Napa and Sonoma Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

The Honor Mansion

At a Glance

    Pros

  • homemade sweets available at all hours
  • spa pavilions by pool available for massages in fair weather

    Cons

  • almost a mile from Healdsburg's plaza
  • walls can seem thin

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

The Honor Mansion Review

An 1883 Italianate Victorian houses this photogenic hotel; rooms in the main house preserve a sense of the building's heritage, whereas the larger suites are comparatively understated. Such luxurious touches as well-chosen antiques and decanters of sherry are found in every room, and suites have the advantage of a deck; some even have private outdoor hot tubs. There are spacious grounds with boccie and tennis courts, a putting green, and half-court for basketball. Fodors.com readers rave about the attentive staff, who "think of things you don't even know you want."

    Hotel Details

  • 5 rooms, 7 suites, 1 cottage.
  • Rate includes breakfast.
  • Closed 2 wks around Christmas.
Updated: 03-12-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    The Honor Mansion Review

    This was our first time in Healdsburg and our first stay at a B&B! It was a true delight. My husband and I went on a weekend getaway for my 40th birthday, we had no agenda or reservations. We found the Honor online and my husband called, the young lady was so sweet and informed us that they had a drop in rate. She said come take a peek and see if it is something you would like. I will say my husband was a bit weary of the B&B experience, so he was so pleasantly surprised when we walked in. We ended up staying in the Squires Cottage! We loved our entire experience. The staff was wonderful, the breakfast was wonderful, the delivery of the coffee basket was wonderful, they took care of all our needs. I cannot say enough about it! I cannot wait to go back. If you are looking for a great B&B, or our a first timer, try the Honor...they will not disappoint! You'll be begging for more!
    Thanks to all the staff for our weekend!

    by Denise_Larson, 2/28/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    The Honor Mansion Review

    Whenever I travel I usually can critique many things about my stay or at least come up with suggestions to make the stay even better. Honor Mansion went beyond what I could even think of. The grounds were beautiful and the room although small had everything we needed and was decorated beautifully. Besides the complimentary bottle of wine and cake to celebrate our anniversary on arrival, everything else was provided and done to the nines. Extremely white towels, a scissor,lip balm in addition to the regular bathroom amenities were provided. Additionally, there was 24 hour hour access to sherry, home made cookies, coffee and tea and of course internet and a computer to use if you needed. The wine and cheese every afternoon and the delicious full breakfasts (not continental) were out of this world. We felt badly that we did not have enough time to play tennis, croquet and bocce which are on the grounds. They even have Japanese pet fish that you can feed. All of the people that worked there were extremely conscientious and made whatever reservations we needed and responded to any question we had. It was a great environment to meet people from all over and we did. This would be the only place I would go in the Wine Country. I would make sure I plan early enough to stay at the Honor Mansion. Unfortunately, I have now been spoiled and probably will not enjoy any future B&B stay anywhere else.

    by bikecopper, 10/11/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    The Honor Mansion Review

    The room was very clean. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic as well as the staff. We were asked at least 3 times during breakfast if we needed anything and felt like the only people staying there. We were treated like royalty. It was luxurious and the grounds are beautifully kept. It is not a traditional bed and breakfast, so much more is offered here. I would stay here a million times again.

    by randallphotography, 10/13/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    4 Diamonds 4 SURE!

    I took my new wife to the Honor Mansion (www.honormansion.com) for my honeymoon and loved it. The cottages are very private, spacious and comfortable yet elegant. The food was gourmet and served with beautiful presentation. The grounds are breathtaking at every turn. Though there are plenty of amenities, activites and spa services, the property was quiet and exclusive. We loved the staff. They were prompt and professional. They stayed out of the way but were always there when we needed them. I would get married again and again and again if it meant going back to the Honor Mansion for a few nights. 4 Diamonds 4 SURE!

    by RKelly219, 2/27/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    No Honor at the Honor Mansion

    Beware the onerous pay-in-advance, 90 day no refunds cancellation policy. Forced to cancel on 2 weeks notice due to my sudden job elimination, owner Steve Fowler refused to cancel the booking with even a partial refund, also refusing to permit me to sell the fully paid $2k reservation on Ebay. He had vacancies, so had not turned away business due to my booking. Even so, I offered to pay a substantial penalty. His response- try to “make the best of a difficult situation. It’s our policy. I’ve recorded all our conversations.” What a prince!!

    by Wm2222, 10/4/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Always my favorite and I tell everyone.

    Honor Mansion is far and away the best place to stay when visiting wine country. Owners, Steve and Cathi Fowler, are not only exceptional hoteliers, but, the best people on earth. Do not miss an opportunity to enjoy this special resort/ inn/B&B. You will be blessed.

    by jknauff, 12/6/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Superb again, and again...and again

    Living an hour and a half from wine country, we love getaways to Napa and Sonoma counties. We have been enjoying this part of the world together for over 10 years. We are blessed to have stayed at just about every one of the better-known B&Bs in both Napa and Sonoma counties. And here we have completed our 11th stay at this outstanding bed & breakfast inn and felt it was time to let the rest of world in on our secret. Some of you already know about the Honor Mansion (lucky you!). We have stayed there for wedding anniversaries, birthday celebrations, nearby winery events and my wife stayed at the Honor Mansion on the evening prior to our wedding and we stayed there on our wedding night. We have stayed in all but one of the suites.

    We don’t do mediocre, nor even “very good” when it comes to our precious time away from home. We seek out and appreciate the best accommodations. We don’t look for reasons to be away from our accommodations. We are there to enjoy them and each other. This place has yet to disappoint us and there are very few places where we have stayed and can honestly say this. My wife easily spots the shortcomings of the better-known B&Bs in this area and the 4 & 5 star hotels and just laughs at what people are willing to pay for and put up with at these places. As a customer relationship management consultant for over 15 years, I also keenly observe their shortcomings. Our favorite phrase is…”you don’t see that at the Honor Mansion”.

    This place has consistently proven itself above the rest:
    - A keen attention to detail;
    - Incredible beds;
    - Consistency in delivery and experience;
    - Great personal attentive service with restaurant and winery choices;
    - A very talented staff committed to making our stay a great one;
    - A wonderful environment, inside and outside that totally takes us away from our world;
    - Breakfasts that do the term "B&B" great justice;
    - An atmosphere of continuously working and taking feedback to make each stay better than the last
    - Great wineries are nearby without the commercial hustle of neighboring Napa County.
    - Innkeepers who have made us feel welcome from our first visit and treated us like our 11th visit was the first time they laid eyes on us. It would be easy to take those of us who have stayed many times for granted...not so at the Honor Mansion. We have been treated like a new guest to impress every time;

    I could go on and on. We call it the Bellagio of B&Bs. Need we say more?

    by michaeltlynch, 11/12/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories