Napa and Sonoma Restaurants

Advertisement

The Girl & the Fig

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

The Girl & the Fig Review

Chef Sondra Bernstein transformed the historic bar room of the Sonoma Hotel into a hot spot for inventive French cooking. You can always find a dish with the signature figs on the menu, whether it's a fig-and-arugula salad or an aperitif blending sparkling wine with fig liqueur. Also look for duck confit, a burger with matchstick fries, or wild flounder meunière. The wine list is notable for its emphasis on Rhône varietals, and a counter in the bar area sells artisanal cheese platters for eating here as well as cheese by the pound to go. The indulgent Sunday brunch includes potato pancakes with smoked salmon, dill crème fraîche, and caviar.

Updated: 05-01-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Service  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Fun time, Excellent dinner,loved Mary, our server.

    My husband and I went to this restaurant for the first time 3 weeks ago. We have already been back three more times since. Always a great time! Highly recommend it!

    by 3724lake, 2/4/07
  • Value  
    Décor  
    Food  
    Service  

    Our First Stop When in Sonoma!

    We have enjoyed several lunches here over the years and this is the first place we stop while in the Sonoma area. The service is friendly and I love the crabcakes here and the Lavender-Infused Creme Brulee for dessert. They make a fig salad that is a signature dish and not to miss.

    by kimamom, 3/1/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Bravo!

    Everything we have tried in the kitchens of Sondra Bernstein's the girl & the fig has been splendid. Very creative approaches to California French style cuisine. Worth a visit to Sonoma.

    by WP17, 3/20/07
  • Service  
    Décor  
    Food  
    Value  

    Great food with so-so service

    We had an excellent dinner, but the waitress never asked if we wanted a drink, then forgot our pre-dinner wine, and had to be reminded. It's also on the noisy side, with walls and wooden floors.

    by when, 4/19/07
  • Value  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Food  

    Just what a Wine country lunch should be

    I was in wine country to visit with my son for the weekend. He couldn't wait to take me to eat at his new discovery. The food was great, the signature fig salad was perfect. The service friendly and attentive when you need them. All our food was fresh and delicious. A wonderful lunch. And the prices are quite reasonable. I'm looking forward to going back this time for dinner.

    by lindafrazer, 6/5/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Try Fig Cafe and Wine Bar First

    Girl and the Fig on Sonoma Plaza, one one of three Sondra Bernstein restaurants, has declined with respect to Fig Cafe & Winebar in Glen Ellen (jury is still out on Bernstein's new venture, Estate, which is at physical site of the former General's Daughter.) The decline is is with respect to bar, wine list, sense of management (by example bartenders, host station) have changed greatly since 2007. My sense it will be back once Bernstein changes in human resources affecting these functions' products and services.

    by enologix, 10/9/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    The Girl & the Fig Review

    This is a great place to stop for lunch when on the Plaza in Sonoma. The patio is lovely and the service is good. Other reviewers are right in praising the fig salad.

    by janschwartz, 11/5/09

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of The Girl & the Fig

Map of



News & Features
Travel Deals
Forums