Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Napa and Sonoma Restaurants

Bouchon

  • 6534 Washington St. Map It
  • $$$
  • French

Updated 05/01/2014

Fodor's Review

The team that created the French Laundry is also behind this place, where everything—the lively and crowded zinc-topped bar, the elbow-to-elbow seating, the traditional French onion soup—could have come straight from a Parisian bistro. Roast chicken with sautéed chicken livers and button mushrooms, and steamed mussels served with crispy, addictive frites (french fries) are among the dishes served. The adjacent Bouchon Bakery sells marvelous macarons (meringue

cookies) in many flavors, along with brownies, pastries, and other baked goods.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

6534 Washington St., near Humboldt St., Yountville, California, 94599, USA

Map It

Phone:

707-944–8037

Updated 05/01/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Napa and Sonoma

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By John_08

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2008

Not worth it

Was very excited to eat here based on reputation. The food was ok and the atmosphere was nice but I was not overly impressed. The chilled potato leek soup was overpowered by cream and the taste of the vegetables was far too subte. Service started out well but we waited over 20 minutes between our second course and entre with no appology or explanation from the waitstaff, management or kitchen. Despite its pedigree I would skip this one and would

look harder for an up and comming restaurant that is woking hard to earn their reputation.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2008

Reminds me of Paris

Delicious food served in a wonderfully noisy and close atmosphere and strike up a conversation with the people next to you. If you are looking for peace and quiet go to Domaine Chandon. If you are looking for delicious food served in a friendly atmosphere, you have arrived.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2007

Uncomfortable and Overpriced

The evening was hot yet the doors were open and the air conditioning on low. The tables are jammed together and the noise level was at a din. I had to lean out of the way of passing wait staff, and we could have shared the food on the next table over. The food was good but I was so uncomfortable that I didn't enjoy it. Reduce the number of tables by about 33%, turn on the ac when the temperature outside is 86 degrees and reduce the service pace

down from an Applebee's at lunch time (I know it's a bistro) and I might pay the Keller premium price.

Read More

By Daniel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 23, 2006

Turn down the volume, please.

So we went to Bouchon expecting an entirely different experience. The place was terribly, excessively noisy from being packed solid. The food was OK. No bad, not great, just OK. In the hussle and bussle, our waitress spilled an entirely full glass of mineral water on my lap. I had a thick cotton napkin to avert the bulk of it but I was still chraged for the water and that rather peeped me off. We were somewhat tired and gobbled the food up and could

not wait to get the heck out of the annoying racket for the quiet of the street. It was not worth the visit, really, and I honestly would not return.

Read More

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2006

overrated

I went there in 2004 because a friend recommended it. I had corn soup, and some other seafood dish (i think it was trout), and neither impressed me. there are many other good restaurants at Napa, and this one is just little overrated.

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2004

Best Sunday brunch around

Go here early on Sunday for brunch, and ask to be seated outside. Also, come hungry! The tables outside are lovely, and when we arrived at 11am, we were the first customers seated. We enjoyed an incredible meal with excellent service. The servers didn't rush us even though we stayed quite a while at a prime table and they were bustling by the time we left. We sampled a little of everything on the menu and took our server's advice, and everything

more than surpassed our high expectations. Champagne cocktails and a nice wine list made it extra special. The best meal we had in Napa, on all counts.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2003

Cute little Place

We thought the atmosphere was lovely, but we were pretty cramped. We felt like we were dining with two other couples that were seated on either side of us. The food was okay. I didn't think the prices were too bad for the food. I would say try it out and request different seating.

By Bette

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2003

stinky smelling filet

Must be for the younger crowd. Arrived at the bar to see a thiryish couple in an intense liplock. Crowded tables only inches apart. The filet I ordered smelled bad AND was tough.Mussels were good and plentiful. We will not go back; We had wine and caviar, a salad, (split) and two entrees. $340.00. The herb salad was excellent. Very noisy with loud music.

By Gayle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2002

TOO MUCH

Overrated, my meal was ruined as I couldn't help but overhear the person seated next to me whine to her therapist - her table was 8 inches away from mine (I am not exaggerating)

By Ralph

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2001

Too Cool

Interesting eclectic place. For the young crowd. From sandwiches and fries to elegant entrees. The food is excellent but the sevice was borderline annoying-everybody dealing with the delivery of food way too cool. Apparently no job descriptions included clearing tables.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement