Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Napa and Sonoma Hotels

The Honor Mansion

Pros

  • Homemade sweets available at all hours
  • Spa pavilions by pool available for massages in fair weather

Cons

  • Almost a mile from Healdsburg's plaza
  • Walls can seem thin

Updated 05/01/2014

Fodor's Review

An 1883 Italianate Victorian houses this photogenic hotel; rooms in the main house preserve a sense of the building's heritage, whereas the larger suites are comparatively understated. Such luxurious touches as well-chosen antiques and decanters of sherry are found in every room, and suites have the advantage of a deck; some even have private outdoor hot tubs. There are spacious grounds with boccie and tennis courts, a putting green, and half-court for basketball.

Hotel Information

Address:

891 Grove St., Healdsburg, California, 95448, USA

Map It

Phone:

707-433–4277; 800-554–4667

Hotel Details:

  • Closed 2 wks around Christmas
  • 5 rooms, 7 suites, 1 cottage
  • Breakfast

Updated 05/01/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Napa and Sonoma

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 28, 2012

The Honor Mansion Review

This was our first time in Healdsburg and our first stay at a B&B! It was a true delight. My husband and I went on a weekend getaway for my 40th birthday, we had no agenda or reservations. We found the Honor online and my husband called, the young lady was so sweet and informed us that they had a drop in rate. She said come take a peek and see if it is something you would like. I will say my husband was a bit weary of the B&B experience, so he was

so pleasantly surprised when we walked in. We ended up staying in the Squires Cottage! We loved our entire experience. The staff was wonderful, the breakfast was wonderful, the delivery of the coffee basket was wonderful, they took care of all our needs. I cannot say enough about it! I cannot wait to go back. If you are looking for a great B&B, or our a first timer, try the Honor...they will not disappoint! You'll be begging for more! Thanks to all the staff for our weekend!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 11, 2010

The Honor Mansion Review

Whenever I travel I usually can critique many things about my stay or at least come up with suggestions to make the stay even better. Honor Mansion went beyond what I could even think of. The grounds were beautiful and the room although small had everything we needed and was decorated beautifully. Besides the complimentary bottle of wine and cake to celebrate our anniversary on arrival, everything else was provided and done to the nines. Extremely

white towels, a scissor,lip balm in addition to the regular bathroom amenities were provided. Additionally, there was 24 hour hour access to sherry, home made cookies, coffee and tea and of course internet and a computer to use if you needed. The wine and cheese every afternoon and the delicious full breakfasts (not continental) were out of this world. We felt badly that we did not have enough time to play tennis, croquet and bocce which are on the grounds. They even have Japanese pet fish that you can feed. All of the people that worked there were extremely conscientious and made whatever reservations we needed and responded to any question we had. It was a great environment to meet people from all over and we did. This would be the only place I would go in the Wine Country. I would make sure I plan early enough to stay at the Honor Mansion. Unfortunately, I have now been spoiled and probably will not enjoy any future B&B stay anywhere else.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2009

The Honor Mansion Review

The room was very clean. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic as well as the staff. We were asked at least 3 times during breakfast if we needed anything and felt like the only people staying there. We were treated like royalty. It was luxurious and the grounds are beautifully kept. It is not a traditional bed and breakfast, so much more is offered here. I would stay here a million times again.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2009

4 Diamonds 4 SURE!

I took my new wife to the Honor Mansion (www.honormansion.com) for my honeymoon and loved it. The cottages are very private, spacious and comfortable yet elegant. The food was gourmet and served with beautiful presentation. The grounds are breathtaking at every turn. Though there are plenty of amenities, activites and spa services, the property was quiet and exclusive. We loved the staff. They were prompt and professional. They stayed out of the way

but were always there when we needed them. I would get married again and again and again if it meant going back to the Honor Mansion for a few nights. 4 Diamonds 4 SURE!

Read More

By Wm2222

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2008

No Honor at the Honor Mansion

Beware the onerous pay-in-advance, 90 day no refunds cancellation policy. Forced to cancel on 2 weeks notice due to my sudden job elimination, owner Steve Fowler refused to cancel the booking with even a partial refund, also refusing to permit me to sell the fully paid $2k reservation on Ebay. He had vacancies, so had not turned away business due to my booking. Even so, I offered to pay a substantial penalty. His response- try to “make the best

of a difficult situation. It’s our policy. I’ve recorded all our conversations.” What a prince!!

Read More

By jknauff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 6, 2007

Always my favorite and I tell everyone.

Honor Mansion is far and away the best place to stay when visiting wine country. Owners, Steve and Cathi Fowler, are not only exceptional hoteliers, but, the best people on earth. Do not miss an opportunity to enjoy this special resort/ inn/B&B. You will be blessed.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2007

Superb again, and again...and again

Living an hour and a half from wine country, we love getaways to Napa and Sonoma counties. We have been enjoying this part of the world together for over 10 years. We are blessed to have stayed at just about every one of the better-known B&Bs in both Napa and Sonoma counties. And here we have completed our 11th stay at this outstanding bed & breakfast inn and felt it was time to let the rest of world in on our secret. Some of you already know

about the Honor Mansion (lucky you!). We have stayed there for wedding anniversaries, birthday celebrations, nearby winery events and my wife stayed at the Honor Mansion on the evening prior to our wedding and we stayed there on our wedding night. We have stayed in all but one of the suites. We don’t do mediocre, nor even “very good” when it comes to our precious time away from home. We seek out and appreciate the best accommodations. We don’t look for reasons to be away from our accommodations. We are there to enjoy them and each other. This place has yet to disappoint us and there are very few places where we have stayed and can honestly say this. My wife easily spots the shortcomings of the better-known B&Bs in this area and the 4 & 5 star hotels and just laughs at what people are willing to pay for and put up with at these places. As a customer relationship management consultant for over 15 years, I also keenly observe their shortcomings. Our favorite phrase is…”you don’t see that at the Honor Mansion”. This place has consistently proven itself above the rest: - A keen attention to detail; - Incredible beds; - Consistency in delivery and experience; - Great personal attentive service with restaurant and winery choices; - A very talented staff committed to making our stay a great one; - A wonderful environment, inside and outside that totally takes us away from our world; - Breakfasts that do the term "B&B" great justice; - An atmosphere of continuously working and taking feedback to make each stay better than the last - Great wineries are nearby without the commercial hustle of neighboring Napa County. - Innkeepers who have made us feel welcome from our first visit and treated us like our 11th visit was the first time they laid eyes on us. It would be easy to take those of us who have stayed many times for granted...not so at the Honor Mansion. We have been treated like a new guest to impress every time; I could go on and on. We call it the Bellagio of B&Bs. Need we say more?

Read More

By Jessie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2005

Loved it Loved it Loved it!

We stayed at HM for our 13th anniversary. They don't miss a thing. We felt totally pamperd yet we had penty of pricacy. How do they do that? The grounds are amazing as well as the rooms. We stayed 5 nights in the Garden Suite, very romantic and so comfortable, slept better than I do at home, loved the spa tub and private access to the pool. Our massages were fantastic. The food was awesome, especially the cookies! Loved the cappuccino machine

24/7. We can't wait to return next year for our 14th! HM is the very best of the best!

Read More

By Dana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2005

The psychic B&B

Steve and Cathi and the staff at the Honor Mansion thought of things we didn't even know we wanted or needed. If there was a 6 star rating they would have it. As you can see I can't say enough about the service and the B&B itself. I found this place for our honeymoon and my wife will never leave me. (I made that many points with her by picking this place.) There are a lot of places to go and see in this world but we will be hard pressed not to

go back the Honor Mansion on our next trip because it was just that good

Read More

By Laurie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 5, 2005

Heaven on earth in Sonoma!

Look no further for a place to stay in Sonoma, CA- The Honor Mansion is it! We were planning on staying at the Healdsburg Inn, but it was being renovated and we chose the Honor Mansion instead, how lucky for us! This place is exceptional--the warmth and comfort of an inn with the luxury and amenities of a resort. It so exceeded our expectations from the rooms, the decor, the immaculate grounds, the gourmet breakfasts, afternoon cookies (oh the

cookies) wine and appetizers. They provide you with everything, down to the smallest of details in the rooms and throughout the grounds to ensure an enjoyable stay. The staff is friendly and helpful and make you feel right at home. I truly enjoyed the wineries but couldn't wait to return each afternoon to comfort of the Honor Mansion. Steve and Kathi have a gem of a place here and we are already planning on when we can return. Don't miss out on the Honor Mansion!

Read More

By Karla

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 19, 2005

Unique Stay

We originally found this inn in a book about unique inns and then went on line to read some reviews. We are always cautious if a property gets all "perfect" reviews and the Honor Mansion did. We booked anyway and we were very pleasantly surprised that everything that had been written about this place being incredible is absolutely true. This is truly a "unique" property. It has 13 rooms and suites and you'd never know it. It never seemed crowded

even though we were there on a weekend they were full. We've never seen such a perfect blend of a bed & breakfast and a 5 star resort hotel, they have succeeded. They are even planting vines in the spring of '05 to be able to make their own wine. We can't wait to return.

Read More

By Leann

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 10, 2004

Experience Could Not Have Been Better!

This B&B is so incredible. Kathy and Steve have it down to the very last detail - nothing has been forgotten. Their hospitality is above all we've ever experienced and the breakfasts are to die for!! We stayed in the Rose Room that includes its own private porch - this was absolutely romantic! We truly did not want to go home. I would recommend this to anyone - it's a bit expensive, but in the end, well worth it.

By Harry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 15, 2004

Perfection in Wine Country

I took my wife to wine country for a romantic vacation with plans to see as many sites as possible until we checked into Honor Mansion. We took one look around at the grounds, koi pond, pool, and then got to our room. . .we didn't want to go anywhere else. We used everything, she even found a game she could beat me at, bocce ball! We loved every minute of our stay. Food, staff, everything perfection. Can't wait to go back! Oh and Kathy, thanks

for those unbelieveable cookies, they are the best we've ever had!

Read More

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2004

Becoming 50 was Nifty at the Honor Mansion

My wife threw me a surprise 50th birthday party at the Honor Manision during their off-season and WOW, it was something special. The rooms were incredible, some with fabulous outdoor spas and each room was equipped with all the amenities, and more! The breakfasts were scrumptious and we had a different menu each day. We used the parlor for the party and it was perfect, both roomy and elegant. The grounds included a pool, a koi pond just off of

a wonderful deck area, tennis, a putting green and a bocce ball court and more! The owners, Kathy and Steve Fowler, were not only attentive to our every need but the most friendly couple I have met at any B & B. We liked them so much that I asked them to join us at the party. The hospitality that we enjoyed was second to none. Our party guests were blown away. It was definitely a 5 out of 5 in all catagories! Because of our experience, my wife and I have returned several times.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2004

We Did Not Want to Go Home

I have stayed in inns all over the country (many of them highly recommended by Foder's) and the Honor Mansion is by far the best inn/bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in. The rooms are beautiful, the grounds are impecible, the food is outstanding, and the staff is professional, friendly and extremely efficient. It is very rare when all of the elements you are looking for in a small, intimate inn are not only present, but also done to perfection.

Even the weather was well done during our stay, warm during the day and cool in the evening. I highly recommend staying at the Honor Mansion for any special occasion or for no reason at all other than to treat yourself to the quiet luxury the inn has to offer.

Read More

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 20, 2004

I was honored to stay here!

This place is awesome! Most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, and the breakfast is incredible. Typically don't like B&B's, but the staff here isn't clingy and I like that a lot.

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2004

Don't judge a book by it's cover!

We arrived to the front of the Honor Mansion having booked into what we thought was their best room with a price tag of over $500.00 per night. We took one look at the front of the inn and thought "what have we done? We were sure that there was no possible way we were going to get our monies worth. We couldn't have been more wrong! We relunctantly rang the front door bell and were immediatly greeted by Carmen. She was charming and gracious and

completely over looked our obvious disappointment. After getting registered, she offered us a glass of wine and then gave us a beautiful tour of what was so much more that we could have possibly hoped for. There was a complimentary cappuccino machine, free sodas,(all day long) the pool was stunning and then. . . the resort grounds. All we can say is "spectaculor". Then we arrived at our room. We stayed in one of the newly redecorated vineyard suites, oh my gosh, I almost fainted and even my husband was instantly impressed. We thought how could we have been so mistaken by the front of the house? This was an unbelieveable experience. The owners, Steve & Kathy Fowler were gracious and seemed to always be on duty. We were there 8 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. If you go, don't try to stay less than 4 nights, it's hardly possible to enjoy all that they offer. But whatever you do, go and experience this unbelieveable resort inn; (I didn't know anything like this existed) We'll go back soon!

Read More

By Suzie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2004

Good Value with all of the amenities---good value even without the amenities!

Excellent place! Great location. Breakfasts to die for!! It's a great value with lots of extras like a CD player, bathrobes, great nibbles during the day, late afternoon wine and cheese, a use-anytime cappuccino machine, after-dinner sherry, homemade cookies, etc. The pool, putting green, bocce ball, croquet and tennis courts make it a destination in itself. It was hard to pry ourselves away to see the area, but we really appreciated the helpfulness

of the Innkeepers with their great suggestions of what to see and things to do (and there's a lot). Guess we'll just have to go again---and again---and again to see the rest of it! Repeat travelers makes it a popular place, so book early or hope for a cancellation---but DO go!

Read More

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2004

The Honor Mansion Sets the Standard for Customer Service

Cathi and Steve Fowler leave no detail to chance. You will want for nothing and decide to stay an extra day or two.

By Sal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2004

Best we've ever had

We are one of those couples who really have traveled the world. We have stayed in the best of the best when it comes to world class hotels and about 5 years ago we stumbled upon the Honor Mansion and won't stay anywhere else in the wine country. For years we've made our yearly trek to either Napa or Sonoma and stayed in most of the nicer inns, 4 diamond when possible. We've even stayed in the only 5 diamond B&B in California and believe me they

have nothing on Honor Mansion. The rooms are always spotless, the food gets better every year even though we can believe that it can. Last stay we had a new dish called peaches and cream french toast, the best! The staff and owners Kathy & Steve go above and beyond to make your stay the best it can be. This place should be a 6 diamond, what's wrong with AAA? We've stayed 7 times in 5 years and are looking forward to many more! Don't even try anywhere else, go to Honor Mansion, you'll be so happy you did!

Read More

By Robert

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2003

Highly Recommended

This is a very nice B&B/Inn. The grounds and the rooms are beautiful. The owners have thought of everything. I found the breakfasts to be a little heavy for my taste (e.g. carmelized french toast), but overall I would highly recommend the Honor Mansion.

By Byron

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 27, 2002

Wine Country Perfection

You can not stay in a nicer B&B. The setting is friendly, comfortable and cozy. The breakfasts are worth the stay alone. My wife and I have stayed in three other places in Healdsburg and this is the nicest by far.

By JGB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2002

Honeymooners Paradise

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon here and absolutely LOVED this place. The food is incredible. The owners and staff went the distance to make us feel at home and comfortable....despite the fact that we were there Sept. 11th & 12th, 2001. The timing might not have been the best for our visit (we are from NYC), but I would go back to Honor Mansion in a heartbeat.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement