The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Pros

  • Gorgeous grounds
  • First-class golf facilities
  • Daily activity program for kids

Cons

  • Rooms are spread out

Updated 05/05/2014

Fodor's Review

A sprawling resort on 360 acres, the Westin is surrounded by fairways, putting greens, and time-share accommodations; rooms, in two-story buildings amid patios and fountains, have a stylish Arts-and-Crafts look with sleek mahogany furnishings accented with sand-color upholstery and crisp white linens. All have private patios or balconies. In the cool early morning, enjoy a walk or jog on the property's many paths, which wind past bougainvillea-covered walls, beds planted

with blue salvia and pink petunias, families of ducks, and a koi pond. There's also a lagoon-style swimming pool with a waterslide that's several stories high.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

71333 Dinah Shore Dr., Rancho Mirage, California, 92270, USA

Map It

Phone:

760-328–5955; 800-937–8461

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 512 rooms, 40 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/05/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2007

Great atmosphere and dog friendly

We just returned home after a 3 night stay at the hotel. We loved the feeling of the resort. No high rise buidings, just one and two story buildings. Right on a beautiful golf course. The hotel is very dog friendly with no additional fees. Our room was gorgeous. I would highly recommend this hotel. We did not go through the sales pitch for timeshares. Life is too short!

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2006

What a disappointment!

We just returned from a three night stay. We were there a few years ago and it was nice. But time and neglect have since deteriorated the property. Our room had stained carpet, loose tiles, a clogged shower drain and temperamental air conditioning (80 degrees in the room by 10 a.m.!). Then there was the timeshare pitch. Since we got a good room rate, we didnt mind sitting through a presentation. However, 2 ½ hours and a high pressure, used-car-salesman-type

closer was a bit much. We expected more class from the Westin. But the absolute worst part was the service. We called the front desk to retrieve a message and were put on hold for over 10 minutes  twice! We requested a golfcart ride, which never came despite three follow up calls. And then the resort has the gall to charge a $14-a-day service fee! Very disappointing. Dont waste your vacation here.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2005

Do not go-timeshare trap!

The rooms were blah. They restaurants was horrible. The "guests" at the pool were friends of the staff; people were leaving trash, food and debris. What a mess. Then, what could have been a beautiful lobby-were high pressure timeshare real estate agents! I can't belive we paid $250 a night! Oh and there is a timeshare side and a regular hotel side.

By Kristy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2003

Stay at your own risk

I don't recommend this hotel to anyone. We had nothing but problems from the moment we arrived. From rude service, unavailability of towels at the pool, kids in the adults only pool, leaf blowers waking us at 6:30 a.m. to a $14/day resort fee that we were not told about until it appeared on our bill. In fact upon calling the services express to ask them to stop the leaf blowing we were told that they would take care of it immediately. After 45 minutes

of continued gardening and leaf blowing noise we went to the front desk where we were told there is nothing they could do as it was an outside contractor. I've never been treated so horribly by staff at a resort of this star level and wish we would have chosen another resort in the area to spend our time and money. I realize that others may have had better experience with this hotel, but I wouldn't take the risk again.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2003

Off season/High Standars/Great Deal

I was happy to find a stylishly designd neo-mission style resort. The rooms are very large and well appointed, I liked the modern and clever design. Lots of the requisit pools, waterfalls and a lovely golf course outside the patio. Almost surreal considering the desert location. But the best part was that the services often offered only in season are maintaied year round. Including an excellent turn-down service, usually the first to go off season.

The resturant was open and very good as well. Pool service was abundant and the well equipped gym was open--if a bit of a walk to reach. One must enjoy walking to get around the low-rise resort. The staff all treated me very well. Kudos to the Westin for keeping up standards.

Read More

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2003

Nice, nice, nice

Only one word comes to mind - NICE. The Westin is a nice resort. Not super luxurious (like the Four Seasons), but nice. The food at the snack bar was surprisingly good. The Pete Dye golf course is beautiful and quite challenging. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. We loved the Heavenly double shower heads. The resort is comprised of numerous 2 story buildings resembling a large condominium complex. We enjoyed 3 different swimming

pools. There is an adults only pool for those of you wanting to get away from kids running around in their floatation devices. We stayed here on a timeshare offer so we had a great deal. Overall, it's a nice resort, but I would never pay the normal rates ($330+/night) to stay here.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 6, 2002

Hotel is Awesome but the Spa is just a mirage

We were very pleased to be switched from our original room overlooking the construction site, and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, the golf course, and its main services. We were, however, very disappointed with the treatment at the salon. With threats for charges based on their misinformation and giving me a robe that was sliced in all the wrong places, I was less than impressed. Avoid the spa and enjoy the many other beautiful aspects of this nice

resort.

Read More

By kat

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2002

Two restaurants??

fodor's says two, I could only find one and after five days it got a bit boring. Nice breakfast buffet but lunch was always the same. Never had dinner at the hotel. Rooms were spacious (in building #3) but some of them are very far away from the main part of the hotel. We've been there 3 times and will most likely return. A good choice in Palm Springs.

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2002

loved it

Spent a weekend here in early January. As a platinum level member of the preferred guest program, received an upgrade to a nice suite while paying a reasonable rate. The service was friendly and efficient and the property was lovely. Had a very relaxing and pleasant stay.

By ann

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2001

beautiful architecture and landscape

a great place to bring the family. The pool is grand and the whole setting is lovely. While the rooms are large clean & comfortable with nice bedding, its about time fora little updating.(maybe I'm being a tad picky). But a definite thumbs up!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement