Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Palm Springs and the Desert Resorts Hotels

La Quinta Resort and Club

  • 49499 Eisenhower Dr. Map It
  • Luxurious Retreat

Pros

  • Individual swimming pools
  • Gorgeous gardens
  • Pet and family friendly

Cons

  • A party atmosphere sometimes prevails
  • Spotty housekeeping/maintenance

Updated 05/05/2014

Fodor's Review

Opened in 1926 and now a member of the Waldorf-Astoria Collection, the desert's oldest resort is a lush green oasis set on 45 acres. Broad expanses of lawn separate the adobe casitas that house some historic rooms; other rooms, recently renovated, are in newer two-story units surrounding individual swimming pools and hot tubs amid brilliant gardens. Fireplaces, stocked refrigerators, and fruit-laden orange trees contribute to a luxurious ambience. A premium is placed on

privacy, which accounts for La Quinta's continuing popularity with Hollywood celebrities. The tennis stadium holds 23 courts.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, California, 92253, United States

Map It

Phone:

760-564–4111; 800-598–3828

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 562 rooms, 24 suites, 210 villas
  • No meals

Updated 05/05/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By rdbnoc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 15, 2011

La Quinta Resort and Club Review

We stayed at the La Quinta Resort over Labor Day weekend. It was an experience my wife and I will never forget and not in a good way. We checked in Saturday evening and got to our room around 8PM. We ordered some room service and my wife took a bath. At around 10PM we heard a cats meow coming from inside one on the interior walls of the room. We called maintenance and someone arrived a short time later. The hotel worker opened up the wall in

two different places and we discovered a small kitten. We tried to retrieve the kitten but he was very frightened and somehow climbed up the wall and into the attic space of the room. The worker went into the attic to once again try to retrieve the cat. An hour later the drywall mess was clean up but the cat had not been recovered and was no ware to be seen in the attic. Around midnight the cats meow returned but this time in a different wall. We called the front desk and they said maintenance was no longer on the property but they would send someone from security to our room. After several calls to security, the front desk and even the hotel manager who was at home no one ever came to our room. My wife was freaked out about the cat inside of the wall. At one point during a phone conversation with security they admitted THEY KNEW THERE WAS A CAT IN THE WALLS OF OUR ROOM earlier in the day. At 3AM no one from the hotel had come to our room and my wife and we decided to make the two hour drive home back to Orange County. The response from the hotel was less than acceptable. They end up not charging us for the room service and hotel room for the night. THAT WAS IT. I’m 45 and have travel all my life on business and have stayed a couple of thousand nights in hotel rooms all over the world including 45 nights in Hilton hotels just this year. This was by far the worst experience I’ve ever had at a hotel property. This hotel is managed by Hilton BTW. The Hilton Corporation should fire all of the top management at this hotel. They clearly are not competent to run a hotel. I’d encourage anyone not to stay at this hotel especially if you’re a cat lover. Try the Hyatt down the street a couple of miles.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2009

La Quinta Resort and Club Review

Beautiful setting and great privacy. Great golf and tennis. Grounds are well tended and gorgeous. Views of the mountains great every where. Outstanding accommodations in the private villas. Best resort in the valley.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2007

Very Nice

Beautiful grounds, very snappy service, unique property. Yes, a renovation is probably due soon. And don't complain about resort fees and add-on charges - they are standard. If little charges bug you, go to a tacky all-inclusive.

By s

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2006

Not worth the money

We were highly disappointed with La Quinta. Our room, although spacious with a comfortable bed, was shabby(stained and fraying carpet, fireplace door hanging off hinges). I'm sure at one time this was a 5 star resort, but it is showing it's age and is not worth the money.

By Trixie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 26, 2005

Great meal at Morgans

Morgans Resturant was the best thing about the stay at La Quinta.Mexican Resturant is so-so.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2002

New Upscale restaurant has perfect service

This resort has kept up with guest preferences. The latest restaurant is exceptional in food and service. Spa is great.

By Adam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2002

Love it here.

I've stayed at La Quinta about 6 times so it's obvious that I love the place. Last summer we stayed in a lovely "starlite" room with a second floor spacious private patio. We had the pool below practically to ourselves and a delicious room service breakfast was included. Only complaint would be too many kids. If you don't have kids ask for a room near a more quite pool. Great gym and I love their outdoor mexican restaurant with live music.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2001

La Quinta is our family favorite

Our family (two children, ages 9 & 5) have stayed here twice and love it. We go during low season because of hotel deals ($67 to $99 a night). During that time, hotel aims to please the family/kiddie crowd; dive in movies, star gazing, crafts, games (where prizes awarded include free hotel meals). New exercise facility is wonderful. As for casitas with a walled patio because those rooms are huge. There are over 30 pools which means that no pool

is crowded. We plan on returning every year.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2001

Hampton Inn style rooms betray the setting

Location underneath the mountains along with incredibly landscaped golf courses and grounds would lead the casual visitor to count La Quinta as a desirable place to stay around Palm Springs. However, my wife and I stayed here for several nights and were very disappointed with the room and service. It seems for every good deed by the staff, we could think of an offsetting deed to spoil the experience. From the poor maid service to the booked spa

to the surly restaurant service (apart from the golf course, which has an incredible view), I regret staying here. As a place to use the spa, or to golf, I would rank it top of the list in the area.

Read More

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2001

An oasis in the middle of hell

The resort is beautiful, nestled next to the mountains, with private pools and well-kept grounds. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I guess our room was a value, although the fact that it was 113-115 degrees each day made it difficult to do too much outdoors! By the way, make sure to check out the love birds in the lobby.

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2000

A little too big but nicely run

La Quinta is a little too big for my tastes, but it is nicely run, and the spa is superb. If you (gals) like to pamper yourself or play some sports and your hubbies like to golf or play tennis, this is a great place to come because you can have a classy dinner and really never ahve to leave.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement