Napa and Sonoma Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Meadowlark Country House

At a Glance

    Pros

  • charming innkeepers
  • tasty sit-down breakfasts
  • welcoming vibe that attracts diverse guests

    Cons

  • clothing-optional pool policy isn't for everyone

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Meadowlark Country House Review

Two charming European gents run this laid-back but sophisticated inn on 20 wooded acres just north of downtown. The accommodations consist of a guesthouse and a cottage, five rooms, and three suites, some with fireplaces and all with outdoor decks or patios where you can enjoy the breezes. All have whirlpool tubs large enough for two. The outdoor pool, hot tub, and sauna, open to all guests, are clothing optional. In keeping with the owners' cosmopolitan worldview, the inn is, in their words, "hetero, bi, gay, and naturist friendly"—and it welcomes pets, too.

    Hotel Details

  • 5 rooms, 3 suites, 1 cottage, 1 guesthouse.
  • Rate includes breakfast.
Updated: 03-06-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Meadowlark Country House Review

    Meadowlark Country House is unquestionably superb. Our most recent visit, this past week, helped to reaffirm what we have known about the place for years: the proprietors, and the setting are lovely, attuned, and the perfect combination of comfort and attention to detail.

    We are lucky to live close enough that we can get to this exquisite part of the world without a lot of effort. The wine country region of California is unlike any other. Meadowlark is a perfect complement to this lush territory, since it is easily one of the most comfortable places I've ever stayed.

    The grounds are relaxed, clean, and beautiful, with rolling hills, horses, and lovely buildings on the property. The pool area is large, with comfortable furniture and nicely appointed features such as hot tub, sauna, massage room, and these are all surrounded by tasteful and fragrant flora, which attracts hummingbirds and butterflies galore.

    Guests are not made to feel over-fussed about while at the same time it is clear our comfort was part of Kurt's and Richard's passion; they are gracious hosts indeed. We have enjoyed their lovely and delicious breakfasts with them and we're charmed by their cordial, casual entertaining style.

    Since any excuse is a good one for getting back to this place for a visit, we have already made our reservations for the next trip in September. If I could go sooner, I definitely would.

    by Tim_in_SF, 7/30/12
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Meadowlark Country House Review

    My husband and I spent a week at this glorious B&B. It far exceeded our expectations!

    The grounds are beautifully maintained in a soft, natural, elegant way -- rich with foliage and flowers. The large ceramic blue & white flower pots filled with white roses (reminiscent of Portugal) that surround the pool are gorgeous.

    We had a two room suite in the main house with 3 sets of glass doors that all opened out onto a deck with views. The furniture is eclectic and charming, reflecting the personalities of the owners who were extremely gracious. And, the bed was very comfortable.

    Every morning a lovely breakfast was served on the main house terrace where the owners were available to give us helpful suggestions about which wineries to frequent, where to find the best restaurants - and the locations of hiking and biking trails.

    In addition to everything above, Meadowlark Inn is pet friendly -- so, we took our pooch and he was able to be off leash the entire time -- what a treat! We are planning to return to Meadowlark and would highly recommend this wonderful B&B to everyone :-)

    by graciela082, 7/16/11
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Meadowlark Country House Review

    We just returned from our first visit to Meadowlark Country House, and it will definitely not be our last! From the super service, the great breakfasts, and the relaxed atmosphere, everything was perfect. Gorgeous grounds, friendly guests, horses and chickens, lovely woods - it was a perfect getaway. Kurt and Richard are superb hosts, and welcomed my husband and I and our dog like we were long lost friends. A great place!

    by cellogal, 5/24/11
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Meadowlark Country House Review

    Meadowlark is an amazing retreat from the city. My partner and I have stayed there a few times now and it is soon becoming our "go-to" spot in wine country. The quiet, wooded grounds are a treat with a fantastic pool and hot tub too. The other guests have always been an eclectic, social, and friendly mix. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and cozy. The service is fantastic! Kurt and Richard are perfect hosts (breakfast is delicious) inspiring guests "to do nothing" as it seems is the Meadowlark mantra.

    by boconnor, 8/9/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Meadowlark Country House Review

    We visited in early June and had a wonderful stay. Richard and Kurt are gracious hosts. We spent most of the time by the pool and the surrounds are beautiful. Pancakes Saturday morning and eggs benedict on Sunday morning. Excellent! Looking forward to going again and we will recommend the Meadowlark to all of our friends.

    by mrkalisch, 6/18/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Meadowlark Inn and Meadow Guest House Review

    Where to begin.... from the moment we drove up the drive we knew we had picked the perfect bed & breakfast. Richard and Kurt greeted us warmly and efficiently. To our surprise we were upgraded to a large cozy room with a gorgeous view of the hillside and the property, wow! The room was simply wonderful…. we loved the layout, it started off with a nice size living/sitting room, then down a short hall to the bathroom that had a whirlpool and shower all in one with plenty of room for two. The bedroom was so cozy, with its poster bed, remote fireplace and its own small sitting area. The room was nicely decorated with warm and comfy furniture. From the first morning, we fell in love with both Kurt and Richard. They graciously waited for us to come down for breakfast and had hot coffee and juice ready to serve. Richard cooked us a delicious ham and mushroom omelet with fresh fruit on the side. Once we started talking with them it was as if we had known them for years! By the next morning, we looked forward to breakfast and visiting with them again. Afterwards, we walked the grounds and enjoyed the gardens and the farm and meeting other guest.

    Our stay was only two days and a wonderful two days it was…. we ventured out to tour several vineyards and enjoyed some very nice restaurants. Of course, we did not get to see and do all that we had wanted to and so we will just have to plan another stay at Meadowlark Inn, but this time we will be staying a little longer.

    Final thoughts…..you will not be disappointed with your stay at Meadowlark Inn, with its beautiful grounds and rooms and laid back atmosphere. You will feel as if you made friends for life with both Kurt and Richard. Simply the best stay I have ever had on vacation!!

    by Tpauley, 4/19/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Meadowlark Inn and Meadow Guest House Review

    I'm so glad to see from the reviews on this web site that Richard and Kurt treat ALL of their visitors with the same level of care that they just gave to me and my partner.

    Last weekend was our second visit to Meadowlark Inn, and it definitely will not be our last. Even though the weather was dismal, our room was cozy and the fireplace was wonderful. While the breakfast each morning was great (how DOES Richard get those thick pancakes to be so light and fluffy?!?!) the conversation was even better.

    One thing we learned from this trip -- next time we go to Calistoga we are just going to ask Richard and Kurt to recommend restaurants and wineries for us rather than trying to plan it ourselves. We did our own thing on Saturday and had a good time, but on Sunday we followed their advice and got to experience a small winery that we would have never even found (much less visited) and we were given the royal treatment at Solbar Restaurant that evening just by dropping Richard and Kurt's name!

    These guys run a classy operation -- clean and friendly, but never stuffy or pretentious. I HIGHLY recommend the Meadowlark Inn to anyone who is looking for a unique and romantic wine country experience.

    by sloden, 4/12/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Meadowlark Inn and Meadow Guest House Review

    Perfect. Could NOT have been more satisfied with our stay as owners Kurt and Richard's guests at Meadowlark. They went out of their way to ensure that our first time in Calistoga (my wife's birthday) would be one to remember.

    I brought my wife for a weekend getaway to tour Calistoga and the surrounding wine country last week. She's always been a bit skiddish about B&B's, fearing dated furniture and dusty decor. It feels remote and rustic, but is just a 5-minute drive to the downtown strip. We were immediately impressed with the scenery of the Meadowlark grounds -- horses, a covered bridge, charming "cottages", beautiful gardens, and a quaint country road that tied it all together. Kurt was so generous to upgrade us to the largest available room, the pool house! Once we stepped into our room, she thought we had made a mistake. HUGE room with four-post bed, remote-controlled fireplace, wrap-around porch deck, jacuzzi tub, full kitchen...and that's just the downstairs. Upstairs was the master bedroom with retractable skylight, its own cute halfbath, and the most amazingly comfortable bed...Excellent interior design with modern furnishings that seem nearly new. The Mrs. even suggested we return each year. Now THAT says something.

    On par with our room accommodations was the next morning's breakfast -- Richard's got skills! Eggs benedict from the organic free-range hens in the backyard, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, oj... heaven. My wife and I are the private type and I had heard you could have breakfast served in your room. What a mistake that would have been!...we had the most engaging and lively conversation. Perfect ending to our stay at Meadowlark. We'll definitely be coming back!

    by bokchoy422, 12/8/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Meadowlark Inn and Meadow Guest House Review

    This is a lovely location with wonderfully welcoming hosts. The breakfast was terrific -- served outside on the deck. Unfortunately, we visited on a very warm day and our room was not well airconditioned. However, the outdoor pool was a welcome treat. Clothing is optional (though my impression is that most guests do NOT wear clothing...so know what you're getting into).

    by janschwartz, 11/5/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Meadowlark Inn and Meadow Guest House Review

    Our first experience at Meadowlark Inn this past weekend was a memorable one. Our cottage was cozy and beautiful, Kurt and Richard were very welcoming hosts.
    We loved the farm setting, complete with chickens, birds, and the absolute friendliest horses you will ever meet! Meadowlark is also pet friendly, so being able to bring our puppy with us was an added plus. We were pleasantly surprised by the delightful experience here. This private country garden paradise is a place we can't wait to come back to.
    Jim and Karen

    by JimandKaren1, 9/24/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

    My husband and I spent a weekend at the Meadowlark and can't say enough good things about our stay.

    We arrived Friday afternoon and there was a note waiting for us on the door. It explained where our room was located (we even received an upgrade to a suite!) as well as information about breakfast, the pool, and cell phone numbers in case we had further questions. We loved the feeling of having the Inn all to ourselves.

    Our suite was roomy and beautifully decorated. The jacuzzi tub was a nice treat! We loved the views of the flowers and the trees from our private deck.

    Richard and Kurt are gracious and friendly, and the breakfast conversation was lively and interesting. The food was delicious! We never felt rushed to come downstairs to eat, or to finish our meal.

    Every winery and restaurant that Richard and Kurt recommended to us was fantastic. We really couldn't be more pleased with the entire experience and would absolutely stay there again.

    by Scarlet000, 4/6/09
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    This is where you want to be!!!

    We have had another wonderful and international experience at Meadowlark Inn. We have meet many interesting and charming, well traveled people during our stay. But none of them compare to the down to earth and hospitable hosts, Kurt and Richard. They always make our stay memorable and special.The estate is breath taking and the setting is a real oasis. The breakfast is gourmet,cozy,and like being with family on a holiday. Before leaving,we booked ahead for our next stay with them.

    by germany, 9/18/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    What can we say ....

    There is not much we can say than the others have already said.

    Well, maybe it would help to know that we are local ... we live a mere 60 minutes from the Meadowlark Inn. We travel to Napa and Sonoma frequently for some quiet time, relaxation coupled with some fun. And there is no other place we would stay.

    It is tops in all categories, no matter what your are in town for. A quiet getaway, mingling with friends, a wine country tour ... the Meadowlark is perfectly located, perfectly laid back but certainly not boring.

    And no review is complete without a brief few words about the owners. If you come to the Inn and you get to meet Kurt and Richard, you will have never met two nicer people. Nothing can compare to a lazy Sunday afternoon, sitting on the porch of the Meadowlark with Kurt and Richard, swapping stories and just passing the time. Everything from life lessons to family to what's new in everyones life.

    You will leave and feel as if you made two new, lifelong friends as we have.

    We have traveled all over the world and stayed at many, many places. We have numerous choices in the Napa valley but we would never think about staying anywhere else.

    Peggy and Kevin

    by kbrown99, 4/29/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Perfect in every way

    My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Meadowlark (4/8/08 - 4/14/08), and it couldn't have been better. I made the reservation after reading the glowing reviews on Fodor's, and we were not disappointed. We had never been to wine country - and are generally ignorant about wine - but Richard and Kurt made us feel so welcome and advised us our daily tours. I won't reiterate the other comments about the comfortable rooms, the charming setting (they have turkeys!), Richard's gourmet breakfasts, or the charming company of Richard and Kurt because they are all accurate. We can't wait until our next visit!

    by wclementson, 4/20/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    always a joy

    My wife and I just returned from an extended stay at the Meadowlark Inn. The room we stayed in the “Mountain View” was very nicely appointed and had excellent views from numerous windows. It’s refreshing to sit in the jacuzzi bath and look out into the woods that run behind the B&B. It’s centrally located so the wineries and restaurants of Napa or Sonoma are just minutes away. If you’re not familiar with the Valley, Kurt and Richard are very knowledgeable on places to eat, wineries, riding and walking paths and other points of interest. A different breakfast was served everyday, and they where all delicious. The Meadowlark offers a clothing optional pool with hot tub and sauna that is very respectful for your privacy. We will be back for sure.

    by happycamper2, 3/5/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Fantastic retreat, Superb location. Fabulous hosts

    My girlfriend and I travelled to California from Ireland on a three week tour of San Francisco, Lake Tahoe, Napa Valley and Las Vegas. We hired the compulsory Mustang Convertible and headed up to Calistoga which is renowned for its hot springs. The original plan was just one night in Calistoga en route to Lake Tahoe. Meadowlark Inn is set just off a small road less than one mile from Calistoga (Max 3-4 minute drive) and in a most picturesque setting on Petrified Forest Road. When we arrived, Richard showed our Forest View room which was superbly appointed with a beautiful view of the countryside and surrounding forest (and of course their horses!). Richard has encyclopaedic knowledge of the wineries and made some excellent suggestions including some small local producers and restaurants (Cindys, Richards favourite in St Helena is fantastic!). The following morning we joined Kurt and the other guests for an amazing breakfast of freshly squeezed juices and the best Eggs Benedict I have ever had! This washed down with some fresh coffee set us up for our day of travels around the region. This set the tone for our Calistoga trip and realising the gem of a find that is the Meadowlark, we asked Kurt if they could extend our stay by a further day. Thankfully he obliged and another morning in the wineries was followed by an afternoon spent lounging in the sun at their pool and Jacuzzi. All in all, our one night visit turned into four and we could have stayed a whole week only for bookings we had in Lake Tahoe. As regular travellers but our first time to the West Coast, this was the highlight for us. Meadowlark is not the place to go if you want a rushed setting with subservient hotel type service. You will be hard pressed to find as good elsewhere with such friendly hosts who are genuinely interested in their guests. We will be back as soon as we can travel over the pond again now that we have found the most idyllic hideaway in the US!!

    by AlanCJ, 6/26/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Exceeded Every Expectation

    My wife and I just returned from a three-day weekend at the Meadowlark, and we couldn't have been more pleased. The proprietors, Kurt and Richard, were delightful, helpful hosts whose recommendations of nearby restaurants and wineries were superb. The lovely B&B is everything we hoped for...and more. The grounds are beautiful, with horses grazing and wild turkeys making daily appearances. The pool and jacuzzi are quite nice, and very private. Breakfast was delicious, and a fun opportunity to meet the other guests. The room was spacious, with a fireplace, a jacuzzi tub and a large private patio. We can't imagine how a trip to the wine country could have been better. We will certainly return to the Meadowlark.

    by Lynn_and_Jack, 4/16/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    ah the beds

    It was our 30th anniversary and first time to Napa so we were looking for something special and a little different. We have stayed at a number of B&Bs coast to coast but never have we felt like it was home. Meadowlark did. The bed was luscious. Slept like a baby and woke every morning to the sounds of wild turkeys in the woods. The breakfasts were delicious and freshly prepared, not yesterdays croissant. After 3 days our hosts felt like old friends and truly made the trip memorable. If we had not already made plans in SF we would have stayed there for the next two nights. We will return.

    by mmdsign, 4/6/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wonderful

    We spent 3 weeks here this November and loved it.NOWHERE else even begins to compare.

    by Happy2, 1/3/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories