Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Napa and Sonoma Restaurants

Bistro Don Giovanni

Updated 03/06/2013

Fodor's Review

Co-owner Giovanni Scala might be around to warmly welcome you to this lively bistro, where you can peek past the copper pots hanging in the open kitchen to see the 750-degree wood-burning oven. The Cal-Italian food is simultaneously inventive and comforting: an excellent fritto misto usually composed of onions, fennel, calamari, and plump rock shrimp; pizza with wild mushrooms, roasted garlic, and smoked mozzarella; and whole roasted fish. Children are welcome here, catered

to with paper-topped tables and crayons and such tempting offerings as pizza topped with cheese, french fries, and "no green stuff." Fodors.com users suggest angling for a table on the covered patio for a "more intimate and quiet" experience.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

4110 Howard La., off Hwy. 29, Napa, California, 94558, USA

Map It

Phone:

707-224–3300

Updated 03/06/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Napa and Sonoma

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2007

OK Place

I visited Don Giovanni on July 12, 2007. The place looked charming and it had the best olive bread I've ever tasted. I visited with my friend. We had been driving from Las Vegas all night and had just arrived in Napa at 11:00 am. We looked a bit winded and felt that our waiter (an older gentlemen) did not treat us very well. He gave us a look that said, "what are you doing in a fancy place like this?" Although,many people around us were in jeans,

they were not treated the way we were.

Read More

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2006

Great Food!

I love the food at Bistro Don Giovanni. Everything tastes good. Their soups are especially good and full of wonderful flavors. Dine on the patio near the fireplace if it's available...it's more intimate and quiet.

By Erica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2006

Can't wait to return

My husband and I had a wonderful lunch on a recent trip to Napa. I was disappointed when I was told that they were out of the duck pasta, but the disappointment did not last long once I tasted the rabbit pappardelle! Sit on the patio if possible.

By George

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2006

Never Disappoints

Outstanding food, friendly but highly professional staff. We visit evry two months or so.

By Lora

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2005

Two for two

This was our second meal here in 4 months. We love the food. The bread is the best! Someone comes in at 5am every morning to bake it. When we didn't like where they were going to seat us, we were given the best table on the patio. Our server was excellent. She recommended a very reasonably priced wine which we loved. This has become one of our favorite restaurants in Napa Valley.

By Cynthia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2005

Many Pros and Cons

When we appeared for seating with a small child, we were seated in a side room with no other parties. This is a pro. The waiter told us we could use the paper table covering as a coloring book. Another pro. The bad news is, once seated, the waiter was not terribly attentive and we got the definite sense it was because we had a child with us. The other con is that the wine list is expensive, as are the drinks. (A tip - the margaritas run $12

a piece.) In the end, we enjoyed the risotto and ravioli but were not overwhelmingly impressed with the dining experience. I would advise restaurant managers and waiters alike that the presence of a child does not mean that (a) you're not going to spend a lot of money; or (b) that you aren't a big tipper. Appearances can be deceiving.

Read More

By Kelli

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2004

Waiting ForeverIf

If you can even get a seat, the place is okay. It serves it's purpose as an Italian Bistro, but I'd suggest the staff and management step it up "a notch" in their customer service department. Reservations should be honored & guests shouldn't have to stand around forever waiting to sit down!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 19, 2003

The food was so great, I forgave the wait staff for not knowing WI is part of the Midwest! :)

We ate here on our second night in Napa and we made the reservation that afternoon and got in right away. The food and atmosphere were outstanding. We sat on the terrace and everything was very relaxing! We recommend this restaurant to others!

By MCK

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2002

great ambiance

loved the food, the service, the environment. It's right on the main road, we almost drove right by. The only negative is that the wine list is VERY pricey.

By Gayle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2002

Friendly and Fantastic, and I am not just talking about the cute bartender.

EXCELLENT Food, a locals place too, you might see some famous people.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 22, 2001

Crowded, Noisy, but Pretty Good

The food at BDG is pretty good with more Northern Italian influence - - but, golly, it was packed - - which may be a sign of it's good food or an indiction that it is just the only available restaurant in close proximity to several B&B's (la Residence, Zinfandel Inn, Oak Knoll Inn). Must say that our waiter was excellent and far excelled the crowded atmosphere (we were on the patio but they had brought in extra tables and we couldn't even see past

the people in front of us)...

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement