Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Napa and Sonoma Hotels

El Bonita Motel

Pros

  • Cheerful rooms
  • Hot tub
  • Microwaves and mini-refrigerators

Cons

  • Road noise is a problem in some rooms

Updated 05/01/2014

Fodor's Review

For budget-minded travelers the tidy rooms at this roadside motel are pleasant enough, and the landscaped grounds and picnic tables elevate this property over similar places. There's even a small sauna next to the hot tub and swimming pool, which is heated year-round. Family-friendly pluses include roll-away beds and cribs for a modest charge. To avoid highway noise, ask for rooms farthest from the road.

Hotel Information

Address:

195 Main St./Hwy. 29, St. Helena, California, 94574, USA

Map It

Phone:

707-963–3216; 800-541–3284

Website: www.elbonita.com

Hotel Details:

  • 38 rooms, 4 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 05/01/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Napa and Sonoma

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2012

Don't judge this book by its "cover"

El B is centrally located just south of St. Helena. The front rooms are just "OK" but less expensive; the newer back rooms cost more but are worth the extra $'s. There's a decent pool, jacuzzi & sauna, plus good coffee & a continental "breakfast". El B's staff is quite helpful & friendly. Even during "high season", the price seems fair; to wot, almost all the other lodging prices go soaring as the laws of supply & demand kick in. This is my place

of choice in Napa; I'd rather spend my $'s on wine & food, especially given how little time I'm in the room. wbs

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2007

This is great value!!

Good and clean room,excellent location and the right price make this place an excellent option in the valley.

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 29, 2004

Like driving into motel in the "50s"

Loved the ambiance-like the "auto-court" motels of the 50s. Very clean, rooms small but very nice.Little extras: fresh flowers in room everyday, lawn out front with 50s metal chairs. Location convenient and staff very helpful.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2003

Who'd a thunk?

I read rave reviews and it was the only reason my wife and I stayed for two nights. What an amazing deal! Make sure you get a room in the back of the property that faces the hills. We were surprised at the great furniture, cleanliness, veiw and charm. Very peaceful and right down the street from the center of St Helena. Don't forget to book dinner at Martini House before you arrive. It's an experience you won't want to miss. We found El Bonita a perfect

central point for our winery tours up and down Napa Valley!

Read More

By Russ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2003

Better than the Best

We stayed here last October '02 with our 12 year old son and dog in one of the suites. No reservation, but just a drop in. After spending the day drinking wine, eating expensive food--lunch at Domaine Chandon--we appreciated the convenience of our ground floor room with the car at the door, a quick walk to the whirlpool and the nice, simple continental breakfast in the morning. The room was just over $100 and kid and dog friendly. Quite unlike our

dinner experience at Auberge du Soleil, where the food was cold, items sold out on the menu only to learn 30 minutes after ordering, and indifferent service. So we left the table and ate the drive-in down the street from the motel. As the man said: "Keep it simple, stupid."

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2001

A gem and a bargain

We stayed in the King Georges suite here. Two bedrooms, one bath, and a very large living/dining room with enough floor space to hold a dance. We paid $222 per night for four adults, including taxes and a continental breakfast. You can't get a better deal. It's also cute and friendly and has a nice pool besides. This is a real bargain.

By Jeannie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 16, 2001

Great Location and a Bargain!

We found a haven here as we fell exhaustedly in our bed at night. A short walk from the best mud bath I've ever had! Clean, comfortable, charming. The best bed for the money... spend your money on dining instead.

By Lindsay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2001

Bubble Baths!!!!!!

Last minute stay because everything else was more expensive-- didn't expect much but found a real jewel!! Will stay again-- convenient location- lovely room

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement